We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use Cash!”
Review of Takoma Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Takoma Bistro
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Use Cash!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Server #52 charged my debit card for my friend's meal with tip after she paid cash for both. Check your bank statements carefully, better yet, pay cash.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've read other reviews and understand more about my experience the two times I have visited Takoma Bistro. The service was poor on both occasions. Patrons are not greeted when they arrive and you are treated like more of an inconvenience. Other reviews have pointed out that the wait and counter staff tend to be young and inexperienced. This is probably a training issue, but it's not really an excuse. There were only three customers in the place, so they can't blame it on volume. It doesn't make me want to frequent an establishment where I don't feel welcome. Hopefully, this will improve.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepherdstown wv
Level Contributor
232 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Local flavor goes all out!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I decided to expand my Takoma Park experience, and stopped in the other night. I wasn't disappointed. Although very busy on a Friday night, I was seated promptly, and the wait staff was attentive.The wine list was innovative, the menu varied, and sitting in front of the dessert counter was a mistake!! I had to have the onion soup, my holy grail of restaurant ratings, and it was superb! I almost had a second bowl, but opted for the burger, which is my other means of evaluating a restaurant. It, too, was excellent, arriving medium rare as requested. I will definitely go back to sample more of the varied menu, which includes traditional, mediterranean, and some French, but mostly for a bowl of that wonderful onion soup!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shetown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining room, cafe dining outside, tempting bakery.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Takoma Park's jewel. This place is busy all the time, proof that the community has been starved for Class A restaurants for a very long time. Sure, the homey, funky vibe feel comfortable, but admit it, the lack of restaurants that are innovative is tiresome. Takoma Bistro changes all that. Well trained staff and visually appealing and delicious selections. Go every week! They work hard and deserve a chance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraftsmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,819 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 922 helpful votes
“Birchermuesli very good!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stopped in yesterday with niece to do take out. Ordered 3 orders of birchermuesli to go. Very tasty! Large container with muesli, yogurt, apples, cantaloupe, walnuts, strawberries, etc. Not too sweet, not too tart. $7/each. Will go back for this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takoma Bistro also viewed

Takoma Park, Montgomery County
 
Takoma Park, Montgomery County
Takoma Park, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing