We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2007

When traveling with a dog or not this is a great place to stay. Dogs are most welcome with plenty of walking space. The pool area is just a great spot for a quiet afternoon along with the spa and outdoor shower. Breakfast with fresh baked goods, homemade granola and more. Innkeepers could not have been more in the know and helpfull. Will keep this on the list of my favorite places to stay on the Cape

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bayhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2007

The website was really top-notch.........I had no doubt it would be a beautiful place. What we found - was far better than I imagined. A hilarious elvis-impersonating host and several pocket sized dogs running throughout the inn - I absolutely LOVED IT! The inn-dogs are as pleasant as the host and hostess - although we only discovered two of them.........we got so much pleasure out of watching these little pint-sized fluffballs and playing with them - then we do our own animals!

Besides the pets, the inn is in a superb location - close to many fine restaurants, other beautiful waterfront towns, and beaches. My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this inn - and would recommend it to all we know. All rooms surround the pool which is lovely. The breakfast room is the gathering area each morning to a wonderful array of goodies all with a view of the pool and couryard.

We highly recommend this place - Tom and Alice are top notch in our book! We will be back......give Golly Gee Willikers and Jeepers Creepers a hug from us - we'd love to (or should I say I would love to - not my husband) - become their Godparents! Although the Petersons have first dibs! Thanks again for a great time. You made our first trip to Cape Cod a memorable one!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poochlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We've just returned from a week in the "barn" of the Lamb and Lion Inn in Barnstable, MA (Cape Cod). The complex mostly features conventional B&B rooms, but the barn is different. Downstairs comprises a small kitchen, dining area, and seating group. Two narrow and steep stairways (with minimal headroom) afford access to a pair of small sleeping lofts at opposite ends... both of which give onto a third, higher loft in the center of the building. One end loft has both double and twin beds, the other has one twin, and the center has one double. A single bathroom is accessed from the end loft with the twin bed. No... it's not really a "three-room suite". But... it's fun for a family or small group who know each other *really* well.

Breakfasts are simple but tasty: coffee, milk, fresh OJ, several kinds of cereal and granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, English muffins... and a daily fresh pastry (scones, muffins, crumb cake, etc.). You can eat in the sun room, by the pool (which is surrounded by the rest of the compound), on an outside deck, or in your room.

The pool is solar heated, the hot tub is large and 104 degrees... and you don't want to miss the "Cape Cod shower", which is by the pool, enclosed, yet open to the sky. Taking a shower in the rain with a fresh breeze is quite the sensual experience.

Tom and Alice run the place along with their four little dogs. They have decades of experience in the hospitality business and really know what they're doing. A special feature is their sheaf of one-page driving tours of various portions of Cape Cod. These feature out-of-the-way spots you might never find otherwise (board walks, the Underground Gallery, the best restaurants).

Our only problem arose while trying to cook a large meal with the oven and three burners going simultaneously. We blew a circuit breaker, which turned out to be inter-related to the neighbor's AC unit. Tom quickly resolved the problem. When we contemplated boiling a large pot of water the next day for pasta, Alice just loaned us her pasta pot and even brought the water to boil on her big gas range. We felt like part of the family.

HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank true808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beisel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,268 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
7.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
401 reviews
11.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
554 reviews
13.1 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range: $249 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 fireplaces. Solar-heated, salt water pool with outdoor wood-burning fireplace. Wellness studio with massage rooms, yoga studio, Reiki, readings and transformation coaching. BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel, 2014 "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel, 2015. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" 2008-2016, 9 years! ~ Cape Cod Life. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN, 2014. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing