We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Regular Hangout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Padonia Ale House - CLOSED

Padonia Ale House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Our Regular Hangout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

You will generally find my wife and I at "PS" almost every Tuesday and Sunday evenings. Tuesdays for the $11 crab cake with two sides; and Sundays for the half-price burgers! Love the "Linguini by the Bay" and the ribs are great too. Music and activities at night for the younger crowd, they help with charity events, they have free food buffet every night in the back bar. They have a raw bar and the back bar has pool tables, Golden Tee and other electronic games. Padonia Station is just an all around fun place. They have an outdoor area for smokers; they do carry-out; and a couple of private rooms are available for parties. Great place! Their bathrooms could use a good remodelling however! They do have a website and you can put yourself on their e-mail list for specials and special events.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skipreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
325 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We visited Padonia Station for dinner and it was good. The Maryland Crab Cake sandwich was particularly tasty. The restaurant is separate from the bar which sports a stage for music acts and several pool tables. It was a nice place to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moved2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Used to be 5 - 10 years ago, but going back to my old post college standby was a letdown.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I arrived hear with family in hopes that some of the old memories of great food, lots of beer, and a great atmosphere would be in store. The menu is very large and hard to tell what is their specialty. It's a lot of bar food (wings, fries, burgers, chicken fingers, etc.), but they also have oddities such as crabcakes and what I would consider real entrees such as steak, pasta, etc. perhaps they should narrow it down and work on making things right. The chili was pretty good, but not great. Wings were tasty, but over cooked. Perhaps they were cooked and then reheated in the oil? Whatever method, they were tough. Next up was the southwest eggroll. They can be described as greasy heartburn. Bladtly, the double r chicken sandwich (and a burger version another party member had) lacked any real taste and had gobs of cheese and a terrible BBQ sauce. Beers were good, but the waitress didn't know what was in tap. I asked for a dark beer that wasn't a stout and she said, "how about a yuengling.". Wow - that's a dark beer?i won't be going back here anytime soon. There were games on and not many people. Hopefully they get their act together and go back a ways to when the food was better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Padonia station is a great place to meet friends and has great food to match the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vipers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
468 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Go for the beer & the socializing....but not the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

So - I had dinner here the other day upon recommendation.

I was looking for a place to meet an old friend from college, now living in Arizona..

I was starved, so trying to showcase what Maryland is known for, we order an appetizer of: Crab Dip. Mistake! More like melted cheese with a bit of dip. The dip wan't so bad, but it couldn't be tasted through the slathering of melted cheese. Needs to be thickened up.

Next came the main course. She had the BBQ rib special. Not great, but not bad.

I had the Chicken Chesapeake Dinner w/ mashed potatoes & caesar salad. Again with the cheese. The chicken was good, but woud have been better if it were grilled - and once again, I had to scrape the layer of cheese off to get to the chicken.
The mashed potatoes were blah - no flavor.
And the side casaer was saturate in dressing. I usually like more dressing than the average patron, but evn this was too much. No croutons, No anchovie sauce.

I think they need to take some lessons from Gordon Ramsey on how to simplify a menu, reduce the sauces, and enable the patron to actually tase it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padonia Ale House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing