We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marks Kitchen

Marks Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Takoma Park
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Arlington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Mark's is a Takoma Park staple and it is worth a visit. The food is always yummy and everything is locally grown. The place is small so be prepared to wait during summer nights or Sunday mornings but it is worth it. You cannot go wrong with anything you order and the specials are always a good bet. Service is sometimes slow due to how busy it is and how fresh the food is made but in the end you will be happy you came.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Mark's Kitchen is a rare gem in the heart of Old Town Takoma Park. They feature tasty Korean-style dishes like bulgogi and japchae, but also things like "Mark's Mom's Flounder." They make a great hamburger and grilled cheese sandwiches but also have a nice array of bento boxes. Delicious korean steak and great vegan selections. Also, you can't go there without running into someone you know! My only complaint is that they don't open earlier on weekdays, because they make GREAT omelets and hash browns.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mairi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This great local place serves delicious vegetarian food side by side with cheeseburgers and milkshakes. My favorites are the bento box meals, sometimes tofu, sometimes chicken. Mark is usually there, seems to be a genuinely nice man, pretty creative cook too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Where else are you going to get a good meal for 12 dollars or less! Combination fried rice is one of my favorites. You cannot go wrong with anything you order. I love this place and lucky me, it is right in my neighborhood. Mark is almost always present and very welcoming.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pombero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Eating at Mark's feels like eating a great home cooked meal. I love the vegetarian BLT. This is my favorite restaurant in Takoma Park.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linnyloo89449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marks Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Marks Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing