We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time and won't be my last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacob's Pillow

Jacob's Pillow
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Becket
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time and won't be my last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We saw Abraham.in.Motion and it was excellent. Loved the atmosphere, stage was great as was the seating. Will go back next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonitony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    12
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never stand still!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

At long last, we visited Jacob's Pillow for the first time, and it won't be the last! Took the grounds tour with a finance intern who took us to Jacob's Pillow (a rock) where Ted Shawn's ashes are stored, as well as to all the different venues. Stayed for the free performance by the musical theatre students that took place on the Inside/Out stage overlooking a wonderful view of the area. Yes, it's a bit of a trek for folks who are spending time in Lenox (Tanglewood), but well worth it. We'll be back!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ccsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“if it is DANCE, look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

we attend jacob's pillow annually and this year we saw a canadian show called LA OTRA ORILLA and it was the most creative and lively combination of singing, dancing, choreography and music you can hope to see, hear and feel!!!!
It is sort of a revolutionary form of flamenco dancing done quebecois style, if you know what I mean.......WOW

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank arnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous beyond belief!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you enjoy watching dance, and can get yourself to Jacob's Pillow, it is a must see. A friend of my daughter is a member of Mystic Ballet (mysticballet.org) and they performed on the Inside/Out Stage at Jacob's Pillow on Wednesday night. I often vacation in the Berkshires, so it was easy to say, "Let's go!" We went back on Thursday night and saw a contemporary dance, which was also wonderful. On past Berkshires trips, we've missed getting there for one reason or another. Well, it was awe inspiring and I plan to go back whenever I can. The Inside/Out Stage is outdoors, with the mountains as backdrop. Unbelievable views. People of all ages were there, some with a picnic dinner. The grounds are beautiful and you can walk around to see the different things they have: photography exhibit, dance classes, museum, gift shop, cafe and more. There are indoor stages where you have to pay for a ticket, but the Inside/Out Stage is always free. There are performances there Wed-Sat evenings. Be sure to check their website at http://www.jacobspillow.org/ for dates. They have a limited season during the summer. There are hotels in the area that have reasonable rates for mid-week, so you can spend a night or two and see a few performances. I highly recommend it!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShaMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“"A delightful interlude"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location is beautiful and the dance sublime. The facilities are more than adequate. Even the sandwiches at the snack bar exceeded expectations. As a bonus, the summer dance school was rehearsing their performance with young dancers from all over the world. An all-around treat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacob's Pillow also viewed

Becket, Berkshires
Becket, Berkshires
 

Been to Jacob's Pillow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing