We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A World Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Walnut Point Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 5 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A World Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There is no place quite like this anywhere. Tracy and Bob both welcomed us with enthusiasm and made us feel right at home immediately. We were quick to go have dinner and come back to enjoy the grounds and watch the sunset over the water from one of the many hammocks, cocktails in hand. Then we swam in the dark, floating on our backs, watching the clear sky full of stars. The next morning, I wandered the grounds and ate from their raspberry bushes before a hearty homecooked breakfast. Our stay was too short! It felt like visiting an old family estate where you are welcome in every corner with every comfort from games to books to musical instruments, plenty of antiques to enjoy, and a fridge with snacks and drinks to raid when you get the midnight munchies. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    56
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
229
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Black Walnut Point Inn became our home away from home for four amazing days over Labor Day weekend 2013. Surrounded by water on three sides, the BWPI sits on the southern most point of Tilghman Island. You can literally watch the sunrise on the east side of the peninsula and the sun set on the west. We stayed in one of the rustic cozy water front cabins that is nestled between the main house bed and breakfast and the water. The cabins have AC, a cute kitchen with all the basic necessities (pots, pans & utensils), fridge, microwave, electric stove and oven, dishwasher, TV, gas log fireplace and a wonderful screened in porch with rocking chairs. Sitting on the porch with the bay breeze...it doesn't get much better than that.
Breakfast is delish and is served daily by the fabulous inn-keepers who are artists at hospitality. During the day we wandered the property - viewed birds, swung in hammocks and swam in the in-ground pool. Hopping into the hot tub was a perfect end to the day! We both accomplished a level of relaxation rarely achieved and were truly sad when we left. BUT...booked the next trip for weekend in October.
We didn't need to leave! And that's exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBNYC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been coming to Tilghman Island for many years now, and the best place to stay for total relaxation is the Black Walnut Point Inn! The owners continue to make it comfortable and enjoyable. Absolutely LOVE IT!

Room Tip: All rooms have waterfront views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the end of the road, in its own enclave, on a point of land on the East shore of Chesapeake Bay. Watch the sun rise from your bed, and the sun set from a hammock. The two hosts are friendly and informative but know to stay out of the way when desired. Breakfast provides an array of choices. Birdwatchers will be in paradise. The rooms are low key, functional but not fussy. Several sitting rooms, enclosed porches outdoor tables and seats, a nice pool, all are great places to do very little other than listen to the wind, birds, insects, waves, or to read. I have rarely found a better place to relax.

Room Tip: The three cabins, though more expensive, are larger and have screened in porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigboy53
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were looking for a break from our hectic lives of work, children and grandchildren-- & found a fabulous spot. Black Walnut Inn on the southern point of the Eastern shore. What great hosts Bob and Tracy are, and the location was perfect. The room was clean and well appointed. Two minor issues. The electrical outlets in the bedroom of the main house are not upgraded to "three prong grounded outlets" so I was unable to use my power strip adapter. The shower was like a cruise ship small but worked well. I plan to return and strongly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were fortunate to spent one Friday night at the Inn while visiting St. Michaels. The hospitality and surroundings can't be bettered anywhere. Lightning late in the evening provided a dramatic, unobstructed, panoramic light show. Being located in a MD state wildlife refuge, it's helpful to have a thorough understanding of when you'll arrive - after hours you must negotiate a locked gate.

Room Tip: The Attic Room is an excellent value. Small and accessed by stairs that demand a bit of contortion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsailor49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thank you Bob & Tracy and all the great people of Talbot County. We booked the Inn sight unseen based on reviews and phone conversations with the owners. We met other guests and got them involved in the wedding as well.
The point is beautiful and the wildlife and views are stunning. Both Bob & Tracy are great story tellers and you just want to sit on the porch and talk....great entertainers.
The breakfasts were great and no one went away hungry.
We cannot with to return. The inn and the owners have a special place in our hearts.

We love you guys!

JT & Patrick

Ohhh....when in Tilghman Island, be sure to stop in a Two If By Sea Cafe.....Henry makes great food!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labpuppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilghman
10.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
11.7 mi away
Harbourtowne Resort
Harbourtowne Resort
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
9.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
3.4 mi away
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
2.8 mi away
Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Point Inn

Property: Black Walnut Point Inn
Address: 4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Walnut Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Walnut Point Inn is located at the end of Tilghman Island on 57 acres of a waterfront wildlife sanctuary. Our own six-acre island at the end of the point, you can watch the sunrise over the Choptank River and set over the Chesapeake Bay. Both the 1840s house and private luxury cabins are open year-round, and every accommodation has endless water views and private baths. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, bird watching, fishing or just relaxing with a good book. If you enjoy nature or need a private retreat, come to the Black Walnut Point Inn - the secret place of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Black Walnut Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Point Hotel Tilghman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing