We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surrounded by Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Walnut Point Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
“Surrounded by Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was our third visit to this location in as many years. We are planning our wedding here for the fall. Waterviews everywhere and a birdwatchers delight! Bob & Tracy and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We always feel comfortable, welcome and relaxed. I highly recommend this retreat to anyone who wants to truely get away from it all - whether it be to reflect in solitude or reconnect with loved ones.

Room Tip: Attic Room is small and its bathroom is not meant for tall individuals but the bed is still comfy. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    60
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
247
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We chose this inn based on reviews on this site and others, and were not disappointed. The location is beautiful; it's just past/within a wildlife sanctuary on the end of the island looking out onto the Bay. We stayed in the Tilghman room, which was comfortably large and overlooked the water (though I think all the rooms have good views), and distinguished by its separate entrance off of the dining room. Bob and Tracy were very hospitable -- always willing to share stories or advice and make sure you're having a great time, but never overbearing.

The house is over 150 years old, meaning it's got plenty of charm, although the bathrooms are a bit small and sound carries from downstairs, but that's entirely to be expected and we weren't bothered too much by either.

Overall, if you're looking for a relaxing weekend (whether romantic or not), I honestly don't know if it could get any better than this. Bring picnic supplies for lunch, and go into the welcoming, true seaside town of Tilghman for dinner (St. Michaels is a bit more touristy and further away, but there are more options there).

Room Tip: Tilghman room is largest and completely separated from the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I wanted a short weekday getaway, and the BWP Inn was perfect! Located at the tip of the island, it's surrounded by water & nature on all sides. Although the bay & river water is not quite swimmable, the pool and hot tub make up for that. The hosts (Bob & Tracy) as well as the various staff are incredibly friendly ... they even made us breakfast at 11am on our checkout day!

In terms of privacy, we were there during the middle of the week so there was only one other couple at the Inn. The only time we saw each other was at breakfast, which was fun & lively, and always had complete privacy when we wanted it.

If I had to complain about one thing it would be the size of our room, the "Attic Hideaway". I'm 6'2", and my wife is 5'6", and it was entirely too small for us. When standing up, we had to crouch down most of the time. And I must've bumped my head on the shower ceiling (which slopes down to waist-level) about 20 times. However, I don't hold this against the Inn since everyone knows that "cozy" means "tiny", and we spent most of our time away from the room anyway.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Attic Hideaway room if you are over 5'6" tall, unless you're in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This isolated retreat at the end of Tilghman Island was exactly what my wife and I were looking for to escape from the city for a weekend. The sound of waves, bay breezes, multiple birds, and amazing views made for an outstanding stay. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDC_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Black Walnut Point Inn for an overnight getaway. The peaceful beauty of the B&B was just what we needed to reconnect and escape from the demands of life. Bob and Tracy are wonderful hosts. Our room was wonderful and the main house and grounds were very well kept. We'll definitely return someday. Until then, we have fond memories to get us through!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kplaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great location great hosts. Isolated in a good way. Lots to do, biking, running, hiking or just lazing around. Could not ask for a more beautiful site so close to dc

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNJIDAVIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I would definatley come back again.

1. A great staff
2. Rooms were clean and comfortable
3. Breakfast was delicous- reminded me of home
4. Excellent seafood at near by restaurants
5. Fun activities like kayaking and biking
6. Amazing wild life

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilghman
10.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
9.9 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor
3.5 mi away
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
10.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Point Inn

Property: Black Walnut Point Inn
Address: 4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Walnut Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Walnut Point Inn is located at the end of Tilghman Island on 57 acres of a waterfront wildlife sanctuary. Our own six-acre island at the end of the point, you can watch the sunrise over the Choptank River and set over the Chesapeake Bay. Both the 1840s house and private luxury cabins are open year-round, and every accommodation has endless water views and private baths. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, bird watching, fishing or just relaxing with a good book. If you enjoy nature or need a private retreat, come to the Black Walnut Point Inn - the secret place of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Walnut Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Point Hotel Tilghman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing