We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HIDDEN GEM IN CENTRAL MA”

Hartman's Herb Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartman's Herb Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Palos Verdes,California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM IN CENTRAL MA”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

If you want a basic,comfortable,clean,quiet room with a solid breakfast and opportunity for a home-cooked dinner, you should definitely stay here. Note that this is a WORKING farm, but Lynn or Carissa are usually readily available to assist. Close to Worcester for sightseeing and The Midstate Trail for hiking.

Room Tip: Best not to book on weekends, as there is often a wedding reception or other function booked.Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We found this B&B on Tripadvisor.com and selected it based on the recommendations on the website and the reasonable price. We were very happy with our choice!
The herb farm and B&B grounds are very pretty. Our room was comfortable and country-like. It was an extra treat to have air conditioning and cable tv, which many "quaint" places don't offer. The owners are very nice people!
It's a little off the beaten path (meaning that I wouldn't want to try to find it for the first time in the dark), but that's nice for a relaxing vacation. The town of Barre is only a 5-10 minute drive away, with 3 or 4 restaurants/diners, an ice cream store and a gas station. We ate at Picasso's, which is probably the nicest restaurant in town -- the food was fantastic and reasonably priced.
The main reason for our trip was to hike at the Quabbin Reservoir. Hartman's Herb Farm and B&B is very close to Gate 40 -- about a 10 minute drive. Gate 40 is one of the best entrances to the Reservoir because it leads to the abandoned town of Dana, with numerous stone walls and some well-preserved and interesting foundations/cellars. The hike to the old Dana Commons (abandoned since 1938) is only about a mile or so from the parking area at Gate 40 (a pretty flat & easy walk). Then the road splits (the path gets significantly hillier, too) and both forks continue down to the water, where they disappear into the Reservoir. The left fork might be a little more scenic than the right one, but they're both nice.
We're planning on returning in October to hike again and enjoy the fall foliage.
We would definitely recommend Hartman's to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BTravelsCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed there this Oct and the entire place is a photographers dream. Every corner, nook and cranny has been looked at with Lynns artistic eye and you just flow from one scene to the next.
The place is well situated in foliage peeping territory and no matter where we went this Columbus Day weekend it was fantastic..
They also have wireless internet so I didn't feel too cut off from the outside world.
Cell service is non-existent there so don't hope for a good cell signal and to me that can be a good thing...

Jeff "Foliage" Folger
Yankee Magazine
www.yankeefoliage.com

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vistaphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, RI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I am a busy school administrator and was looking for a pleasant place just to relax after a busy opening of school - and I found that and more at Hartman's Herb Farm! Lynn and Peter were gracious and accommodating in every possible way. Breakfast was served at my convenience so that I could sleep in. Scrumptious homemade jams and jellies were part of the breakfast. Cake and soda were brought up to my room after a wedding. Lynn took time to talk and offer dinner suggestions in the area. Jams, jellies, sauces, knick-knacks and flowers were on sale in the shop. I brought home my favorite tastes from the inn, and a few other things to sample - mustard, low-fat salad dressing, spaghetti sauce. So much to choose from! The room was clean and cozy. Lots of pillows! Walking the grounds was soothing - all the colors and smells comforting. The thoughtfulness of the hosts, however, was what made the trip. Upon leaving, Lynn would not let me go without a lovely bouquet of zinnias! I just had a wonderful, pleasant, relaxing weekend!

  • Liked — The graciousness of the hosts
  • Disliked — Minor glitches - remote for TV not working, bedside lamp not working
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RITeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We had a fantastic night's stop here en route to Boston airport after a week's holiday in New England. The location was fantastic and the house a delight. The rooms were warm and clean and our hostess was lovely. We'd found it difficult to find places that accept children under 12yrs - our son is nearly 2 and he was warmly welcomed. The setting was typical New England with pumpkins everywhere. We can thoroughly recommend staying here - very good value; lovely breakfast too by a roaring log fire.....wish we could have stayed on.

  • Liked — location and house
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartman's Herb Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartman's Herb Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hartman's Herb Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1026 Old Dana Rd, Barre, MA 01005-9445
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Barre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing