We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Views Close to the City”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramblin Pines Campground
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Country Views Close to the City”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a nice secure place to pull in if you are driving I-70 in Maryland. The staff lead you to your site, help you get into your site, and with the extended hours they are there everyday, are there if you need them. A secure gate is at the entrance and key cards, with a deposit, are available for early or late entry. It has mostly back-in sites but does have a few pull-thrus. most of the roads in the campground are paved, it has a good pool and a game room for the kids. It is about 3 miles off the interstate, but be careful as to which exit you use to get to the campground. If you use the MD 97 exit, there is a series of tight curves and extreme grades along with a railroad crossing at the bottom of a hill that must be negotiated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaintVitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Ramblin Pines is a very clean campground that seems to cater to families with children and dogs. If you do not fall into this category you might be better served at another facility. Bikes, toys, and other children's paraphernalia often obstruct the roads while their indulgent parents smile and nod. On weekends, the local element can be quite loud in their celebratory moods. Fortunately, things do quiet down after 11 pm. The available WiFi which can be slow at times, evidently has 'parental controls' imposed upon the entire camping populace. Some sites are automatically blocked. If this is accord with your beliefs, then this should not be a problem. The relatively easy access to the DC Metro at Shady Grove is a definite asset. This campground is located in a very lovely area of the Maryland countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff was friendly and professional. We were even guided to our site and our firewood was delivered a little later. Couldn't ask for better service. There are lots of activities for those who want something to do, or one can just relax and enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashmere, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed there in the "off" season, early Dec. The park was almost empty, but we got the feeling it was designed especially for traveling familes, with lots of activities, including a large arcade, table tennis, pool table, just to mention the indoor attractions. The managers are very helpful, and the store is well supplied for RV travelers. We hope to come here again. The location is ideal to visit attractions in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sasandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Village, Indiana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I were visiting the area and wanted easy access to D.C., Baltimore and Gettysburg. We found Ramblin Pines and were delighted with this facility. When we arrived on Saturday, a hayride was just beginning and families were enjoying the facilities and common areas. We were escorted to a site right up front, near the office. The staff was friendly and helpful. Trick or Treating commenced shortly after we set up; it was fun to watch children enjoying halloween fun in a safe environment. And the rules allowed campers to opt out of handing out treats; children are only allowed to got to sites where campers are outside ready to great the children. Night time was quite and peaceful. An overall great campground.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We will be going back!
Ramblin Pines Campgrounds is a great family friendly place, as soon as we arrive it felt like "home". They have so much for all ages. We were able to fine out site very easy. The roads were clearly marked. The size of the sites were a great. We had a water & electric site. Our tent is 14x14 and it fit perfect with extra room for my 5 year old son to play on the side with his cars and trucks. At the site you have a fire ring with removable grill top and a standard grill. Having a regular tall grill really helps save your back.
The restroom's and the shower house were very clean. (That to me in a big thing!)
the amenities,
Pool~ Great, not to big and is family friendly.
Game room~ not to bad, a little warm in side, but over all nice. (extra $$$)
play grounds~ great size, and have a good amount of things for kids to do.
fishing pond ~ Nice size, great way to enjoy the view! ( use hot dog as bate)
Jumping pillow~ The coolest thing ever. kids will love it. (extra $$$)
Mini-Golf~ cool to have, and fun for the kids. ( extra $$$) ( i think this should be included)
The store has a little bit of everything! if you don't see it, ask. They will be happy to help you find it or they will try and get it.
They have so many things to do on site, you will be able to keep busy.

Over all out trip to Ramblin Pine Campground was a great experiences. will tell everyone about it!
Hope this helps you~

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived and had a good start with polite staff. Then it got better when a man in a golf cart guided us to our spot and helped us park. Our site was facing the RV storage lot. By the map alone I never would have picked it but it was a good choice. It was quiet and had nice views. Can't wait to go back and let the grandkids play on the trampoline thing and let them fish in the catch and release pond.

Any size camper from tents to huge coaches are welcome and they do have some cabins but we didnt see inside them.

Was nice and we will be back.

Room Tip: It was a very nice campground and we will be back. It started off right by polite staff then got bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LovesHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbine
20.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
21.6 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/Owings Mills
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
8.9 mi away
Turf Valley Resort
Turf Valley Resort
#1 of 2 in Ellicott City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramblin Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramblin Pines Campground

Property: Ramblin Pines Campground
Address: 801 Hoods Mill Road, Woodbine, MD 21797
Location: United States > Maryland > Woodbine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woodbine
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing