We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice about staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel North Baltimore
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I don't usually write online reviews because they take time and energy to login, but I felt that I had to say something about the staff at this hotel. When errors or problems arise, most of the hotels that I have stayed at do their best to fix the problem. Even though things went wrong or weren't perfect, the effort to fix the problems is much appreciated. Not only did the hotel staff not correct the problems in a timely fashion, they were rude and hostile towards our group and even caused a new bride to break down into tears on her wedding night. Only through her persistence and arguing did the hotel manager finally realize the errors that the hotel had made, but too bad it happened almost an hour later and after "ruining the evening". Unfortunately, the staff that evening including the manager was arrogant, passive aggressive, and not accommodating by any means. For anyone planning a special event at this hotel, I would highly recommend looking elsewhere, due to the staff/management at this hotel. The rooms, housekeeping, and food were average to above average, but their hospitality was despicable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartacus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

We have now recieved 10 reviews from the same wedding party concerning the bar. As we stated before, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 585 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed here for our friend's wedding, which was held nearby. The bride had reserved a block of over 40 rooms, and most, if not all of them had been filled by wedding guests. In anticipation of a continuing celebration with family and friends after the wedding reception was over, the bride negotiated ahead of time with the hotel staff to keep the hotel bar open until at least 1am.

After a great wedding ceremony and reception, my wife and I, along with dozens of other wedding guests, returned to the hotel to continue the festivities. To everyone's surprise, however, the hotel announced "last call" around midnight. Figuring the staff must have made a simple mistake, the bride herself, still in her wedding gown, went to sort things out. Shockingly, she was shown no respect and instead treated extremely rudely by the hotel staff. She was so upset that she burst into tears. On what should have been the best day of her life, she was driven to tears by unfriendly, uncaring, and unhelpful hotel staff.

If you are planning a special event and want to see your VIP's night end in tears, book this hotel. If not, take your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Thank you so much for your candid comments. We certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The hotel itself is fairly nice... Facilities are good. However, ...first off, the room itself was nice/spacious, but we had a running toilet and a dripping faucet along w/ some loud neighbors (not in our party) that together prevented me from getting any sleep at all. In addition, I was a part of the wedding party where the bride (who brought 40+ rooms of business there) was brought to tears on her wedding night by 2 incredibly rude food/beverage managers who not only tried to back out of a pre-arrangement to keep the bar open until 1:00 am, but were unbelievably rude/smug about it. In the morning, another employee informed us that it was hotel policy to keep the bar open past midnight if there were more than a couple people there (about 30 were there that night). So there appears to be a lack of communication between employees/managers or just a lack of implementing their supposed policies. Regardless, the end result was a very unimpressive stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravisThorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

We have viewed each of the 8 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The rooms were spacious but not well-kept. There were stains on the floor and the bathroom's shower caulking had to be redone. My husband and I are not smokers, but the hallway and room we stayed in smelled like smoke.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctingle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I was extremely disappointed and offended by the "service" at the hotel. Having worked in hospitality I appreciate good customer service, and sadly neither the bride celebrating her wedding day nor her guests received any. I'm not sure what possessed the manager to be so disgusting to a customer that brought them so much business, but her behavior was inexcusable. Rude and unprofessional do not even begin to describe their treatment. The experience at the hotel put a damper on what was otherwise a perfect wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opheliajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

We have viewed each of the 6 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

after staying here as part of a 40 room block, the managers were nothing but rude and mean. they lied to the bride and groom, and even reduced the bride to tears on here wedding night! despite promises to keep the bar open late for the guests because there were 3 groups there, they closed the bar early. it was an overall terrible experience and one i don't recommend to any bride or large group.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

We have viewed each of the 6 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I was also with the wedding group, and aside from the bar issue, the management and staff were unprofessional, unaware, and unaccomodating. Simple questions and requests were met with blank stares and "I'll have to ask a manager." And the managers were of little use. And really ... who makes a bride cry on her wedding day by going back on a promise? I was evacuated during the Nashville floods a few weeks ago and had better service at my shelter than this ... no joke. If you're looking for a competent staff that keeps their word and have basic people and business skills ... take yourself elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckimwooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmarsh, General Manager at Radisson Hotel North Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

We have viewed each of the 6 reviews posted to date by this wedding party. We would like to thank each of you for your candid comments. As we previously stated, we certainly understand how important and special a wedding night is. As a Crowne Plaza that routinely receives high praise for our dedication to go above and beyond for all our guests, we consider ourselves a partner in making our guests wedding night a dream come true.
That evening we did in fact keep the bar open until 1am, which was 1 hour after our contracted time of Midnight. We would have kept the bar open until 2am, unfortunately our Managers, Front Desk and Bar staff received an alarming number calls and complaints from other guest citing concern over inebriated individuals and elevated noise. Because so many members of the wedding party were bringing their own alcoholic beverages into the bar, the situation was quickly becoming uncontrollable. The decision was made to close the bar for the safety and comfort of everyone including the other guests in the hotel; therefore the bar was closed shortly after 1am.
Obviously we would have loved to sell drinks even later. In this case it was decided that in the best interest of all our guests’ happiness and safety that it was best to close the bar. Moving past the situation at the bar, we hope you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we wish you and the Bride and Groom the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timonium
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Timonium
Holiday Inn Timonium
#2 of 3 in Timonium
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore North - Timonium
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore North -...
#2 of 2 in Lutherville Timonium
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium
Extended Stay America - Baltimor...
#1 of 2 in Lutherville Timonium
86 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel North Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel North Baltimore

Address: 2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly North Baltimore Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Timonium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel North Baltimore 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our North Baltimore hotel off I-83 Explore a multitude of Maryland attractions and tourist areas from the conveniently located Radisson North Baltimore off I-83 and the Baltimore Beltway, featuring 249 newly renovated hotel rooms and suites. You can stay in shape with the fitness center, open 24 hours, or relax at the seasonal outdoor pool. Park free during your stay at the Radisson, also offering more than 20,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for wedding receptions and corporate meetings. A business center and free Wi-Fi make it easy to be productive if work brings you to Timonium in the North Baltimore area. Our hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the MTA Light Rail for easy access to Camden Yards, home of the Orioles baseball team, and M&T Bank Stadium, home of the NFL's Baltimore Ravens. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Hotel North Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Timonium
Crowne Plaza Hotel Timonium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing