We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grow old and die waiting for blah food.”
Review of Friendly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friendly's
Ranked #6 of 6 Dessert in Westminster
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Westminster, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Grow old and die waiting for blah food.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This Friendly's is so sad to me, because I have eaten at some good ones. I think everything they give you starts from the freezer, nothing tastes fresh. For the life of me, I cannot figure out what takes so long here either. The place is rarely "crowded", yet the food takes on average 40-ish minutes to come out. The waitstaff seems to be made up mostly of teenagers who are never happy to see you and always seem to depressed and bored. I think the management needs to take a serious look at the way things are operating here. In this economy, nobody is going to pay money for depressing service and long waits for horrible, luke warm food. There are plenty of other places to choose from. We only go here when the kids just BEG and BEG and they only do that for the ice cream. Also, it is so bright in there, you cannot feel comfortable, I feel like I am eating in a spotlight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheermom1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sykesville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“teenage staff”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Teenaged staff acted like they did not want to be there, food took a long time to come out. clam chowder was pretty good. management needs to work with staff

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rbelsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quick, Good & Satisfying”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

What's not to like about Friendly's? Burgers - they have them in all varieties. Salads - mine was an Oriental Chicken Salad that was great. And of course - ice cream and sundaes galore. They even had a special deal where you get a drink and a 3-scoop sundae for just $4 extra. And as if that wasn't enough, we took home 2 half gallons of Friendly's ice cream to put in our freezer. If you haven't been to Friendly's in a while, check out the one in Westminster, MD!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible service”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I recommend firing everyone and start over. Terrible people every time i go in. I've only gone in twice, and will not go back.

Helpful?
Thank nateroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stick to the ice cream!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

It is a well known fact that when you go into this Friendly's that half the staff is sitting in the corner goofing off and eating! If you have kids I'm sure it is great, because the food is bland and pre made. One time I went there was only one server waiting on all the tables and making all of the desserts. Your best bet is to stick to the ice cream!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing