We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to go with the family to relax.”
Review of Canterbury Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canterbury Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Becket B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2014

A very good small bed and breakfast place. The owners are very friendly, always want to make everything perfect for the guests, making us believe that we are in our home. It is almost in the middle of nowhere, but it is perfect to relax. It is near ski stations and Lee which is a very bucolic city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time in our beautiful "Lilac Room" -- curled up with books to read, looking out at the storm. It was a little hard to get to (they were working on the road nearby), but a great place to stay. And a wonderful breakfast with Linda!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikiMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a winter wonderland!! We had a blast cross-country skiing here (for the first time ever!) and also ice skating on the pond. Until Canterbury, I had no idea how much better ice skating on a pond is compared to on an artificial rink. The snack bar was great too - good chili and hot tea helped us to warm up after we came in from the cold.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sonhomeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a beautiful bed & breakfast in a charming old farmhouse, surrounded by pristine forest. There are extensive cross-country ski trails, and some of the most beautiful snowshoe trails anywhere. I stayed in the cabin, and it was terrific. Not for people who prefer the comforts of electricity and plumbing, but the wood stove keeps it toasty warm, and the peace and silence of the forest can't be beat. You can step right out your door and onto the trails. Dave and Linda are wonderful hosts, and it's lovely to sit in the dining room enjoying hot coffee and soup in the afternoon. You feel like you're miles away from everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splon60946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fantastic! Dave and Linda Bacon have created a winter experience that is magical. Well groomed cross country and snow shoeing trails, good food, wonderful hospitality, back woods wisdom. Do your self a favor: get there... SOON!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griffinsc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you like classic New England cross country skiing, with a low-key atmosphere and beautiful trails that wind up and down through forests, this is the place for you. We skied here in 2010, had a great time, and returned to ski in December 2012. The entire day lived up to our memories: easy and moderate trails with some long but not hair-raising downhill runs, a friendly staff, and great vistas across the Berkshires.

Canterbury Farm also has a pleasant snack bar that serves soup, wraps, cookies and hot beverages.After a morning of skiing, it is a great place for lunch.

We rented gear this time and found it all to be of good quality--mostly touring skis with a few pairs of skating skis available as well.

We have never stayed at the B and B, but if its anything like the skiing operation it will be delightful.

On our most recent visit, we saw both experienced skiers and families introducing the kids to cross-country skiing. All seemed to be having a good time.

I started out cross country skiing in the days of wooden skis and woolen knickers. Canterbury Farms preserves the best of the old-time skiing spirit without in any way being behind the times. If you love cross-country skiing because you like being out in the winter forests with friendly people, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robertwsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Canterbury Farm is delightful B&B in the Berkshire Mountains of Massachusetts. The B&B consists of a house built in 1780, and a large property consisting of ponds, woods, and ski trails in the winter. I stayed in the Lilac Room for two nights, and I was very satisfied. The room was clean, and had very confortable beds, a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, and plenty of hot water.

The rooms do not have televisions, but there are TVs in two lounges, as well as a a public computer with internet, and bookshelves filled with lots of books. Outside the house, there is a gazebo and a large deck with chairs and tables. The B&B serves a full breakfast every morning, and coffee and tea are available 24-hours per day. During my time at Canterbury Farms, I ate cereal, bagels, bacon, french toast, and pancakes for breakfast. All the food was good.

The owners, Dave and Linda, are very friendly, and more than willing to answer questions about local attractions and businesses. Dave is a musician, and is quite willing to let you listen to one his CDs. The B&B is located on unpaved road at 1600 feet above sea level, so it is very quiet there, and gets cool at night even in the summer. If you seek a serene location to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life, come here.

My only complaint about the B&B was the rooms do not have adequate storage and drawer space. In my room, there was no closet and a single dresser. The dresser had four tiny drawers, and a large drawer that was filled with blankets. I'm not a fan of living out of my suitcase. That being said, if you are visiting the Berkshires, I strongly recommend staying at Canterbury Farm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Canterbury Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We have taken your suggestions seriously and increased the storage capacity for guests' clothes in the Lilac Room by adding another dresser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canterbury Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Farm

Address: 1986 Fred Snow Rd, Becket, MA 01223-9776
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Becket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Becket
Price Range: $210 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic B and B ski lodge with modern amenities provides lodgers with a full breakfast and free use of ski trails. The winter sports activities with rentals and lessons of skis, ice skates, and snow shoes with 160 acres of pristine land to explore. The lodge is located in the beautiful Berkshire Hills surrounded by professionally landscaped perennial gardens, ponds, and old growth trees making for a beautiful site for your wedding or group gathering. We are close to all the summer activities like Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow, theaters, museums,the Appalachian Trail, and numerous lakes. In the Winter it's an easy drive to many downhill ski areas and tubing parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Canterbury Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing