We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Carmel Cove Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Carmel Cove Inn is beautiful and peaceful; the perfect place for a weekend getaway. The landscape is stunning, breakfast delcious and service outstanding. This was truly one of the most enjoyable places that I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jaiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2007

My husband and I booked a long weekend at Carmel Cove on the recommendation of my sister. We were greeted by the innkeeper (Heather) upon on our arrival. She gave a tour of the inn and offered any help we needed. Our room was on the lower level. It was spacious and had a fairly decent sized bathroom with a whirlpool tub and separate shower. It was a bit dark since the windows are smaller sizes. Next time we visit we'll probably book a terrace room. The terrace rooms are the size of a normal bedroom (a bit smaller than the lower level rooms) and have a smaller bathroom (shower only), but they are brighter and have their own private terraces with a table and chairs and also Adirondack chairs.
Each room is equipped with it's own flat screen TV with DVD player. There is an extensive DVD collection with all the latest releases in the great room. They have a fantastic great room with a pool table, gas fireplace, comfy leather couches, lap top computer, complimentary soda, wine, beer, water, snacks, and big screen TV. The breakfast room was bright and cheerful. There was hot water for tea, hot chocolate, or hot spiced cider. Coffee was also always available.
The breakfasts each morning were wonderful. Heather and Keith were available if you needed, but were not at all overbearing.
It is a walk to the cove through a wooded path. It's not the easiest of walks, but definitely manageable. Their is a guest shed with mountain bikes, oars for the canoes and a paddleboat, tennis racquets (there is a tennis court), fishing poles, cross country skis and boots.
It was a peaceful weekend and I would definitely recommend this B and B.
-Karen from State College, PA

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karenk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Wow!! This was our first experience at a bed & breakfast, and we weren't quite sure of what to expect. What a wonderful weekend we had, thanks to Heather & Keith! The place is immaculate - so clean and inviting. Beautiful cozy little room with its own private deck...delicious breakfasts cooked by Heather & Keith...yummy snacks left in various locations throughout the Inn...unlimited wine, beer, and soft drinks...cheese & crackers...immense selection of DVDs to watch in our private room or in common room...it really surpassed our expectations. We felt so pampered and spoiled!! We highly recommend this bed & breakfast to all - we will definitely be going back again!!! What a treasure!! Thanks for everything, Russ & Trina

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trinaruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We had a great time at Carmel Cove! It was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast and we had a great experience. The InnKeepers were friendly, the breakfasts were delicious, and the room was cozy. The Inn had all of the amenities of home and much more! We loved the billiard table, wine and appetizers in the common room, and selection of DVDs. We would definitely recommend it and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank embarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing weekend at the Carmel Cove Inn. The warm breakfast cooked to order each morning was delicious, and we loved having free coffee, brownies, snacks and wine/beer available to us 24/7.
The common room was really cozy, and we literally spent hours curled up on the couch, reading and watching the snow drift by. When we got snowed in one night, our hosts Heather and Keith were extremely helpful in finding a local restaurant that would deliver food to the inn, and even offered to cook for us in case they couldn't find one.
The DVD library is so well-stocked with classics and contemporary flicks, it would make any movie buff envious! Guests can opt to watch in the common room or on flatscreen sets in their rooms - complementary popcorn included!
The sports equipment was in mint condition. We went snow-shoeing right from the inn down to the lake one day, and took cross country skies to nearby Herrington Manor the next.
Overall, we've never had a more pleasant bed & breakfast experience!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisurehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

Carmel Cove is an absolutely wonderful place! The rooms (dining & sleeping) are bright and cheerful. The Innkeepers were extremely helpful, courteous and made a wonderful breakfast. The private bath is spacious and updated. The facility is clean and well maintained. While it's a short distance off the main highway in a beautiful setting, it's still conveniently located to activities and restaurants. We would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank almary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

This was our third year to visit the Carmel Cove Inn. In fact, we started referring to it as, "our place." Every year we look forward drinking red wine by the fire place in our room as soon as we arrive. We only live a short distance away in Pittsburgh, PA, but our trip to the inn each year is more relaxing than trips that require a much further distance. This year we were greeted by the inn keepers, Heather and Keith, upon arrival. They were there to provide us what we needed without being overbearing.

Our trip to the inn is usually accompanied by snow, but not this year. I was worried that we would be bored because we were not able to ski at the nearby lodge. I quickly remembered how much there was to do at the inn. We spent time relaxing in the common room playing a few rounds of pool, enjoyed a hike around the lake area, and soaked the work week away in the jet tub in our bathroom. We will continue to go back to the Carmel Cove Inn every year. I suggest you and yours start this tradition too!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Winter_SkierPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
4.3 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
4.7 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center
1.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561-2522
Location: United States > Maryland > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Price Range: $195 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest bonfire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing