We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lilac Room is tops at the Beechwood!”
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Palmer, MA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lilac Room is tops at the Beechwood!”
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Had a great November weekend at the Beechwood! Ken and Debbie are very friendly and welcoming.
We chose the Lilac Room, which is definitely the room of choice! The lilac room has a gas fireplace, king bed, and both a bathroom with tub, and another room with a small shower. In addition, there is a twin bed in the annex - all in all, this room is very large, and has two comfortable chairs to pull up to the fire place.
We toured the 2nd most popular room, the Rose Room, which is smaller, and has a wood fireplace - not quite as useful for those quick warmups, and definitely not as much room to cozy up to the fire.
In addition - the Lilac room is the only room in the inn where you walk right downstairs to breakfast - the others require you to walk outside (on the fantastic, HUGE wraparound porch) to eat your breakfast.
We had fantastic breakfasts of pumpkin muffins, raspberrry cake, watermellon, pineapple, apple/cinamon crepes and stuffed french toast. You probably won't leave hungry!
I would definitely stay here again, and would definitely choose the Lilac room again!

  • Liked — The great room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pbwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Lovely in so many ways - the only negative thing I would say is that while "vintage" is the theme here - some things are broken or stained and need to be replaced. Other than that - it's a gem and I would stay here again if I am ever on the Cape. The inn keepers are so friendly and the breakfast is delightful. Although you get whatever they serve you as there is no choice - I wouldn't have wanted anything else anyway!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank bermewjan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Beechwood for a weekend this past June, and from the moment we saw the Beechwood and met Ken, our host, we knew we had picked the perfect place for our weekend getaway.

The property is GORGEOUS and extremely well-maintained. There's a beautiful wraparound porch where they serve lemonade in the afternoon, and you can sit on the porch to read and just enjoy the fresh air.

We stayed in the Rose Room, which couldn't have been more romantic!!! The bed alone is something to behold!!! SO comfortable! Also the room was very clean, with plenty of towels.

Breakfast each morning was DELICIOUS and served by our friendly hosts, Ken and Debra. And lucky for us (being dog lovers), their beautiful Golden Retrievers Bravo and Fortune also joined us for breakfast! (Not to worry, the dogs stay in the hosts' quarters unless you ask them to join you.) One wouldn't even know there were dogs in the house because they are so well-behaved and don't bark.

Ken couldn't have been nicer or more patient when giving us directions and restaurant recommendations several times during our stay. It truly felt as if this was his first time giving us this information, even though I'm sure he has had to repeat the very same directions to guests hundreds of times!!!

We really couldn't have been happier with our stay or more appreciative of our hosts' sincerity, friendliness, and hospitality. And, we truly enjoyed getting the chance to chat with Ken and Debra over breakfast. This aspect definitely made our stay feel so personal and special.

We have found our new "home" whenever we get back to the Cape...and we can't wait stay at the Beechwood again!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rp_ck2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

My wife and I just came back from a long weekend stay at the Beechwood Inn. We had a great time... the Inn is beautiful and the owners Ken & Debbie were extremely friendly and always willing to share their Cape Cod knowledge.

Debbie's breakfast was excellent every morning and there was plenty of food. We will definitley stay there again the next time we are on the Cape.

  • Liked — The Inn.. the room... the Inn keepers
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank egodshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

We just got back from a three day stay at the Beechwood Inn. Since this was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast, we were excited and a bit nervous at the same time, because we weren't sure what to expect. Any fears we had immediately vanished when we arrived at Beechwood and were greeted by the lovely innkeepers, Ken and Debbie. They made us feel right at home! We stayed in the Rose room, and it was lovely. And the breakfast..... to die for!! I will never eat another muffin without comparing it to Debbies :) We are going to have a hard time staying at a regular hotel now, because we have been spoiled at the Beechwood Inn. We are already making plans to go back! Thanks to Ken and Debbie (and their wonderful Golden Retrievers!) our first B&B experience was a wonderful one!

  • Liked — The breakfast!!! And, even though it was in a quiet, country setting, we were less than 10 minutes from the city of Hyannis.
  • Disliked — That we had to leave! :)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenStar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 30, 2001

One of the prettiest, friendliest and most accommodating places we've every stayed (multiple times). The rooms are all unique and wonderful. Breakfast is great gourmet.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstable
4.1 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.4 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamb and Lion Inn
Lamb and Lion Inn
#2 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Property: Beechwood Inn
Address: 2839 Main St, Barnstable, MA 02630-1017
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood is an award-winning romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Cape Cod's quaint historic district. Furnished with elegant period antiques, all rooms have king/queen beds, private baths, air-conditioning and tv/vcr's. Gourmet breakfast. Centrally location, convenient to Hyannis, beaches and all the pleasures of Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing