We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated hotel, not so good customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated hotel, not so good customer service”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

With the exception of the shuttle drivers the customer service wasnt that great or helpful at all. The rooms were nice but the beds weren't as comfortable as other doubletree's Ive stayed in. Very pricey, I had an Executive room that came with a free breakfast which was ok but I would have thought for a room over $300 a night there would be meat alternatives for those that dont eat pork. The free shuttle service within 5 miles was great, rooms were very clean and usually thats enough for me but not here they had a way of making me not feel so welcome... if Im ever in the area again I may look for another option because of the poor customer service

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freetoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am truly sorry that you did not have a good experience at my hotel. I take your comments very seriously and will strive to improve in the areas that you mentioned. As you will see by our many positive TripAdvisor comments, your experience was more the exception and not the rule. Please give us another try!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    354
    107
    40
    20
See reviews for
231
231
61
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The room, restaurant, pool, tennis courts, volleyball court were all amazing for an entire boys soccer team from Maine! Many things to do without having to leave the property. And, although, we received a discounted price due to the large number of people in our party, we were given the royal treatment for 3 days!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAB58ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for giving us a great review. We love families as well as business travelers and are so pleased that you selected us. Hope to see you again!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I attended my niece's wedding there which was held out on the lower terrace, followed by a reception inside in the Concord room...it was very lovely. The food was great!
We stayed overnight. The room was very clean, comfortable and the decor was very nice. All of the staff was very friendly and extremely polite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello! Thank you for the great comments. I am glad to see that we exceeded your expectations! Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I spent several enjoyable days in Boston as part of our 19th anniversary. The Hotel was located in the perfect area to explore both Boston and the "North of Boston" area (we drove up to Rockport and Gloucester.

Room was great and staff was extremely friendly. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Glad that we could add some more sunshine to your anniversary weekend! Hope to see you at least quarterly!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Boston center city hotels were really high, we decided to stay at a hotel just outside the city center. Found this on the internet and was very happy with our stay. Checkin and checkout went smooth, and the cookies are delicious, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for just one night and had a fantastic room, a one bedroom suite really. For the business traveler, I have never seen a room with so many drawers and cubbies to put things. The room was very large and everything was clean. You can tell this is an older hotel, the tub is rather small. It is also a long walk to many of the rooms - they went for length instead of height when they built this hotel. The staff was wonderful. Every one of them was very friendly. The food in the restaurant is superb. The restaurant itself is ok -- not real fancy, just about what you would expect in a hotel. But the quality of the food was excellent. If you are looking to be in Boston, this is a bit far out of the city if you will be facing commuter traffic. This is an excellent location for business travel in the Burlington/Bedford/Billerica area or for the tourist who wants to see the Revolutionary War/Walden Pond attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks particularly for trying our restaurant, Bistro 44. Our chef prides himself on not creating a typical hotel food offering and he will be pleased that you wrote about our menu. Hope to see you back at Bedford Glen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

As hotel prices in city center Boston were really high, we opted for a hotel just outside the city center. Found this on priceline and were very happy with our stay.

Checkin went smooth, although there were no rooms with king beds available, but we could change the day after (for another 3 nights), which we did without any problems. Asked for breakfast vouchers as Hilton Gold, but did not get those as we booked through priceline (which is formally correct, but is never really followed in my experience). Next morning tried with another receptionist and received the vouchers without any problem.

Rooms are very nice, looking new, and beds were great ! Did not check out the swmming pool, but looked nice as well. The hotel is widespread, so was a long walk to our room (looked like Vegas). Breakfast in the morning was perfect, good service and good selection of fresh food. Really enjoyed every morning breakfast here.

Location was great for us, as we did bring our car with us. Free parking, free internet and an easy 20 - 25min drive to Alewife T station where we could park for $ 7 the whole day and take the subway to Harvard, MIT and Boston city center. Also closey is the large Burlington shopping Mall, with different food options and great shopping opportunities. Also a 30min drive to Pheasant Lane Mall just on the border with (taxfree) New Hampshire to buy the iPad ;-) !

Room Tip: I would ask for a room close to the reception, as the hotel is widespread.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattRobNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks for the review, and yes, we are much cheaper than down down and relatively easy to get to. We also have a satellite entrance that will offer many close rooms to the parking lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Bedford Burlington
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston - Billerica
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
2.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
2.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Burlington
Boston Marriott Burlington
#4 of 6 in Burlington
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen

Property: DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
Address: 44 Middlesex Tpke, Bedford, MA 01730-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half-hour outside Boston, the hotel's rates and amenities make it a great family choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Bedford
Bedford Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing