We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Walnut Point Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, friendly hosts”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Clean. Friendly. We (husband, self, & daughter 21 yrs) stayed in theTalbot room which has a queen and day bed. It is on the second floor, a window looking out over the point and Chesapeake bay. The only thing I would say that might deter you from this room is that it is above the dining area. If the owners are having a party below, you can hear them. If you need absolute quiet to sleep, and they are talking and laughing, another room might suit you better. They are wonderful people, and the inn is historic and beautiful, with a comfortable sun room looking west across the bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homegrowntomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    61
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
252
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a very busy four days in DC, we took some time to travel to Tilghman Island to stay at the Black Walnut Point Bed and Breakfast for two nights. We stayed in the Red Cedar Cabin. We were able to enjoy the sunset and sunrise from our porch as well as the Choptank River and Chesapeake Bay from our room. We took a long walk in the brisk wind and returned to our cabin refreshed. We saw gulls, herons, an eagle, and a fox.

Tracy and Bob are wonderful hosts and make an effort to visit with their guests and insure that everything is just right. They had a full house the second night which speaks to the popularity of their Bed and Breakfast.

The cabin is more than a cabin with knotty pine paneling, wood floors, a comfortable king size bed. Breakfast each day included eggs with either asparagus or broccoli, pecan pancakes, fresh fruit, and great coffee.

As many BandB guests know, you find the best places at the end of the road. PS - have the Red Velvet Cheesecake at the Tilghman Country Store, if you can and add this B and B to your bucket list. We hope we can return here very soon.

Room Tip: We recommend the Red Cedar Cabin! and stop at the Tilghman Country Store. We stopped in St Michael...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelongrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We so enjoyed watching the sunset, relaxing in the hammock and the wonderful breakfasts! We even enjoyed a big winter storm that passed thru. Our cabin was comfortable. We enjoyed having a kitchen so that we did not have to go to a restaurant every meal. Bob and Tracy are wonderful hosts. They are so knowledgeable of the area and can easily make recommendations. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views. The cabins are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillGowdy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Black Walnut Point Inn, and the innkeepers, Tracy & Bob. The location was gorgeous and both Bob & Tracy went out of their way to ensure we had all we needed for our perfect wedding. They were attentive to our requests, gracious hosts, and generally a lot of fun! The Inn is tucked away in a beautiful setting and the views are majestic. Oh and yes, the food was wonderful I highly recommend The Black Walnut Point Inn for your wedding, or even for a work retreat. You will be in excellent hands!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband surprised me with the most perfect getaway! The location is beautiful and tranquil. The hosts are fabulous!!!! Our private cabin was clean and had wonderful views of the water where we watched the sun rise in the morning. We never left as we had everything we needed there!! We had the option of having yummy crabcakes and all the fixins for dinner as well as a cheese tray delivered to our cabin. Such a beautiful stay and breakfast was fab as well!!! We will be back soon!!! Already recommended to friends and family:)

Room Tip: If you want seclusion, opt for the cabins! Waterfront, fireplace and full kitchen!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was truly unreal, the place was amazing, Bob and Tracy were amazing. I nearly went into shock at how beautiful the place was. I was so sorry we couldn't stay longer. My girlfriend was so impressed she tried proposing to me! What a crazy world we live in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucaswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 day weekend with Bob and Tracy at the Inn. It is a cozy little inn at the end of an island with an atmosphere of staying with friends. When I awoke to take in the sunrise, Tracy (and cook Virginia) already had coffee brewing to keep me warm. While I awaited the sunset, Tracy and friends built a warm fire. Bob regaled us at breakfast (which is made to order!) with amusing stories that he authored and read aloud. At least one will join you for the sunrise and sunset. I cannot leave out Virginia- the breakfast was delicious!

You can see the sunrise and see the sunset without moving a muscle. The seclusion is amazing!

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxation, this place is for you. It is secluded, but you can venture up the island and over to the mainland to find some things to do. St. Michael's is a short trip up the island, and there are some wildlife areas and nearby historic Easton to visit.

Be ready for winter's chill, since the point and bay surroundings lend themselves to a strong breeze.

Room Tip: The Bay room has windows that face south and west and north. It holds 3 people comfortably. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulalois99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilghman
10.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
10.6 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
563 reviews
9.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
2.9 mi away
Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor
10.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Point Inn

Property: Black Walnut Point Inn
Address: 4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Walnut Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Walnut Point Inn is located at the end of Tilghman Island on 57 acres of a waterfront wildlife sanctuary. Our own six-acre island at the end of the point, you can watch the sunrise over the Choptank River and set over the Chesapeake Bay. Both the 1840s house and private luxury cabins are open year-round, and every accommodation has endless water views and private baths. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, bird watching, fishing or just relaxing with a good book. If you enjoy nature or need a private retreat, come to the Black Walnut Point Inn - the secret place of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Black Walnut Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Point Hotel Tilghman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing