We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a fried seafood fix”
Review of Mattakeese Wharf

Mattakeese Wharf
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Barnstable
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Reopening May 5, 2017. Mattakeese Wharf is a SEASONAL waterfront restaurant on Cape Cod, MA since 1968. We serve fresh, local seafood including lobsters, steaks, chicken, and some Italian specialties. There is no better romantic sunset view while dining on the Cape than here at Mattakeese Wharf. See the sunset slideshow on our website with many photos contributed by diners. We are open late April through mid October. Mattakeese Wharf is located next to a whale watching boat so we are a natural destination after your day on the water with the whales. We offer a full bar and live entertainment during the summer season... a great place to watch the Sox games! We serve lunch and dinner 7 days a week plus Brunch on Sundays. We are open from 11:30am until well into the evening.... depending on how busy we are, roughly 10-11pm.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good for a fried seafood fix”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

No trip to the Cape is complete without some fried seafood and this place can nicely fill that need. Plus the wharf-side location gives you a little more atmosphere than other similar spots. The prices are a little higher than some of the seafood shacks but it's not outrageous by any means. Service is pleasant but a little on the slow side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgbslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    136
    72
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and nice location on the water!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a good (7 out of 10) meal. The atmosphere was enjoyable and on the water/channel. The deserts were incredible!

The service staff was friendly but slow at times to the point we went the bar to get another drink.

Overall it's a nice place to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“WATERFRONT with Frozen Fish”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Being a beautiful summer day we decided to take a drive along scenic Rte 6A over to West Barnstable and lunch at Mattakeese. Shame on me for not asking if the lobster was fresh - until after a few bites. Waiter had the NERVE to say no one on the Cape serves fresh lobster in their sandwiches/salads. We're locals and that statement is enough for us never to return. YES you can get fresh lobster rolls in many many places but not here. Lobster was frozen as was the swordfish too. Calamari was soggy. So-so at best...their attitude certainly does not bode well for the tourist trade. Don't get caught in the trap. Waterfront setting isn't enough to compensate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FalWetVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Well, we used to stop here as our last lunch before heading home. Since we moved here, we have not been back until today. Two of us had lobster rolls. By far, the biggest and best we've ever had. One of them had two entire lobster tails in it! We will definitely be coming back for more i had the Cape Cod Reuban and it was wonderful too. Try the potato salad!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodGlassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, attentive service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here for lunch. Our waitress was so sweet, and helpful. She had a winning personality and was willing to do whatever we asked. Very nice atmosphere, and varied menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudifromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattakeese Wharf also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mattakeese Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing