We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Victorian Inn with Warm Inn Keepers”
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I would definitely stay at the Beechwood again. The Inn Keepers pay attention to every detail and are friendly, accessible, helpful, and go out of their way to make everything perfect - down to the homemade cookies and lemonade on the porch served daily. The Beechwood is named aptly so due to the large gorgeous weeping beechwood trees that grace the front and back yards at this inn. Upon arrival, I didn't know what to expect with my 8 year old son in tow, but quickly realized that we were in a special place. When Ken, the inn keeper, gave us an informative oral history of the Inn in his outgoing and friendly manner, his love of stories became contagious. Each morning during a truly wonderful breakfast of homemade baked goods, fruits, and entree -- we ended up sharing many stories with Ken and his co-inn keeper, Debbie, until we all felt like old friends. My son loved rocking in the large chairs on the large wrap around porch, and my entire family was able to "take over" the inn with the 5 bedrooms out of 6 that we occupied. It felt very private and very much like a step back in time with the antique interior charm and furnishings - each with their own history.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank mbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Beechwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

Can't beat the hospitality of the Innkeepers and the beauty of the grounds. The house overall is quite charming and has the Cape Cod feel about it. The stuffed animals and dolls in our room (Garret) were a bit creepy, though. Great breakfasts both days too! It is an older building, so be prepared for that in terms of staircases, water pressure, etc.

Overall, a great place. If we go back to Cape Cod we'll probably stay in a different area just for some variety, but I'd recommend Beechwood for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g8rgrad98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My sister and I loved the charm of our room (the Lilac Room, I believe). We fell in love with the huge beech trees that dominate the yard, Thier sweeping branches made wonderful "night music." They are over 150 years old. The owners raise Golden Retrievers; and, while they are not seen unless requested, the puppies were adorable. The house is fascinating and comfortable but musty. The hosts were very helpful and knowledgable, and we thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay at the Beechwood Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ace15may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

If you are looking for a romantic, quiet get- a -away, look no further then the Beechwood Inn. We stayed there in Mid June 2010, in the Garret Room, a very private 3rd floor nook. It is the perfect room to rekindle old love or to celebrate new ones. The Beechwood is an old Victorian house that is full of charm and beauty, named so for the massive beechwood tree located on the property. Inn owners Ken and Debra are wonderful people that make your stay truly enjoyable. Debra is a fantastic cook spoiling us with stuff French toast and a type off egg soufflé that was delicious. Ken is a great source of local knowledge and history and will point you in the right direction no matter where your interests lay. In addition Ken and Debbie breed championship Golden Retrievers. If your visit coincides with a puppy litter consider yourself lucky. There is nothing more adorable than a bunch of golden butterballs running around. The older dogs are very well behaved and do not have the run of the place. If you are a dog lover this inn is for you. If dogs aren’t your thing don’t worry you will hardly notice that they are there. I know that we will return to the beechwood, hmm maybe for the honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ran7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The victorian inn was a step back in time with modern amenities. Perfect for the person who loves antiques, a homey atmosphere, and exquisite homemade breakfasts prepared and served by the owners. Located in the heart of the quaint town, it is perfectly located for that early morning walk or evening stroll. Their Golden Retievers add to the charming atmosphere and are wonderful to sit with under the century old beech trees or on the various porches surrounding the inn. I am planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmgrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Beautifully decorated house and gardens on scenic Route 6A. We loved our short but wonderful stay at this lovely B&B. Beautiful Victorian style, very quaint and cozy and a nice view from the Garret room. Hosts Ken and Debbie are extremely warm, helpful, friendly and fun. Breakfasts menus are exquisite with scrumptious freshly-baked muffins every morning. We enjoyed our morning chats with them and learned a lot about the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyowl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Beechwood Inn. The bed was very comfortable, the room romantic, the atmosphere of the inn and grounds delightful, and the breakfasts yummy. Ken and Debra were terrific hosts with lots of advice about the area. Loved the very sweet dogs. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeHobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
1.7 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
4.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
3.9 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,105 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Lamb and Lion Inn
Lamb and Lion Inn
#2 of 6 in Barnstable
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Address: 2839 Main St, Barnstable, MA 02630-1017
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range: $184 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood is an award-winning romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Cape Cod's quaint historic district. Furnished with elegant period antiques, all rooms have king/queen beds, private baths, air-conditioning and tv/vcr's. Gourmet breakfast. Centrally location, convenient to Hyannis, beaches and all the pleasures of Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing