We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dim sum east of San Francisco”

Hollywood East Cafe
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Wheaton
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dim sum east of San Francisco”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The roving dfim sum carts are if anything too fast and too abundant! Making decisions is difficult - everything looks and smells wonderful! Service friendly and caring for such a swift paced operation. My little dim sum gang comes here regularly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“From Best to Ordinary”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Used to be one of the best Chinese restaurants in the area. Closed for one year to open in a new venue. Very large restaurant. Owners lovely people and are usually found at the restaurant. Large weddings and celebrations are often celebrated here. But the food, which used to be excellent, is very ordinary now. Don't order only fried dishes! Vary them! Take your chances and see if you agree. Know for their major Sunday brunch of dim sum.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Where should I start.....This is a wonderful New York style Chinese restaurant in Wheaton Md. We are so thrilled to have found this gem . Hong Kong style food is almost obsolete in this Washington DC Area so finding this place is a treasure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delish Dim Sum on then Some...”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've eaten from the regular menu here for years but today was our first experience with Dim Sum. Can't wait to go back. The staff were very kind and welcoming. All the dumplings were first rate. The chicken ones were excellent and my husband loved the duck with vegetables choice. The spare ribs were also good, as were some egg shaped dumpling/buns that had a slightly sweet outer case with a savoury filling. Great combination taste. Don't pass up the Chinese broccoli with oyster sauce. It's a nice alternative to dumplings and good for you!! Noodles with beef are also very good. There's so much choice that it can be a little overwhelming. A good idea is to check the dim sum menu on line before you go so you can ask if there's something that catches your fancy. Several of the things we wanted to try were in the process of being steamed/cooked but the waiters remembered and brought them to us. We didn't try any of the steamed buns. We were too full. Parking was easy. We did make a reservation as it was Sunday (and we were using a coupon); it's definitely worth it as were seated pretty quickly. All in all, Hollywood East is certainly a place to try if you're visiting the DC area and enjoy seeing different neighborhoods. Wheaten is accessible on the Metro and a fun place to wander around to soak up different cultures, cuisines and ethnic stores.

Helpful?
Thank Deb U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Keep having the bill in my face!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Had lousy dim sum experience at China town in Washington DC, this by comparison is more authentic, it is not as good as what you get in London, New York or HK, but is close. The best dish for me is the egg custard tart.

However, the service is somewhat fall short of standard. One waitress kept asking me if we want to settle the bill, we have a party of 13, and was not even ready to go. This really annoys me. On top of that, I was not the organizer of this get together. It is for this reason that I give them a 2 star.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superlegalbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood East Cafe also viewed

Wheaton, Montgomery County
Wheaton, Montgomery County
 
Wheaton, Montgomery County
Wheaton, Montgomery County
 

Been to Hollywood East Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing