We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Whaley RV Resort & Campground
Nearby Hotels
Atlantic Hotel(Berlin)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bedtime Inn(Ocean City)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$127
$118
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Francis Scott Key Family Resort(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanic Motel(Ocean City)
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Lodge Hotel(Ocean City)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(Ocean City)
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Hotel(Ocean City)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
25
28
11
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
28
11
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrontier towncamp storeassateague islandbath housedog parkpark modelocean cityfellow camperschange machinepeace and quiethalloween weekenda queen size bedwild horsespicnic tableslaundry roommini golfcamp ground
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 73 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family (me, hubby, and 2 boys) camped at FW August 9-14. Our site was large enough for our big tent and canopy; however, our friends were on sites that were significantly smaller and were frustrated. It rained the first night -- a huge T-storm flooded our friend's tent. Fortunately, they were able to join us for the night. And even though we remained dry we got in our SUV for a while because I was concerned about the lightening given that we were under trees. We walked through 5-6 inches of rain water. The good news was that once worst of the storm passed we were fine.

The showers were a huge NEGATIVE. The water barely got hot enough and we had to keep hitting the button to make the water stay on. As a positive, I will say that the bathrooms were kept clean.

Our kids went swimming one night but the pool is very small. We did not try the free putt-putt but the grounds did not look well kept.

The store was well stocked and we enjoyed ice cream one night. The WIFI never worked for us. My hubby used the laundromat and found that the machines were exceptionally old and the room bug infested. Three nights later we went to Frontier Town to use the laundromat and discovered that it was much better, ventilatted, and bug free.

The staff was friendly and they had plenty of planned activities for the kids. The location of FW is great. We went to OC, Assateague Island, and even Cape May in NJ.

We took advantage of the water park at frontier town (twice) and had a wonderful time.

Fort Whaley was not awful but I think we will stay at Frontier Town next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhaleyMktg, Public Relations Manager at Fort Whaley RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Howdy! Thank you for taking the time to review our campground. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the location, on-site activities, and the free admission at Frontier Town's Water Park. Since your stay we've acquired 5 major Wi-Fi hotspots and are currently working on improving the bandwidth throughout the entire campground. We hope we'll see you return in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This campground is subject to flash flood. We had an horrible experience. Camping staff was unusefull and customer service very bad. WIFI is not operationnal most of the time. Had to endure a cold shower because they were out of propane. Camping owner still rents those sites full price even though they know you could damage your equipment. We had over 3 feet of water!!! This photo was taken in another sites, some had a lot more water!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Happy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a bare bones cabin. There were 6 of us and we never felt cramped. The bath houses were probably the cleanest I've ever seen. They were cleaned several times a day and we never had a problem with waiting for a shower.

I went to the office a few times to ask a question and each time the staff was busy on the phone. I feel like that could be an issue if you have problems during your stay that need to be addressed. The lady in the camp store was very friendly and helpful.

We never had to wait on the shuttle to the beach and it was nice not to have to drive and park in ocean city traffic.

We also spent a day at Assateague Island and that was a wonderful beach experience. Less crowded and ponies on the beach.

The campground itself was well maintained and they offered some fun activities for the kids daily. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLong1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhaleyMktg, Public Relations Manager at Fort Whaley RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Howdy! Thank you for taking the time to review our campground. We're happy to hear that your family of 6 enjoyed the cabin, planned activities, and free beach shuttle. Those wild ponies in Assateague are really something to see! We hope you all will come back to camp with us in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were having a great time... Rains came, after 2 1/2 hours listening to rain on our popup roof went to get some dinner - came back to water up to our axle! Completely surrounded by knee deep water - most of A and B loop except some sites on the road completely flooded. In the office - was told it happened three weeks before as well. Office more concerned for where to put the incoming - not in getting us out! They need to notify people - what if it had been the middle of the night. No comp for our hotel that night. We have a lot to be grateful for - campground management was not one of them. Simple contingency plan - texting of campers when a flash flood warning is issued would have saved us a lot of grief.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This campground is terrific. Much smaller than the others we've stayed at but definitely doable. We couldn't believe how clean the campground is either. Sites are a nice size too. Also one of the quietest campgrounds we've ever stayed at. A great location just 15 minutes from Ocean City and the boardwalk. Great location to Assategue Island (15 minutes away). You also get to use the water park at Frontiertown. We actually visited Frontiertown to see if we would stay there since it came recommended to us, but we won't; a lot more crowded than Fort Whaley. The only negatives I have about Fort Whaley are: water pressure at the site was very minimal and the laundry machines need to be updated. The bath house was very big and clean. The pool is a nice size BUT PLEASE DO NOT ALLOW PEOPLE TO SMOKE!!! I would definitely go back to Fort Whaley!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milfordsmith155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhaleyMktg, Public Relations Manager at Fort Whaley RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Howdy! Thank you for taking the time to review our campground. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness, peaceful surroundings, and proximity to both Ocean City and Assateague Island. We hope you'll be back to visit in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews