We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Bluestone Seafood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Bluestone Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Timonium
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Business Park Drive
Timonium, MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went for dinner on a recent Friday evening. The place was crowded and pretty loud, they need better sound deadening. We both had the soups, which were small but very good. I had the Crisfield Stew ($23), which came in a huge bowl and was quite filling with excellent taste. I highly recommend this for value and quality. My wife, however, ordered the 5oz filet and "full size" crab cake. While the taste was good, the crab cake was very small and the vegetables were kind of sparse. That with a 5oz filet made for kind of a disappointingly small meal, especially for the high price ($32). We later found that there was an additional fish menu that the hostess neglected to give us. This had some better seafood selections that my wife might have chosen. Service was OK, but nothing special. One bright spot of our visit was the service at the bar. Michael, the bartender is quite entertaining as well as competent. He really adds character to the bar area. Overall, not a bad experience but, some things could have been better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MS1Timonium_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    109
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Local ...Fab Food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Bluestone Seafood Grill is in "my backyard" so to speak and because of this, it is not on my radar..However, with the Baltimore County Restaurant Week promotion, we recently dined at Bluestone and had a wonderful meal.. The space is wonderful, open and airy..lots of nooks and crannies too...We ate at one of the high top tables in the bar area. The chilean sea bass from the seafood market menu was delicious...the blue stone and the goat cheese salad both lovely. The filet mignon and crab cakes also ordered by others in our party, were prepared beautifully, served hot and seasoned well. Everyone enjoyed what was ordered. This is a great American style local restaurant. night and day from a national chain.. The chef sends out beautifully prepared dishes to be enjoyed in a nice atmosphere. Do go..you will enjoy it..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Below Average”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My Boyfriend and I had dinner there on Friday evening. We were giving a nice booth (private little corner) great seating. The restaurant itself very loud. Our server was okay not rude or anything just kind'a there. The food was okay nothing really that would have me come back here. I think this restaurant is over priced for a very small seafood menu. Not much on the menu for a "SEAFOOD" restaurant. Maybe do a dinner special with a different types of seafood. If there were dinner speicals we were not told about them. This would not be my 1st or 2nd choice in dining out ( if I want seafood).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NYE was great”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Had an awesome meal with another couple on NYE. Solid service and they sat us on time, which is something you don't always see on NYE.

Steak was nice and tender, crab cakes looked wholesome, and the chicken and fish entrees were excellent as well.

Helpful?
Thank SkiTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Not a bad meal on the menu,lump crab on green tomatoes Salmon is the Best very fresh. Very busy go early

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluestone Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bluestone Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing