We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boston Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“smelly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Room smelt awful and bathroom was gross. Not recommended unless you are in a jam and don't need to be there much. At least it was quiet enough even with a ton of dogs in town. Some of the rooms are worse than others, but everything I owned smelled terrible after staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are very sorry you had a bad experience at our facility. We wish you would have came and spoke with us so that we could have tried and corrected the situation and made your stay more enjoyable. We are a family owned and operated property that has been in business for over 20 years and take great pride in our property. We may be an older property that does not have all the modern updates as some of our competitors but we do strive in keeping our property clean and well maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    21
    4
    17
See reviews for
19
15
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

WE stayed here in the middle of a bad storm.... the room was small,clean and safe..
The room was cheap in price and we got just what you expect from a cheap motel.
The people are nice and helpful.
We payed 59.00 tax and all...

Room Tip: We stayed in a room beside the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarandspice5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Boston Inn with my small children several times. This will be the last. The owner Aimee is very rude. Housekeepers are very lazy and never want to clean your room. And if you complain to the owner she will always side with the staff. The rooms are NOT clean. I have found roaches on several occassions. Matressess are stand. bedding had cigarette burns in it.The rooms smell funny and musty. It actually smells like mold. I have found mold in a couple of rooms. Dottie will only help you if you are a man. If your anyone else dont expect alot of anything. The carpets are gross and damp. Which makes me concerned for a serious mold problem. In fact Carroll County is FULL of TOXIC MOLD. If you had ever been here and developed any health issues or become sick or had headaches thats why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It is unfortunate in instances like this that the internet is available for anyone to post whatever they want. Our hotel has been family owned and operated for over 20 years. We take great pride in providing a clean affordable room for our guests. Our rooms have never had any mold issues and are inspected every day by house keeping if they are rented or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westminster hotels

Gloucester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had to come in to Westminster for a funeral. Reviewed virtual tour and thought the Boston Inn looked like a nice place to stay. Let me tell you in what ways it was NOT the place to stay-
-Room was not the one showed on the virtual tour. Where was that room?
-Room smelled terrible, had a musty basement smell. Carpets stained. Had to immediately go buy Lysol and Frebreeze from local store. Walls were dirty, bathroom door had a hole punched in it. Everything was outdated furniture, dirty carpet (afraid to walk around without shoes) and bathroom.
-My husband complained about the smell and was told to let them know about it by 11am the next day.
-Some of the electrical sockets did not work.
-Hot water handle in sink was broken.
-Fridge did not keep items cold.
-The first day my family was getting showered and ready for the viewing when the maid came. Explained we were getting ready. Later my husband went to ask for a trash bag and was told my the lady at the front desk "I can only give you one, next time let the maid in."
-No iron or ironing board in room. Was told by the maid only 'certain rooms' carry those, Had to go to the front desk and was given a small ironing board. (Good thing I brought my iron from home).
-There was different sections of this motel. I do not know where the rooms were that was shown on the website, maybe in a different section. Maybe because my family was from out of state that it would not matter where we would stay.
-This was a very sad and stressful time for our family. This stay made it worse. We ended up checking out 2 days early.
-This motel made you feel disgusting and dirty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
Take my advice and spend the extra money and stay at an alternative motel. I will never stay or recommend anyone ever stay.
-If I had more time I would have taken pictures to show with this review but was just glad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I just stayed there for one night and was quite pleased. Wonderful staff during check in and check out. Clean room and although I didn't need it, I appreciated the available washer and dryer. Loved the large flat-screen tv and the in-room computer/TV/DVD player. Also loved that the mouse and keyboard were wireless. On a main road and convenient to stores and restaurants. Again, very clean. I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Large, pleasant, very clean room, and appeared pretty new. Easy to locate and convenient for restaurants. Front desk personnel helpful, because vending machine was not working. Three night stay in late April, 2012. Pillows too plump for me, but I carried one with me (for autotrain) so did not ask for another. Husband was comfortable with the one provided. Rate very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McDanial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The room looked like it had just been painted - very clean, and the maid service was excellent. Furniture was outdated, but we had a flat screen tv. Grounds were clean and pretty, plentiful for walking the dogs - lots of trash recepticles. Shopping center just behind the inn,easy walk. Breakfast offered was packaged donuts and coffee, but better than nothing. Staff was friendly. Only issue was 4-lane Rte. 140 runs right in front of the inn, and there doesn't seem to be an escape from the road noise. Most of the rooms which would be quieter just have one double bed. Two doubles are on ground floor (great for the dogs) and kings with jacuzzis are on 2nd fl.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treeturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westminster
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Westminster
Days Inn Westminster
#2 of 4 in Westminster
3.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Owings Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 3 in Owings Mills
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inn At Norwood
Inn At Norwood
#1 of 1 in Sykesville
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/Owings Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Inn

Property: Boston Inn
Address: 533 Baltimore Blvd, Westminster, MD 21157-6101
Location: United States > Maryland > Westminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boston Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1960's as lee's motel the hotel was the only hotel in the area. Starting out as only 20 rooms we have grown over the years to a 118 room property with a large outdoor swimming pool. The hotel was bought in 1992 and the name was changed to the Boston Inn. Many changes have been made through out the years to keep up with the modern times but the property still keeps its older "traditional" mom and pop Inn feel. We recently added LCD HD T.V's to all our rooms as well as a Dell desktop computer and free wireless internet through out the property.Very convenient to McDaniel College, Carroll County Farm Museum, Carroll County Ag Center, and Union Mills Homestead. We are about 30 minutes from Owings Mills, Reisterstown, and Frederick, and about 45 minutes from Baltimore, and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Westminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing