We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bostonkye
1 review
“great location, even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

we just spent a wonderful weekend at the lamb and the lion. located in midcape, it was a very convenient base of operation from which to visit all part of the cape. tom and alice are extremely knowledgeable and friendly, and provides you with a book with a ton of recommendations. not only did they give us pointers in where to do the best antique hunting and the-can't-miss local instutions, they even helped us book reservations at restaurants. the best part was when they connected us with John the Oysterman [--] and we had the most amazing experience working on the beach, seeing how oysters are grown, and of course, eating fresh oysters.... and at the end of the day, we always looked forward to a soak in the hottub, and slept knowing that alice's home baked muffins waited for us in the morning...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bostonkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
171
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband and I just completed our 8th stay at the Lamb and Lion Inn. This trip commemorated our 25th wedding anniversary. Although we usually stay in one of the regular rooms (the lairs), which are all very nice, this time we treated ourselves to a special room, The Innkeepers' Pride. It is beautifully appointed: fireplace in the bedroom, soaking tub and separate shower in a spacious bathroom, dressing room with built-in drawers, well-equipped kitchenette, and private deck overlooking the lovely grounds that back up to Cape Cod Bay.

All of our stays at the Lamb and Lion have been memorable, but this one was the best. Alice and Tom, our innkeepers, placed a beautiful arrangement of stargazer lillies in our room. How they knew that these were the very flowers I carried in my wedding bouquet 25 years ago, I'll never know (my husband and family swear they never leaked this information!). I was duly impressed. But then that is just like Alice and Tom, who think of every detail to make your stay perfect.

Breakfasts are wonderful, with lots of delectable homemade goodies lovingly prepared by Alice and staff . . . and breakfast would not be complete without Alice and Tom's darling Yorkshire Terriers, Gracie and Jeepers, and teacup Pomeranians, Willie and Mollie, who are the sweetest breakfast companions you can imagine!

Tom gave us some great driving tours and ideas for off-the-beaten path things to see and do along Route 6A. We thought we had done most everything, but we were delighted with Tom's suggestions.

Besides the peace and quiet that we enjoy at the Lamb and Lion, we love the location--mid-Cape and north shore--and easily accessible to everything we love. In conclusion, we recommend the Lamb and Lion Inn without reservation of any kind. For our money it is the perfect Cape Cod vacation, especially lovely for couples, but also wonderful for families, or singles, too. This inn, we have found, tends to attract a nice class of people, with well-behaved children and well-behaved small dogs.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank ckyle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

When traveling with a dog or not this is a great place to stay. Dogs are most welcome with plenty of walking space. The pool area is just a great spot for a quiet afternoon along with the spa and outdoor shower. Breakfast with fresh baked goods, homemade granola and more. Innkeepers could not have been more in the know and helpfull. Will keep this on the list of my favorite places to stay on the Cape

  • Liked — Quiet peacefull location
  • Disliked — Had to go home
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bayhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

The website was really top-notch.........I had no doubt it would be a beautiful place. What we found - was far better than I imagined. A hilarious elvis-impersonating host and several pocket sized dogs running throughout the inn - I absolutely LOVED IT! The inn-dogs are as pleasant as the host and hostess - although we only discovered two of them.........we got so much pleasure out of watching these little pint-sized fluffballs and playing with them - then we do our own animals!

Besides the pets, the inn is in a superb location - close to many fine restaurants, other beautiful waterfront towns, and beaches. My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this inn - and would recommend it to all we know. All rooms surround the pool which is lovely. The breakfast room is the gathering area each morning to a wonderful array of goodies all with a view of the pool and couryard.

We highly recommend this place - Tom and Alice are top notch in our book! We will be back......give Golly Gee Willikers and Jeepers Creepers a hug from us - we'd love to (or should I say I would love to - not my husband) - become their Godparents! Although the Petersons have first dibs! Thanks again for a great time. You made our first trip to Cape Cod a memorable one!

  • Liked — The hosts and the inn-dogs!
  • Disliked — Probably chose a room a little too small - would get bigger room next time
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poochlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

We've just returned from a week in the "barn" of the Lamb and Lion Inn in Barnstable, MA (Cape Cod). The complex mostly features conventional B&B rooms, but the barn is different. Downstairs comprises a small kitchen, dining area, and seating group. Two narrow and steep stairways (with minimal headroom) afford access to a pair of small sleeping lofts at opposite ends... both of which give onto a third, higher loft in the center of the building. One end loft has both double and twin beds, the other has one twin, and the center has one double. A single bathroom is accessed from the end loft with the twin bed. No... it's not really a "three-room suite". But... it's fun for a family or small group who know each other *really* well.

Breakfasts are simple but tasty: coffee, milk, fresh OJ, several kinds of cereal and granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, English muffins... and a daily fresh pastry (scones, muffins, crumb cake, etc.). You can eat in the sun room, by the pool (which is surrounded by the rest of the compound), on an outside deck, or in your room.

The pool is solar heated, the hot tub is large and 104 degrees... and you don't want to miss the "Cape Cod shower", which is by the pool, enclosed, yet open to the sky. Taking a shower in the rain with a fresh breeze is quite the sensual experience.

Tom and Alice run the place along with their four little dogs. They have decades of experience in the hospitality business and really know what they're doing. A special feature is their sheaf of one-page driving tours of various portions of Cape Cod. These feature out-of-the-way spots you might never find otherwise (board walks, the Underground Gallery, the best restaurants).

Our only problem arose while trying to cook a large meal with the oven and three burners going simultaneously. We blew a circuit breaker, which turned out to be inter-related to the neighbor's AC unit. Tom quickly resolved the problem. When we contemplated boiling a large pot of water the next day for pasta, Alice just loaned us her pasta pot and even brought the water to boil on her big gas range. We felt like part of the family.

HIghly recommended.

  • Liked — Superb service
  • Disliked — Really steep stairways with minimal headroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.6 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool, spa & yoga studio, BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel. "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" ~ Cape Cod Life Magazine. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing