We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charge for Ice!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Boston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boston Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charge for Ice!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was going to give them three stars because for what they are it seemed like a nice place. It's a budget hotel - old style motel where you park right outside the door. The room was an OK size and was clean. Queen size bed was fairly comfortable. There was no clock, but I'm used to that in a budget place. However when I went to get ice for my drink and discovered that they charge for ice my rating dropped dramatically.
They are very pet friendly, and the front office staff was very nice and friendly. However she and another employee were standing right in front of the door to the office smoking when I pulled up, so had no choice but to walk through the lingering smoke to get into the office.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnitchsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Unfortunatly we have an older ice machine that does take a quarter for ice but it has been disabled for several years and the ice is free. The quarter slot is still on the machine and does make it appear that it costs for ice but it has been disabled and should have had a sign on it stating ice was free but it could have fell off or been removed by someone and we were not aware. We would hate to loose a customer over .25 cents and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    25
    7
    25
See reviews for
31
23
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

For the most part, the room was cleaner than I thought it would be. But the room smelt musty, it was dingy and very outdated. The computer didn't work, & the computer wouldn't play DVDs... I realized that after I had just bought 2 red boxes so that was a bummer. I didn't feel safe. There were a lot of sketchy people who also stayed and they would stay outside until like 1 in the morning on their phones, being disrespectful and if you came out of your room they would stare at you. Walls were very thin. Heard a couple having very loud sex next door. Staff gave me a weird vibe, since I'm so young, they kind of treated me like I was some kind of deviant. But long story short, staying there a night or two wouldn't hurt anybody, good price, but I would have much rathered stayed at another near by hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten9407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Boston Inn in Westminster Maryland is a quiet and pleasant motel.

Started in 1962, it still retains its vintage atmostphere, but with recently updated rooms including HD TVs, free Wi-Fi and computer, and micro-fridge. The hotel also has a pool and large, nicely manicured lawn. It is pet-friendly as well.

The hotel is conveniently located to Baltimore and even Washington DC for Orioles and Ravens games, historic sites such as Gettysburg, Ft McHenry, etc. Westminster has many restaurants and shopping areas, many near the hotel. It also has a number of businesses, Horse Estates, and lovely, rolling hills farmland.

Our rooms have always been spotless and well-kept. The room-rate makes it a great bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very good Budget Motel in the center of Westminster. The room was large, clean and the free Wi Fi was fast enough for a vacation traveler. The office had free coffee and donuts for breakfast and the office staff were helpful and friendly. Only comment was the absence of small shampoo bottles and the soap pads were small but this can be expected in a budget motel. They also give a AAA and AARP discount resulting in a very affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruttoPorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Room smelt awful and bathroom was gross. Not recommended unless you are in a jam and don't need to be there much. At least it was quiet enough even with a ton of dogs in town. Some of the rooms are worse than others, but everything I owned smelled terrible after staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are very sorry you had a bad experience at our facility. We wish you would have came and spoke with us so that we could have tried and corrected the situation and made your stay more enjoyable. We are a family owned and operated property that has been in business for over 20 years and take great pride in our property. We may be an older property that does not have all the modern updates as some of our competitors but we do strive in keeping our property clean and well maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westminster hotels

Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

WE stayed here in the middle of a bad storm.... the room was small,clean and safe..
The room was cheap in price and we got just what you expect from a cheap motel.
The people are nice and helpful.
We payed 59.00 tax and all...

Room Tip: We stayed in a room beside the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarandspice5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Boston Inn with my small children several times. This will be the last. The owner Aimee is very rude. Housekeepers are very lazy and never want to clean your room. And if you complain to the owner she will always side with the staff. The rooms are NOT clean. I have found roaches on several occassions. Matressess are stand. bedding had cigarette burns in it.The rooms smell funny and musty. It actually smells like mold. I have found mold in a couple of rooms. Dottie will only help you if you are a man. If your anyone else dont expect alot of anything. The carpets are gross and damp. Which makes me concerned for a serious mold problem. In fact Carroll County is FULL of TOXIC MOLD. If you had ever been here and developed any health issues or become sick or had headaches thats why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It is unfortunate in instances like this that the internet is available for anyone to post whatever they want. Our hotel has been family owned and operated for over 20 years. We take great pride in providing a clean affordable room for our guests. Our rooms have never had any mold issues and are inspected every day by house keeping if they are rented or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westminster
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Westminster
Days Inn Westminster
#2 of 4 in Westminster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 4 in Owings Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Owings Mills
22.4 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
22.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Inn

Property: Boston Inn
Address: 533 Baltimore Blvd, Westminster, MD 21157
Location: United States > Maryland > Westminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boston Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1960's as lee's motel the hotel was the only hotel in the area. Starting out as only 20 rooms we have grown over the years to a 118 room property with a large outdoor swimming pool. The hotel was bought in 1992 and the name was changed to the Boston Inn. Many changes have been made through out the years to keep up with the modern times but the property still keeps its older "traditional" mom and pop Inn feel. We recently added LCD HD T.V's to all our rooms as well as a Dell desktop computer and free wireless internet through out the property.Very convenient to McDaniel College, Carroll County Farm Museum, Carroll County Ag Center, and Union Mills Homestead. We are about 30 minutes from Owings Mills, Reisterstown, and Frederick, and about 45 minutes from Baltimore, and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Boston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Westminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing