We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a destination restaurant at Tilghman”

Characters Bridge Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Tilghman
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have eaten at the Bridge twice since the new owner took over. The service has been very good and friendly. The food is fantastic! Try the steamed mussels with arugula and bleu cheese. It was so good, I wanted to jump in the platter with the mussels! We also enjoyed the crab pretzel, crab dip, calamari, tomato caprese, and stuffed rock fish. I've heard the hamburgers are amazing. Top that off with a great spot on Knapps Narrows watching the bridge go up and down!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kateinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped into Characters this weekend for dinner and drinks. The bartenders were engaging and super outgoing, the dock spot with the tiki bar was incredibly fun and the burgers, wings and food hit the spot! Check this spot out next time you are here!

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cjskilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Last Monday, July 22nd, we visited the Characters Bridge Restaurant mainly because of their add in the Star Democarat featuring $1.00 crabs! Having just finish playing golf we were ready for some crabs. The crabs as we expected were very small, but were very good! My wife had a crab cake platter which she said was good, not great... My friend had never had crabs before and did not enjoy the work, mess, for such a small amount of meat. We tried to explain the culture and history of enjoying the effort, but he then ordered an soft shell crab and did not care for that as well. We suggested he ordered a lobster or chicken as he just did not get it.

The service was very slow, and they were not very busy the first hour we were there and had to wait quit a while for the first two dozen crabs we ordered. All in all, with the views, crabs while small were very tasty, they were worth the wait, and the price was fantastic...

We will go back again and suggest if you are willing to work thru the small sizes, it is worth the effort.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

These people have no idea how to run a restaurant! I don't have time or inclination to run through the catalogue of disasters but read the other reviews here and you will get my drift...

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wayward-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We found the new owners of the Bridge to be very accommodating and friendly to our group of 13 which included 3 children. I made the reservation in the morning and they were ready and waiting for us when we arrived. Service was good, but our waitress seemed stressed like she was trying so hard to please us. Can't complain about that ... may have been new? The Rockfish Bites appetizer was a big hit and everyone loved them. One person got the special which was half a lobster with crab imperial and she liked it. They actually cut the lobster in half and you got half the lobster and one claw. Many got the stuffed rockfish and all seemed to think it was very good and moist & flakey. I got the shrimp fra diablo over linguine in a red cream sauce. It was delicious but very spicy - a little more spicy than I would have liked. However, I did eat all of it with a few breaks in between and would definitely order it again but request not as spicy. It was 2 people's birthday so they brought out 2 large slices of a decadent chocolate cake with candles and sang happy birthday to them. Highly recommend anyone try them for lunch or dinner. Hope they can make a go of it as they were not crowded.... but then again Tilghman is a quiet little town even when you are on vacation.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PasadenaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Characters Bridge Restaurant also viewed

Tilghman, Talbot County
Tilghman, Talbot County
 
Tilghman, Talbot County
 

Been to Characters Bridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing