We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT CAMPGROUND”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hagerstown / Antietam Battlefield KOA
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CAMPGROUND”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights, got in later in the evening on the first night, the staff at the desk were exceptional, they had a guy outside in a golf cart directing you to your site. We decided to try the little restaurant on the grounds and the burgers were excellent, the waitstaff were helpful, only downside was the A/C was broken in the restaurant, so we sat outside (it was warm and humid). Campground was quiet in the evening even though there were a lot of children around. Second night was equally uneventful, just a nice quiet place to stay. Wish we would have gotten on the website beforehand to get a site by the stream.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpeters57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    13
    2
    11
See reviews for
26
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I took our grandaughter there for 1 night as a little "getaway". We went on July 5, so the campsite was at full capacity. We got a site with electric/water/cable and it was $55, which I thought was a little expensive for a campsite. After setting up, we found that the cable didn't work, si I reported this to the staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and worked hard to fix the problem. They ended up tapping into our neighbor's cable with a splitter, so all was good. We dont go camping to watch television, but we wanted it so our grandaughter could watch tv while she fell asleep. The pool is very nice and they were serving ice cream and floats at the diner right beside the pool. We didnt get to try any of the diner food but everyone said it was good food. We walked down to the creek and fished and caught some crayfish. They have canoes for rent ($8 an hour) as well. This is an overall nice campsite and is nice and quiet, Great place to go and relax. We only live 8 miles from it so I am sure we will go back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpdbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We only stopped for one night as it was the only campground in the area that was open. The KOA left our maps of available, easily to pull in, pull thru sites. In the morning when we awoke, the scenery and location was very nice with creek running along the campground. We went to store to pay only to find it was a 50s style diner dedicated to Lucille Ball. The staff was making breakfast and we got a large hot breakfast for entire family. The staff was so friendly and everyone loved the diner. Location was right off highway 3-4 miles at I81(MD/WV) border. We would easily stay again and eat again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtbr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This KOA is a terrific find for family fun! We stay in KOA's all across the USA and this is one of our favorite KOA's yet. We drove three miles down a narrow farm road beside the largest “creek” we ever saw, wondering if it could really be there as the KOA signs said. And what a lovely setting it was! Up the hill in terraced campsites is the office, and the Kampground overlooks the Connococheaque Creek, which surely must be a river! The Kampground is perfectly groomed. Even though we arrived after a big rain, there were no puddles. Children of all ages were playing all kinds of fun things available for kampers: miniature golf, basketball, tetherball, an arcade as complete as any fair, a large and lovely swimming pool, and shopping for a variety of novelties in the office store.


As soon as we had set up beneath the huge and ancient trees, we hurried to rent a two-seat fiberglass canoe (just $8 for an hour) to enjoy a peaceful, leisurely respite on the wide, gentle creek. What a great way to end a long day of travel! The Kampground owners, Judith and John Durham, used to be restauranteers, and now, just for fun, they serve wonderful meals in their nostalgic cafe.
Remember When Diner" full of fifties and sixties memorabilia. They serve a large variety of choices including terrific hamburgers and milk shakes in the evening and delicious breakfasts for weekend Kampers, and anytime for groups who arrange this service when they reserve the group Kamping places. There are many programs of fun on special weekends, like Father's Day, and activities, crafts, games for all ages. At the end of September and on weekend through October they even have a Haunted House, “Creekside Manor,” which you can see as you enter the Kampground (not very attractive in other times of the year, but loads of Halloween fun!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrails40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The owners were very hospitable to my family and I. They helped us get directions to the nearby Antiedam National Battlefield. During Octorber, they have a haunted house for those who love them. This Battlefield is a great place for historians and others to visit. The park rangers tell you about the historical battle that took place there and there is a little movie that visitors can watch before going out to explore this wonderful battlefield.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L22A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Tell them if you need a large site! We. were initially assigned to a spot too small for our slide-out, but the staff and mgt re-assigned us to a great spot with a wooden bi-level deck, covered swing, large fireplace and picnic table. Cute little store and very relaxing atmosphere. Brown muddy river at the base of the campground is interesting. There is a good snackbar, pool, and doggie playground. Some sites are narrow, so call ahead and make sure you say how much width u need as well as length.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nahladog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamsport
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
#7 of 21 in Hagerstown
280 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
755 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hagerstown - Williamsport, MD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hagerstown / Antietam Battlefield KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagerstown / Antietam Battlefield KOA

Property: Hagerstown / Antietam Battlefield KOA
Address: 11759 Snug Harbor Ln, Williamsport, MD 21795-3153
Location: United States > Maryland > Williamsport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Williamsport
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing