We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and inviting B&B”
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A warm and inviting B&B”
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We just returned from a night away at The Lamb and Lion Inn. This was our first experience at a B&B and it far exceeded expectations. The room was comfortable with a gas fireplace, and the bed was great. Breakfast was simply but more than enough. While the property owners are on vacation, their assistant made us feel welcome immediately - she is a gem. The added benefit of The Lamb and Lion Inn is it is truly dog friendly. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Liked — Comfort of room and location
  • Disliked — Size of bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ruthieCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
171
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I recently spent a night at the Lamb and Lion for a romantic night out of the city. This was my first experience with a B&B and one that far exceeded any preconceived expectations I may have had. We chose the Lamb and Lion based on the excellent reviews that we read on TripAdvisor and from the moment we pulled up to the inn, we knew that we had made the right choice.

The location of the Lamb and Lion combines the seclusion of a private getaway with the charm of staying in a small Cape Cod town. The innkeepers, Alice and Tom, have spent their lives learning how to take care of guests and excel at it in every way. They are personable, knowledgeable and incredibly helpful. They are well-versed on everything there is to do in Barnstable and the surrounding areas including where to eat, visit, and where to find activities for every type of traveler.

The inn itself is beautifully and tastefully decorated with the unique style of the Cape. Our room was spacious, elegant, and spotlessly clean. Some of our favorite memories from our visit will be relaxing in the outdoor hot tub (yes, in January), keeping warm by the fireplace in our room, and enjoying a delicious and lavish breakfast in the sunroom.

We have already made plans to make the Lamb and Lion a yearly tradition.

  • Liked — The innkeepers and the overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimhausmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2009

My girlfriend and I decided that we would take a getaway trip for our 7 year dating anniversary. I booked this bed and breakfast based on the glowing reviews that I read all over the web and the only complaint that I have is that the reviews don't adequately describe what an amazing experience awaits at the Lamb and Lion.

The Inn is located just a mile or so away from a small quaint village that is loaded with awesome shops and places to eat. A couple miles farther down the road is a mall and grocery store if you are planning an extended stay.

The Inn itself is fantastic. Most of the rooms surround the courtyard which has a pool and an all year round hot tub, which is a great way to end the day. The room which we stayed in was also perfect. It had a fireplace, huge bathroom, kitchen, and a great living room and bedroom. There are many different kinds of rooms at the Inn, so let the owners know the purpose of your visit and they will make sure you get the room that best fits your purposes. They even gave us a free room upgrade, which made our trip even more special.

Finally, the greatest strength of the Inn was the innkeepers themselves. Alice, one of the owners, was unbelievably helpful. She gave advice on where to eat, what activities were around, and directions. She made sure we knew that she was there to help with the fireplace, the hot tub, or any other needs that we may have had. She also made an amazing breakfast.

If you book a room here you will not regret it!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank ghoward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

If I didn't know for certain, I would suspect that we were at the wrong Lamb and Lion Inn. After reading so many glowing reviews on this site, we decided to give it a try for our anniversary getaway. The first problem we encountered was being given two different prices for the room. With the first inquiry, we were told that it would be $185.00 per night. By the next day, talking to a different person, that changed to $225.00. When we mentioned the discrepancy, we were told that the other quote was incorrect for mid-September. We swallowed the new price thinking OK, deal with it since we will be staying in a luxurious B&B. What we got instead was a modified old hotel that was rough on the outside and not much better on the inside, to say the least. We had to duck to walk through the doorway to enter our room. The bathroom was tiny and included a stand up tiled shower that one person could barely fit in. It's a good thing we are both thin as it's unimaginable how a heavier person would be able to even move in there! Add to that the dried stain on the comforter and the disappointment in the continental breakfast offered, which was nothing like it was described, and it was totally not worth that kind of money. As pleasant as the Innkeepers may be, we would never go back, sorry to say. The whole experience was a major bummer.

  • Liked — Can't come up with much on this one
  • Disliked — The misleading expectations that this was high end place
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ming73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner, Manager at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2008
It is a very frustrating situation for any Innkeeper to learn of a guest's dissatisfaction more than 2 months after the fact. We do not wish to make excuses for any of these problems, but unfortunately we were not given an opportunity to remedy them while the guest was with us for 3 nights. We have 10 units at the Lamb and Lion and some of them are more appropriate for a romantic getaway than others. Both the Lamb's Retreat ( the space that these folks rented) and the "Barn-stable" are really fun, "quirky" spaces that were actually the Barn and the Stable for the original farmhouse. They are large units with multiple sleeping areas and are best suited for families or a group of friends. We cannot explain the discrepancy in the price quote, but we did charge them a reduced rate based on the fact that they were only 2 and not a family of 3 or 4. If we had known about their unhappiness while they were our guests, we would have offered them other accommodations or refunded their money and assisted them in finding something more appropriate elsewhere. We have contacted these guests and offered them a complimentary 3 night stay in one of our more luxurious rooms with a wood burning fireplace, jacuzzi and private deck. It would never be our intention for anyone to be unhappy while they were our guests. We would encourage anyone who has complaints to give their hosts an opportunity to "make it right" while they are on premise. Our guests work too hard for their time-away and we work too hard to try and give them an awesome experience (as certainly expressed by our other reviews) to have to attempt to remedy any kind of problem so long after the fact. We love the hospitality industry and we are always available at the Lamb and Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We have recently returned from a touring holiday in New England and stayed at some pleasant B&Bs along the way but without a doubt the jewel in the crown was the Lamb and Lion.
It's a beautiful place,the bedrooms are built around a swimming pool with a sitting area and a hot tub and although it was too cold to swim the hot tub was just great.
The help yourself breakfast is laid out in a nice sunny area with seating outside and inside.We had a choice of orange juice,fresh fruit,various cereals bread and bagels to toast and a
freshly baked goodie each day along with tea and coffee. If you preferred you could set a tray for yourself and take your breakfast along to your room to eat there.
We had Lair # 4 which was very tastefully furnished with a wood burning effect stove,a wonderfully comfortable bed,plenty of drawer and closet space and a nicely fitted bathroom.
Tom the inn keeper was very hospitable most informative,on our first day we decided to take his driving tour to P-town which was excellent ,it took us on a lovely boardwalk and to various places we would otherwise have missed.
Barnstable itself is a very convenient base, we did the whale watch tour from the harbour (fantastic experience saw so many whales) and from Hyannis you can catch the ferry to either Nantucket or Martha's Vineyard.
All in all we had a really pleasant stay at the inn with no complaints and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed here for an extended weekend, overlapping some of the nights with 2 other couples. I would have to admit that we are picky travelers, and rarely choose to stay at B&Bs, but I say that to emphasize how thoroughly nice the Lamb and Lion was. We were very impressed. Beds and linens were hotel-quality. Room furnishings were different in the different rooms we saw, but all were comfortable, up-to-date, and nicely done.

The rooms form a courtyard around a pool and a sitting area. Even in summer the Cape can be cool, and this area was protected enough to be comfortable for breakfast and even after dark. We ended up jumping in the pool at all hours -- it was 15 feet from our room - even though we are truly beach and dune lovers. That was absolutely a great amenity, and we didn't expect it at an inn this small. The courtyard setup was excellent for socializing.

The setting is rural, on an old historical road (Old King's Highway -- really), but it's only 2 miles from the village and the nearest restaurants and beaches. It is not in a touristy area at all, but it was still convenient to anything we set out to do.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dman425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2008

This B&B is excellent. It is so relaxing and beautiful. Tom & Alice are wonderful hosts. I proposed to my girlfriend during this vacation, and they were very helpful with everything related to the trip planning. Their driving tours are excellent, and you have to try them. They have planned out driving tours along the Cape that will take you to some well-known places, and places off the beaten path that are wonderful, relaxing, and exciting. This is great for people that do not know the Cape, and want to figure it out when they get there. My fiancee and I had the most relaxing week there. The breakfasts are healthy and tasty, and the special treat of the morning by Alice was always a nice surprise. They gave us great recommendations on dining for all kinds of desires. We had no complaints. We will stay there again.

  • Liked — The hosts, Tom & Alice, were very helpful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank silkwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 fireplaces. Solar-heated, salt water pool with outdoor wood-burning fireplace. Wellness studio with massage rooms, yoga studio, Reiki, readings and transformation coaching. BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel, 2014 "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel, 2015. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" 2008-2016, 9 years! ~ Cape Cod Life. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN, 2014. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing