We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Quite Getaway Close to Baltimore & DC”
Review of Whitehaven Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitehaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Joppatowne, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely Quite Getaway Close to Baltimore & DC”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in this beautifully restored Hotel in Whitehaven, Maryland. It is located on the riverfront Eastern Shore village at the Whitehaven ferry, minutes from the Chesapeake Bay. The Hotel, now one of the last of its kind, provided lodging for travelers crossing the Wicomico by horse to Quantico, Salisbury and Princess Anne and by steamship to ports as far as Baltimore. You can spend a quiet day on the porch watching the last operating ferry in Maryland shuttle vehicles across the Wicomico River, or do like we did and kayak the river and explore the surrounding beauty of this waterway. When the ferry stops running (sometime around 8pm) there are very few cars coming and going since there is no place for them to go but the little town of Whitehaven (approximately 20 homes).
We met several very friendly and interesting couples during our stay. The food was also excellent.

Room Tip: The Garden room has shared access to a screened porch overlooking the marsh and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is one of the most 'American 19th century' buildings I have ever seen, looks straight out of a western movie, without the dust and cowboys, but set in the country by a river.
Inside you get the very warm and friendly welcome of your host and a fully restored for todays travellers hotel on the banks of the Wicomico river near Salisbury, Maryland.
Boat anchorage available or access by road but well off the main roads and absolutely peaceful and relaxing. Local ferry running since 1600's still connect across the river.
There is not a lot else around so don't expect entertainment rather just sit back and relax, have a drink and reads a book etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbackville, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed New Year's Eve at the Whitehaven Hotel. Jefferson showed us to our room and talked about the history of the hotel, which was built to accomodate steamboat travellers. We stayed in the Victorian room, which was beautifully and comfortably furnished. It had a bay window and it overlooked the Wicomico River and we watched the ferry take cars back and forth across the river. We also enjoyed having a fire in the fireplace. The gourmet breakfast was delicious and served by the Innkeeper, Cindy, who was very friendly and chatted with us. The place had an amazing historic feel, which I just loved. We live on the Eastern Shore and it was a nice getaway. We would go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian Room, but also saw the Federal Room and it was very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you want a pwefect quite eastern shore getaway this is a unique spot. At the edge of a beautiful isolated town on the river this spot gives you a sense of how the shore use to be. You can take walks, bird, bike, kayak, or just read in a big rocker on the porch. Easy acces to local spots and swimming holes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylandfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is our third trip to stay at Whitehaven Hotel. It really is a beautiful, relaxing place. Cindy, the innkeeper, makes us feel comfortable - like we have known her forever! Jefferson is a pleasure to talk to in the morning. From the very first stay, it quickly became a favorite place for us to go to relax. The breakfast is absolutely fabulous! The wine, fruit, cheese and crackers in the afternoon is refreshing. We love the Victorian room with the alcove that overlooks the Wicomico River and the ferry. We have made some new friends at Whitehaven and have already reserved our room for next year!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our stay at The White Haven Hotel was very hospitable, relaxing and most comfortable. The atmosphere is quiet... peaceful and the hotel is clean and comfortable. It was a great way to begin our summer vacation. We stayed in the Loft at the very top! Cool Cool Cool

Ms. Cindy, the hotel's innkeeper, is a gracious host and thought of our evey need, including bandaids and advice on how to avoid local insects like chiggers. She kept us well feed in between meals with healthy snacks and plenty of fresh water. Her breakfast meals were a big hit both with my friend who enjoys gourmet and with our boys who like the normal stuff. In the evenings she prepared wine, homemade lemonade and surprise treats. She even cooked homemade brownies for my boys. Wow!

At the hotel, we took advantage of the water with kayaking and enjoyed navigating through the narrow passage ways. We were able to get up close up to Terapin Turltes and many water fowl. The dock was a great place to just "listen" and nap as the noises of nature passed by and the scent of the water filled our noses. It was also a great spot for my outdoor yoga. In addition, our bike rides and walks were uninterrupted as the local road ways were not busy. It was very relaxing.

We were made very welcome by local friends of the hotel who stopped by to chat and help out.
Near by we visited the local herbalist to try home grown teas and enjoyed our rides on the ferry.

We can not wait to come down again and highly recommend this hotel under it's current management.

Sincerely,
Sarah

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eplumboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest HIll, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently stayed at The Whitehaven Hotel for a weekend. We had a late, late check in time, but made arrangements with the innkeeper, Cindy, ahead of time and she had everything arranged for us when we arrived at 2 am. We stayed in the Lincoln room - which was gorgeous. It had it's own bath with a claw footed tub and shower and it also had a small kitchen (which we really didn't use much). Our breakfasts were delish and were different each day. (Contrary to another post, our first breakfast was eggs, bacon and hash browns with a bread basket. No sweets on our plates.) The second day was delicious french toast with a crumb topping. I have never had french toast like that. The view is amazing and the area is quiet, full of nature and lots of opportunities for relaxing. The inn is full of antiques and other collectables. We had trouble going to bed the first night after our late arrival as we wanted to wander around to look at all the little things around. We traveled about 40 minutes for day trips to Crisfield. There are lots of close daytrips available. When we returned to the inn, there was a small spread of wine, sangria, cheese, fruit and cookies. Someone did come into our room and straighten up, empty the trash and restock our towels. We didn't expect this, but it was a nice touch.

We booked a stay in this hotel for our trip to Crisfield, MD. I couldn't find a hotel in Crisfield that looked acceptable to me. I actually looked for a hotel in Salsibury with the intention of driving back and forth to Crisfield. In fact, the Whitehaven Hotel was a few minutes closer and was actually the same price as the Holiday Inn Express in Salisbury. With a better breakfast and way better atmosphere, we made the right choice!

We really wished we could have stayed an extra night to use the bikes and kayaks available at the inn. I think that would have been fun.

Honestly, the only thing I could think of to make this a better stay would be to add wi-fi. It would have been nice to look up things to do or places to eat on the internet. Of course, that may not be possible due to it's remote location.

All in all - a wonderful stay and we will be back. Thanks to Cindy for such a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank para522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salisbury/Fruitland
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Salisbury Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
15.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
12.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehaven Hotel

Property: Whitehaven Hotel
Address: 2685 Whitehaven Rd, Whitehaven, MD 21856-2504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehaven Hotel is a beautifully restored, historical Bed & Breakfast nestled on the Wicomico River with two docks for visiting boaters and sits beside a 300 year old Ferry (said to be the oldest in the Continental United States). It is a scenic 20 minute ride to Salisbury, Princess Anne or 45 min. ride to the Maryland beaches, but "who needs beaches with our views" and Maryland crabs waiting to be opened and savored only a few minutes down the road. The Whitehaven Hotel provides kayaks and bikes for its guests, I might add that the kayaking is unique with many vistas and waters ways to investigate, while our property is a sanctuary for birds. On any given day you may see eagles, osprey, purple martins, heron, hawks, red winged black birds, humming birds and many more species. It's a gem of a find. Our motto "Enter as Guests and leave as Friends." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing