We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great on a C&O canal bike trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Williamsport
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great on a C&O canal bike trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is great when riding the C&O Canal. If you do the mileage the way we did, you will end up at Williamsport. Cyclists, don't get down when you get off the trail and there is that ugly busy hill to ride up. It is really quite short, no more than a mile, and then you turn right and you are at the Red Roof and they are all set up for you and your bike. They put cyclists on the first floor. It is so easy to remove panniers outside your door. Then you ride next door to the little car wash to rinse the mud and grime off your bike. The rooms are very well appointed with plenty of room for your bikes. You can also easily lock them right outside your room if you prefer.

We walked down into town to the pizza place there but the place across the street from the Red Roof gets much better reviews. Next door from it is a liquor store to get a bottle of wine to go with it. There is also an Asian restaurant and. Subway. We stopped at the Subway for a couple of sandwiches for the ride next day. On request, the Red Roof provides refrigerators, which we enjoyed.

Super place, super value. And even though it doesn't initially seem so as you are riding up to it, a great stop for the night on the C&O canal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sewiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    29
    5
    21
See reviews for
27
22
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
seaford, de
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A 2 mile bike ride from the C and O canal towpath...staff was friendly, 2 comfy double beds, fine shower, flat screen tv and room for our bikes...that's all we needed. Across the street a Subway rest. and Marcus's NY style pizza...a bunch of Italian dishes we thought were fine. The 24/7 Waffle House is right next door and good for a breakfast. You know what we expected for $60... we were happily mistaken!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctvtde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We used this hotel because we were traveling with two cats. The rooms were clean but had a faint smell of other pets, we ran the air conditioner all night to avoid it. With that being said the staff were excellent and fixed a problem with our booking the wrong date. If you have a pet I would strongly recommend this place because there is no pet fee... Otherwise stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A good place to stay at a reasonable rate. They have clean rooms, and the hotel is located in a quiet area - but still is close to route 81. Sadly, there is no elevator to the second floor. Also, the swimming pool seems to be closed everytime that I stay there. Conveniently located right next to a Waffle House. Red Roof is pet friendly so it has been my hotel of choice for years.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking spot near room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPofS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stay at the Red Roof Inn because, in previous hotels in this chain, I'd had wonderful experiences. The stay was okay for the most part but there were many roadway workers that felt the need to party pretty late. On the second night, I finally called the front desk to complain because it was after 11:30 pm and they were still partying outside their rooms. Even with the air on and the TV loud, I could still here them. I had two dogs with me and it was starting to cause them to want to growl. The front desk clerk said that I was the first to complain. I asked how many complaints were necessary before asking them to quiet down for the night.
They finally went inside when I came out myself and asked them to quiet down. Other than that incident, it was pretty uneventful.
There were no bedbugs and the bedding smelled fresh. The carpets are very worn and the bathroom small but it seemed fairly clean. There is another hotel not far (I found out later) in Spring Mills Rd. in WV that takes pets and seems to be much cleaner. This Red Roof will have to step up their game if they want to compete. I thought that $70/night was kind of high for a so-so room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

i normally stay at Marriott chain hotels when traveling but the price for Hagerstown over Memorial Day weekend was over $100 more per night than the Red Roof Inn. Great place to stay with just the bare basics. i don't expect much other than a clean room when the rate is $49 a night. the room was very clean and the tv had like 70 channels in it. i also ran on the C&O trail the next morning and it was fantastic. no breakfast from what i seen but their is a Waffle House in the parking lot anyway so i would definately recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and not picky.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelvirginiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I booked a night recentl at the Red Roof Inn in Williamsport, MD, because my son and I were going to bike from there to Washington DC on the C&O Canal. Wendy checked us in and was very hospitable. Our room (two doubles) was clean and spacious. No signs of bed bugs, which is always a concern for my wife when I'm away. Shower was hot. TV was good, so watched the NBA playoffs. Room included a fridge. We ordered Dominoes pizza which was delivered quickly to the room. They allowed us to keep our car on the property the next day, so we didn't have to worry about it while we were biking to DC. Coffee, tea and juices available in the morning. A number or restaurants were located nearby. Beds were firm and comfortable. All we could have asked for, so I give it a two-thumbs up hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamsport
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD

Property: Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD
Address: 310 E Potomac St, Williamsport, MD 21795-1202
Location: United States > Maryland > Williamsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Williamsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Red Roof Inn so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Williamsport
Williamsport Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing