We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like a nursing home - not in a good way.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Takoma Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Takoma Park to your Saves list
Quality Inn Takoma Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7411 New Hampshire Avenue Bldg. 1, Takoma Park, MD 20912   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Takoma Park
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smells like a nursing home - not in a good way.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am not someone that needs plush and posh to be happy. In this case, what I needed was a good sleep ahead of a family wedding for me and my family. The room was one that definitely qualified as one where you immediately "remove the bedspread," and without being too gross, the weird looking spots on the underside of the picture over our bed proved it (check the photo and decide for yourself). Unfortunately, when it's 2am and you've been driving all night, you suck it up...put your suitcase on top of something (DEFINITELY not on the floor), and hope for the best. The bed itself wasn't horrible, but the nursing home stench of the front lobby was. And the purported $25 dollar charge to replace the sad, lumpy pillows people allegedly take? Laughable. I will give them credit for the shower not being awful, but the broken tiles and bathroom door that had been installed upside down take some extra points away.

Room Tip: Find another hotel - you'll feel better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank thecynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The whole experience was horrible! We were scheduled for two nights, but we checked out as early as we could after the first night! Ate breakfast at IHOP because the breakfast area was disgusting. A number of issues arose during our stay, the shower flooded and the maintenance man had no clue how to use a mop. I finally cleaned the floor with towels! The wifi did not work ~ we spent 45 minutes on the the phone with the internet provider who indicated the staff was aware there was a problem, plugged in the charger and the outlet sparked! I basically slept with one eye open. I just could not recommend this hotel to anyone at all and frankly, I'm surprised it qualifies as a choicehotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Takoma Park hotels

windsor
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We needed a place to stay on the outskirts of Washington at a reasonable price and this fitted the bill perfectly. It was very easy to get the bus from opposite the motel and connect to the subways to see all the sights and museums downtown. There deals a free breakfast included and also an outdoor pool which ws a nice bonus to cool down in the very hot weather after a long journey or a busy day sightseeing. The reception staff were very helpful and printed directions for us each day as we did not have a laptop or sat nav with us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Windsormiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In The South
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I originally stayed at this venue around May 1, 2012.

Mildly seedy hotel in the seedy part of town. For the quality of the hotel, the price was rather steep {$80.00ish a night}. When this was closer to a $30.00-$40.00 place.
Check In was painfully slow, but without problems. Room key card was a tad needed repeat visits to the front desk. Appointed room was decent quality with no complaints. Everything seemed clean. Cable reception was craptactular. But the WIFI worked without hassle. Room also contained a mini fridge/microwave. Overall appearance was a bit run down looking, but only fruited minor "questionable" activity. Breakfast was mediocre for a hotel. This happened to be the "cheapest", yet closest hotel to Silver Spring. That had a a rating higher than * but less than ***.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lillith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place is horrible and if you are thinking of staying here because it is cheap, save yourself the fear and itchiness and stay somewhere a little nicer (which is almost anywhere). They have bedbugs. I have bedbug bites now and it is gross and itchy.
The cops were called 3 different times to the hotel during our stay which should give you a sense of the clientele.
In our room, a shelf, the hairdryer and the clock were broken. The cleaning staff would take the towels and not bring clean ones for hours which meant we had no towels in the middle of the day. When we asked, they said they had none. The breakfast area was usually disgusting and the breakfast attendant turned a blind eye to it. Not worth saving $30...just stay somewhere else, I wish I did.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel and check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a non-English speaking hotel. Only two people on staff were able to speak very little English. It is located in a questionable neighborhood. Stay only if you must. We booked two nights, but left after staying only one night. The a/c in the room made a loud rattling noise, and the bathroom was hard to get in to because it was too small. The comforters in the bed had brown stuff smeared on them, which could have been chocolate or human feces. We did not attempt to confirm which it was. Breakfast was served 20 minutes later than stated on their sign, and only after we complained did the manager come to help his tardy employee set up the breakfast area. It wasn't the worst hotel ever, however, when requesting a refund for the second night, company headquarter staff was downright rude in their refusal. We understand a business must follow their stated policies regarding refunds, but they didn't have to be so rude about it. Because of this we will no longer patronize this hotel chain after 12 years of doing so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night while visiting Washington DC. The hotel was clean and reasonably priced. The bed was comfortable although it had strange little square pillows rather than regular size pillows. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't open the door all the way open because of the tub. However, It was fine for what we needed which was a bed for the night. It took us about 30 minutes to drive to the Capitol Building at 9:30 in the morning. The continental breakfast was good and at the level expected at this level of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leapyearboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takoma Park
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Takoma Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Takoma Park

Address: 7411 New Hampshire Avenue Bldg. 1, Takoma Park, MD 20912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Takoma Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Takoma Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Takoma Park 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Takoma Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Takoma Park Hotel Takoma Park
Takoma Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing