We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of southern cooking, expect to wait for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carolina Kitchen

Carolina Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
baltimore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A taste of southern cooking, expect to wait for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were in the area and have heard good things about this restaurant, so we decided to give it a try. This was about 5:30 on a Thurs evening. We noticed they do a carry out business as well as dine in. Our names were taken and we were asked to sit and wait for about 10 min, but looking around there were many vacant tables, so we had difficulty wondering why such a wait. Finally seated at the table, another wait was about 5 min for the drink order to be taken, it was promptly served. The next wait was close to 15 min before a server finally came over and took our order, immediately before this I said to my husband: if no one comes to our table in the next few minutes we are leaving...this was just too long. The staff seems to enjoy leisurly engaging in conversation, leaving customers wondering what is going on. So on that note, they are disappointing. Once the server took the order it was soon filled, he was attentive. The food was generous in portions and generally good. My husband had the short ribs, homemade potato salad, and mac & cheese. I had the fried chicken, greens, and mac & cheese. All was really good, especially the mac & cheese-done to perfection. As stated, the service is slow even though they have enough serving staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Southern Home Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

There is nothing like a good southern home cooked meal after church on a Sunday afternoon. Especially one that you don't have to prepare yourself. I ordered the mac and cheese, collards, cabbage, pototo salad and apple pie. Everything was delicious. I will definitely dine here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkicapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been to Carolina Kitchen many times when I lived in DC. I've been gone for about a year and a half and went over labor day weekend. The food still tastes great. It isn't too salty or greasy and the service is excellent. Anybody wanting good quality soul food should visit this spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 301Traveler3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, NJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“the best mac and cheese EVER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We will definitely return here in the future (even if it's out of the way) to have the macaroni and cheese and fresh, homemade, delicious cornbread! The service was excellent and extremely polite!
Can't wait to go to the D.C. area to return here soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xraysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just like Momma's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Small and cozy place by a movie theater in MD. Went right at 11 o'clock and walked right in,my niece said it gets crowded quickly and it was in less than hour after we sat down. They have dinners with a choice of meat or fish with two vegetables and a corn muffin,various beverages, and desserts. I ordered fried whiting fish for $9.99, my niece and daughter ordered 2 pc chicken dinners . There is a higher cost for white meat($8.48) vs dark($7.79) and extra side of potato salad was $3.29. The drinks were $1.99 and cake was$4.79. However there were lots of choices and everything was delicious. The decor was eclectic with small tables scattered with tablecloths and very clean. Clean up is your responsibility and there is music to enjoy while you eat. Very enjoyable place to eat and everyone was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miviw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing