We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Whitehaven Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitehaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Whitehaven Hotel B&B is a gem hidden on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, about 1/2 an hour away from Salisbury. It is on the Wicomico River in the historic town of Whitehaven, which boasts having the oldest publicly operated ferry in the nation. The town also features a one-room schoolhouse and a small church. There's also a plantation mansion that is a private home. This is an excellent place to go if you literally want to get away from it all. There is little to do there except relax, although if you're feeling energetic, you can kayak, walk, or bike. The water and the landscape are both flat, perfect for almost everyone. Cell service is spotty. There are books and games available for guests.

The hotel itself is circa 1810. Filled with antiques, its welcoming common areas, intriguing hallways, and beautifully decorated guest rooms are a delight to the eye and the mind. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths!) and the pretty marsh and river scenery make it a perfect place for small family reunions, weddings, and the like. How cool would it be to take over the entire hotel??? One of my favorite things about the hotel is that it feels truly homey. It's not stuffy in the least.

The innkeeper Cindy is super sweet and helpful, but allows guests to enjoy themselves by themselves. Assistant innkeeper Jefferson is a treasure trove of local history. There is a small shop on premises that sells local art.

As is common, check in is greeted with wine and cheese, but the portions of both and the quality and variety of the snacks is better than is common. Breakfast is always gourmet delicious and beautifully presented, as are the occasional dinner events. Dinner out is more common, and there are a few decent choices within 30 minutes: The Red Roost (crab house plus) in Muddy Hole (yes, Muddy Hole), Boonies (great crab imperial) in Tyaskin, and Peaky's in Princess Anne (known for their fried chicken). The latter requires a ride across the ferry (and probably GPS), so be sure to check the ferry's operating hours, or a ride back to Salisbury and back down might be necessary. Salisbury has many chain and a few local restaurants.

The Whitehaven Hotel is truly a haven!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeehooya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in this beautifully restored Hotel in Whitehaven, Maryland. It is located on the riverfront Eastern Shore village at the Whitehaven ferry, minutes from the Chesapeake Bay. The Hotel, now one of the last of its kind, provided lodging for travelers crossing the Wicomico by horse to Quantico, Salisbury and Princess Anne and by steamship to ports as far as Baltimore. You can spend a quiet day on the porch watching the last operating ferry in Maryland shuttle vehicles across the Wicomico River, or do like we did and kayak the river and explore the surrounding beauty of this waterway. When the ferry stops running (sometime around 8pm) there are very few cars coming and going since there is no place for them to go but the little town of Whitehaven (approximately 20 homes).
We met several very friendly and interesting couples during our stay. The food was also excellent.

Room Tip: The Garden room has shared access to a screened porch overlooking the marsh and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is one of the most 'American 19th century' buildings I have ever seen, looks straight out of a western movie, without the dust and cowboys, but set in the country by a river.
Inside you get the very warm and friendly welcome of your host and a fully restored for todays travellers hotel on the banks of the Wicomico river near Salisbury, Maryland.
Boat anchorage available or access by road but well off the main roads and absolutely peaceful and relaxing. Local ferry running since 1600's still connect across the river.
There is not a lot else around so don't expect entertainment rather just sit back and relax, have a drink and reads a book etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed New Year's Eve at the Whitehaven Hotel. Jefferson showed us to our room and talked about the history of the hotel, which was built to accomodate steamboat travellers. We stayed in the Victorian room, which was beautifully and comfortably furnished. It had a bay window and it overlooked the Wicomico River and we watched the ferry take cars back and forth across the river. We also enjoyed having a fire in the fireplace. The gourmet breakfast was delicious and served by the Innkeeper, Cindy, who was very friendly and chatted with us. The place had an amazing historic feel, which I just loved. We live on the Eastern Shore and it was a nice getaway. We would go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian Room, but also saw the Federal Room and it was very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you want a pwefect quite eastern shore getaway this is a unique spot. At the edge of a beautiful isolated town on the river this spot gives you a sense of how the shore use to be. You can take walks, bird, bike, kayak, or just read in a big rocker on the porch. Easy acces to local spots and swimming holes.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylandfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is our third trip to stay at Whitehaven Hotel. It really is a beautiful, relaxing place. Cindy, the innkeeper, makes us feel comfortable - like we have known her forever! Jefferson is a pleasure to talk to in the morning. From the very first stay, it quickly became a favorite place for us to go to relax. The breakfast is absolutely fabulous! The wine, fruit, cheese and crackers in the afternoon is refreshing. We love the Victorian room with the alcove that overlooks the Wicomico River and the ferry. We have made some new friends at Whitehaven and have already reserved our room for next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our stay at The White Haven Hotel was very hospitable, relaxing and most comfortable. The atmosphere is quiet... peaceful and the hotel is clean and comfortable. It was a great way to begin our summer vacation. We stayed in the Loft at the very top! Cool Cool Cool

Ms. Cindy, the hotel's innkeeper, is a gracious host and thought of our evey need, including bandaids and advice on how to avoid local insects like chiggers. She kept us well feed in between meals with healthy snacks and plenty of fresh water. Her breakfast meals were a big hit both with my friend who enjoys gourmet and with our boys who like the normal stuff. In the evenings she prepared wine, homemade lemonade and surprise treats. She even cooked homemade brownies for my boys. Wow!

At the hotel, we took advantage of the water with kayaking and enjoyed navigating through the narrow passage ways. We were able to get up close up to Terapin Turltes and many water fowl. The dock was a great place to just "listen" and nap as the noises of nature passed by and the scent of the water filled our noses. It was also a great spot for my outdoor yoga. In addition, our bike rides and walks were uninterrupted as the local road ways were not busy. It was very relaxing.

We were made very welcome by local friends of the hotel who stopped by to chat and help out.
Near by we visited the local herbalist to try home grown teas and enjoyed our rides on the ferry.

We can not wait to come down again and highly recommend this hotel under it's current management.

Sincerely,
Sarah

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eplumboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehaven Hotel

Address: 2685 Whitehaven Rd, Whitehaven, MD 21856-2504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehaven Hotel is a beautifully restored, historical Bed & Breakfast nestled on the Wicomico River with two docks for visiting boaters and sits beside a 300 year old Ferry (said to be the oldest in the Continental United States). It is a scenic 20 minute ride to Salisbury, Princess Anne or 45 min. ride to the Maryland beaches, but "who needs beaches with our views" and Maryland crabs waiting to be opened and savored only a few minutes down the road. The Whitehaven Hotel provides kayaks and bikes for its guests, I might add that the kayaking is unique with many vistas and waters ways to investigate, while our property is a sanctuary for birds. On any given day you may see eagles, osprey, purple martins, heron, hawks, red winged black birds, humming birds and many more species. It's a gem of a find. Our motto "Enter as Guests and leave as Friends." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing