We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boston Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Ogdensburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dump!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

You are better off sleeping in your car! The rooms are nasty and the beds are the size of a childs bed. Lots of rift raff staying there,people knocking on your door for a cig and change.The room have not been updated,

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jburd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
I am sorry that your stay was unpleasant. We have never had any problems with "riff raff" on our property. There is always someone at our front desk 24 hours a day and if a guest ever has a problem they can call to the office and we will take care of it. As far as our bedding goes, our smallest beds that we offer our are double extra long mattress'. We have recently renovated several of our rooms and have upgraded 10 rooms to king size sleep number beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    21
    4
    17
See reviews for
19
15
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We've stayed at the Boston Inn several times. The rooms are recently remodeled, with micro-fridge, large screen TV, etc in each room. The beds are quite comfortable.

Our most recent stay was over the Christmas holiday, while we visited family. It is conveniently located for easy access to Baltimore, and nearby are many restaurants and shopping malls.

It was very cold during our stay, but the heating system in the room was amazing! It was evenly warm throughout.

The staff are all very pleasant, and the rooms are always spotless.

This is a family-run, vintage style motel, with spacious well maintained lawn, swimming pool, and large rooms.

We will most definitely be staying here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Whenever I am in town this is where I stay!! The Boston Inn is a part of Westminster history. This a family owned hotel that has been serving the community and it's many travelers for almost 50 years. Customer service is there number one priority!! Very friendly and out going staff always willing to help!! Very clean and comfortable rooms. The price is unbeatable. Perfect location close to read tyrants an local attractions. I have been staying at the Boston Inn for many years now and I plan on continuing to do so for many years to come. I highly recommend this pet friendly, cozy and comfortable hotel to anyone passing through the Westminster area!! Hope your stay is as enjoyable as ours have been!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aridgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First off, I choose this hotel because of the price since I'm not visiting a spot for it's hotel. Has a microwave, tv, work desk, table, two bed stands, and uniquely a dell computer. (bolted down)
You basically park right in front of the door, walk in and watch tv/go to sleep. Good for a stable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed at Boson Inn a couple times. The nice looking rooms are clean. Had refrigerator, hairdryer, iron, internet, flat screen TV with HBO. Motel desk help are helpful and nice to you. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oksana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was going to give them three stars because for what they are it seemed like a nice place. It's a budget hotel - old style motel where you park right outside the door. The room was an OK size and was clean. Queen size bed was fairly comfortable. There was no clock, but I'm used to that in a budget place. However when I went to get ice for my drink and discovered that they charge for ice my rating dropped dramatically.
They are very pet friendly, and the front office staff was very nice and friendly. However she and another employee were standing right in front of the door to the office smoking when I pulled up, so had no choice but to walk through the lingering smoke to get into the office.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnitchsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Unfortunatly we have an older ice machine that does take a quarter for ice but it has been disabled for several years and the ice is free. The quarter slot is still on the machine and does make it appear that it costs for ice but it has been disabled and should have had a sign on it stating ice was free but it could have fell off or been removed by someone and we were not aware. We would hate to loose a customer over .25 cents and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westminster hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For the most part, the room was cleaner than I thought it would be. But the room smelt musty, it was dingy and very outdated. The computer didn't work, & the computer wouldn't play DVDs... I realized that after I had just bought 2 red boxes so that was a bummer. I didn't feel safe. There were a lot of sketchy people who also stayed and they would stay outside until like 1 in the morning on their phones, being disrespectful and if you came out of your room they would stare at you. Walls were very thin. Heard a couple having very loud sex next door. Staff gave me a weird vibe, since I'm so young, they kind of treated me like I was some kind of deviant. But long story short, staying there a night or two wouldn't hurt anybody, good price, but I would have much rathered stayed at another near by hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten9407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westminster
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Westminster
Days Inn Westminster
#2 of 4 in Westminster
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Owings Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 3 in Owings Mills
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inn At Norwood
Inn At Norwood
#1 of 1 in Sykesville
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/Owings Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Inn

Property: Boston Inn
Address: 533 Baltimore Blvd, Westminster, MD 21157
Location: United States > Maryland > Westminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boston Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1960's as lee's motel the hotel was the only hotel in the area. Starting out as only 20 rooms we have grown over the years to a 118 room property with a large outdoor swimming pool. The hotel was bought in 1992 and the name was changed to the Boston Inn. Many changes have been made through out the years to keep up with the modern times but the property still keeps its older "traditional" mom and pop Inn feel. We recently added LCD HD T.V's to all our rooms as well as a Dell desktop computer and free wireless internet through out the property.Very convenient to McDaniel College, Carroll County Farm Museum, Carroll County Ag Center, and Union Mills Homestead. We are about 30 minutes from Owings Mills, Reisterstown, and Frederick, and about 45 minutes from Baltimore, and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Westminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing