We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamb and Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at the Lamb and Lion Inn, a truly special place to stay while enjoying the Cape. Tom and Ali, the hosts, have thought of everything. The homemade breakfasts by Ali are incredibly delicious. The rooms are cozy with wonderful touches. The main areas - from the courtyard with pool and hot tub to the breakfast area - are so relaxing. The four-legged co-hosts (Tom and Ali's beautiful dogs) are adorable and add to the charm. We will ABSOLUTELY stay at the Lamb and Lion Inn again, and are telling our good family and friends about this gem on the Cape!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shof91695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
THANK YOU! We've been here at the Lamb and Lion Inn for 14 years and doing this even longer than that, and you know what? We still love it. I think that's the secret to keeping so many guests happy. We know the value of your short time away, and we certainly know that people have become numb from the lack of guest services in the world. We like to think we're in this business to help people breathe. Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
171
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just stayed at Lamb and Lion Inn. Never being to Cape Cod before, Tom and Ali made it a wonderful first experience for us. Ali's delicious breakfast with homemade breads and baked goods were amazing. Ali's homemade yogurt and granola were wonderful. I also liked that she had local jams served with breakfast all natural ingredients. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Tom was extremely helpful with his recommendations. He provided us with three separate driving tours which helped us to discover some of the best parts of Cape Cod that we would have never been able to experience. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to a return trip. Newtown, PA

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks! We love the 1st-timers, and they love the driving tours. It seems like one of the fave things to do as we re-read past reviews. Yes, and Ali is truly talented. Just this year we started offering an optional hot breakfast menu as an add-on, but most people see to love what she's doing with our "regular" breakfast. We've both been in the hospitality biz our whole lives so we hope we have it down by now! Thanks for taking the time to write...enjoy what's left of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at L&L last week. I loved it. Tom was very helpful and Ali's breakfast was wonderful. The room was spacious and clean. I loved that they had fresh flowers for us when we checked in. My only complaint which is really not the shower could have been larger. I like a larger shower. If that was my only complaint that is pretty good. I loved the inn and would return. I loved having dogs around. I missed mine so it helped.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Ha! That's true, if that's your biggest complaint we'll take it! These folks were staying in our Lion's Den, and she's right, the shower is a little on the small side. We'd love to expand it someday, and we may, but for now, for most people it works just fine--it could be a matter of what you're use to as well, I suppose. Last year we re-did the bathroom in the Lion's Den and put beautiful stone tiling in the shower to make it as pleasant and clean as possible. This spring we put new hard-wood flooring in this suite, as well as a new flat screen TV, new windows and a nice fresh paint job. Of course the wood-burning fireplace is sporting its "warmer months candelabra" right now. We are always reinventing the rooms and changing things up. One day that shower will be expanded, but for now we like it the way it is. Thanks for taking the time to write--we really enjoyed having you here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is ABSOLUTELY the best place on the Cape!! I have been coming to Cape Cod since I was 8 and this is my go-to place! Such a happy, comfortable place and the best innkeepers on the planet! We just celebrated my sister's 50th and it wonderful! Hubby loves it here and he is a hard sell! We were actually sad we had to go home...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginabell1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you G! WE LOVE having you here--and your right, your husband was a hard sell--well, maybe not THAT hard. We get a lot of return business, and as much as we love our first timers and "once in a while-ers", our regular guests are the ones that really drive us. Not only is coming back over and over the best "shot in the arm" an innkeeper can have, but it makes us want to change things up, add things and improve the inn to give "regulars" something new to experience. This couple has become people we can truly call friends and we're honored that they love us back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We checked out today. Overall enjoyed our stay at the B &B. The room was clean and was picked up daily. The furnishing are not extravagant but nice and functional. Our bed was comfortable. Air conditioning worked and kept our room cool. The pool was nice, we enjoyed it several evenings and even was encouraged by Tom, one night to come out as it was so beautiful, we agreed. The pool and spa are well maintained and recently converted to salt water. Tom provided us with great driving directions and recommendations for local sites. The directions were detailed and we didn't even need a map!
The reason I rate this as very good instead of excellent is the breakfast...since this is a B & B I expect the second "B" to be a little bit more and based on the rave reviews of "Ali's yogurt and bakery" I had high expectations. The "B" was very good with one choice of a fresh baked item along with either a bread, english muffin or crumpet. Dry cereals offered along with a fresh fruit salad. Again, all good and appropriate, I was just expecting more (which was offered for $5 more). Nice atmosphere to eat either poolside or overlooking the back yard and great interaction with other guests.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed great, it just depends on your desires and what you need. Some have more room than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelandtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the timeout to review! It always means a great deal to us when people do. After a long string of hot, humid days the coolness of the evening with a dip in the heated pool in front of the outdoor fire was too good to pass up. We were happy to see these folks get their suits on and join some of the other guests for what was one of the perfect nights of the summer.
As for breakfast, we have been in this industry a very long time and have been here at the Lamb and Lion for over 14 years. We like to think we know what our guests like. Our inn is not your typical "B&B" home stay where you're staying in rooms that could have previously been the kids rooms and we don't do the "sit down between 8 and 9" formality of breakfast. It's just not our style. Many B&Bs do a 3-course breakfast, served to everyone at one big table, or a couple of tables next to one another. Big food served in several courses with oversized muffins and lots of small talk with strangers--and the event can last an hour or sometimes longer. We feel our guests like to dine at their leisure. Get up early, sleep in, have coffee and go back to bed, enjoy a long breakfast poolside (or in bed!) or eat fast and beat the crowds to the beach! Almost anything goes here at the Lamb and Lion, BUT you can't pull that off with a more formal 3 course breakfast. Thus we do continental style consisting of freshly baked cakes or muffins, an award-winning granola, home-made yogurt, fresh and roasted fruits--and every morning is different. For the person who prefers a hot breakfast alternative, guests can order from an ala carte menu, where you can get a serious, full-on Eggs Benedict with homemade Hollandaise, sausage & local eggs, smoked salmon with home-made bagels--usually 5 things to choose from--and at a nominal cost of $5.00 and anytime you want it. We generally have very positive feedback on our unique breakfast concept. We don't think our value is diminished because of it--we know we are competitively priced with our neighbors that do a more formal breakfast but don't have a pool, hot tub, suites with kitchens, free self-guided driving tours and real wood-burning fire places. Hope you're enjoying the rest of this glorious, steamy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We returned this summer to L & L which was as BEAUTIFUL as remembered (see last summer's review). On this occasion with Tom and Ali's guidance we ventured to the towns of Chatham and Sandwich....great fun! Everything about this inn is 1st class. Looking forward to returning soon to our "happy place"! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are so fortunate to be in the hospitality business as long as we have and can still say that we enjoy it every day of the year. We also get a huge kick out of meeting such wonderful people from all over the planet. These reviewers have become two of our favorites. Incredibly nice, interesting, low key (LOVE that pool-side veggin' out to Eric Clapton on the head phones!) and always appreciative and complimentary. THANK YOU for your support, and your friendship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I returned to the Lamb & Lion Inn to celebrate our ten year anniversary. Our room was really clean and comfortable. We lounged in the hot tub & swam in the pool. The inn is very adult oriented, which is a plus when you want to just sit back & relax. Tom's personalized self-guided car tours lead us to places we would have missed along the way! We had an excellent time & will definitely be back on our next Cape stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.9 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.6 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Property: Lamb and Lion Inn
Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool, spa & yoga studio, BBQ facilities, complimentary self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Road & Travel. "One of the Top 5 inns on Cape Cod" ~ The Travel Channel. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" ~ Cape Cod Life Magazine. One of the Top 12 pet friendly properties in the World" ~ CNN. One of New England's best destinations" ~ Yankee Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing