We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent ambience and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Restaurant

Dolphin Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Barnstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent ambience and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We ate at the Dolphin Restaurant as part of a family history trip to visit the Lathrop cemetery. We chose the restaurant based on high ratings on Urbanspoon. The food was fresh and the ambience was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    100
    26
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cummaquid, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great classic Cape Cod restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant is a great, local restaurant which serves fresh, local fish. Their entrees are wonderful and the staff is friendly and helpful. The bar area is a great place to stop for lunch or an afternoon snack and a glass of wine. It is a staple in the Village.
Diane B

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Food and Local Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recommended by our Inn owner we had an excellent meal here. The seafood was excellent and the restaurant was busy with many of those eating there locals. The servers were friendly and the menu had more than enough items to tempt us.

Good food and a definite recommend to anyone looking for well prepared food at reasonable prices.

The locals seem to congregate and eat at the bar so if there is space and you want to catch up on the local gossip the chatter and noise coming from the folks was fun to listen to. Lots of smiling faces.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
217 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for seafood and steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We decided on the Dolphin for dinner because I love seafood and my fiancé does not. The Dolphin offered a nice variety of main entrees. He was looking for a good steak which he found at the Dolphin. I, on the other hand, had a scallop casserole which was to die for. Before dinner, we were served crackers with a spread that was very tasty. Then the warm bread was served which I couldn't resist. We called ahead to find out their hours which was helpful. During the week, off season, they were only open till 9:00pm. We arrived at 8:00pm and the place was pretty empty. Our waitress was very friendly and provided excellent service. I hope to return again to the Dolphin for another spectacular meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sealover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good choice!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went on a busy Friday night and the server was quite run off her feet. While pleasant, she wasn't informative about the wine. When asked about a specific bottle she responded, "Oh they are all good, we wouldn't have it on the menu if it wasn't" Which tells you nothing!!
We all enjoyed our meals, they were not outstanding, but good. It is important to have a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryMandKenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Restaurant also viewed

 
Barnstable, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dolphin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing