We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“CALM AND SERENE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Walnut Point Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bigboy53
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CALM AND SERENE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were looking for a break from our hectic lives of work, children and grandchildren-- & found a fabulous spot. Black Walnut Inn on the southern point of the Eastern shore. What great hosts Bob and Tracy are, and the location was perfect. The room was clean and well appointed. Two minor issues. The electrical outlets in the bedroom of the main house are not upgraded to "three prong grounded outlets" so I was unable to use my power strip adapter. The shower was like a cruise ship small but worked well. I plan to return and strongly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    56
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
230
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were fortunate to spent one Friday night at the Inn while visiting St. Michaels. The hospitality and surroundings can't be bettered anywhere. Lightning late in the evening provided a dramatic, unobstructed, panoramic light show. Being located in a MD state wildlife refuge, it's helpful to have a thorough understanding of when you'll arrive - after hours you must negotiate a locked gate.

Room Tip: The Attic Room is an excellent value. Small and accessed by stairs that demand a bit of contortion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsailor49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thank you Bob & Tracy and all the great people of Talbot County. We booked the Inn sight unseen based on reviews and phone conversations with the owners. We met other guests and got them involved in the wedding as well.
The point is beautiful and the wildlife and views are stunning. Both Bob & Tracy are great story tellers and you just want to sit on the porch and talk....great entertainers.
The breakfasts were great and no one went away hungry.
We cannot with to return. The inn and the owners have a special place in our hearts.

We love you guys!

JT & Patrick

Ohhh....when in Tilghman Island, be sure to stop in a Two If By Sea Cafe.....Henry makes great food!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labpuppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed two nights recently at the Black Walnut Point Inn. Bob and Tracy were gracious hosts. Our room--the Talbot--is on the second floor. There are three steps down into the room from the hall--and three steps from the room to the private bathroom. The bathroom is adequate. The shower reminded me of some cruise ship showers. It's tiny. The staircase going up does have a low ceiling that challenged my 6'3" frame. Fortunately, I only bumped my head once. The queen bed slept great. I wish the pillows were better. There's also a twin bed in the room.

I enjoyed walking in the early mornings, watching the sun rise over the water and the birds in the sanctuary. The water in the pool is cool but refreshing after the shock wears off. (A heater would be nice.) There are a variety of lawn games, plenty of hammocks and chairs near the water, and also a hot tub. Inside there are board games, a piano, and a guitar that guests are welcomed to use.

Breakfasts were tasty. A better variety would have been nice. They featured pancakes one morning and french toast the next. They served a tasty egg dish both mornings. There was also fresh watermelon (and a little cantaloupe). A few cereals are there for people who wish to eat them. A small variety of snacks was available 24-7--vanilla Oreos, trail mix, and pretzel bites. I'd love to see Bob and Tracy kick it up a notch--maybe homemade cookies and granola instead of purchased varieties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the inn for a weekend; Bob and Tracy were the most accomadating innkeepers. The house and our cabin, red cedar cabin was decorated shabby chic which made the setting very romantic. The screened in porch was an excellent view for watching the sunrise over the water. Love, love, loved it. More than 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arosin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had talked about a road trip around the US by Subaru Forester for at least ten years. In January we decided to visit all of the places we have wanted to visit and places that rated a second visit. Our trip meant driving about 9000 miles in six weeks, seeing friends and relatives, and staying in some really great places like the Black Walnut Point Inn. This was a last minute, drive-in type of event. We had planned to stay in St. Michaels. We explored the area and decided we needed something a bit more rustic and remote. Someone in a shop there told us to get on the road outside and drive to the end. We did and found the Black Walnut. And by a stroke of luck they had a room for two nights in the attic room of the old house. Our windows looked out to Chesapeake Bay on one side and out to the Choptank River on the other. It could not have been more wonderful. Breakfast brought great food and interesting folks to visit with. On the stay we left we ended up sitting at the table talking with a fascinating couple until almost checkout time. Fortunately we had packed before we came down for breakfast! The cook, a local, woman, was so friendly and willing to do everything just as you wanted. Loved the innkeepers!

Room Tip: No fitness center and no room service, but who cares. Wonderful in ground pool and lots to places to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Portlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Black Walnut Point In from 7/19-7/22/2013.
It is now 7/25/2013 and we are still talking about how great the Inn was and what fabulous hosts
Bob and Tracy are. The Inn itself is a step back in time, with period furnishings, a wonderful front porch with gentle rocking chairs which face the scenic Chesapeake. The cabins where an absolute delight, very comfortable, and right on the water! Breakfast was a treat every day!, our hosts where kind, professional and very knowledgeable of the area. The property abounds with lovely flowers and tranquil scenery . We highly recommend Black Walnut Point Inn

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilghman
10.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
9.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
3.4 mi away
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor
10.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harbourtowne Resort
Harbourtowne Resort
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Point Inn

Property: Black Walnut Point Inn
Address: 4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Walnut Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Walnut Point Inn is located at the end of Tilghman Island on 57 acres of a waterfront wildlife sanctuary. Our own six-acre island at the end of the point, you can watch the sunrise over the Choptank River and set over the Chesapeake Bay. Both the 1840s house and private luxury cabins are open year-round, and every accommodation has endless water views and private baths. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, bird watching, fishing or just relaxing with a good book. If you enjoy nature or need a private retreat, come to the Black Walnut Point Inn - the secret place of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Black Walnut Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Point Hotel Tilghman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing