We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy!”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Although the Inn is "Cozy" the rooms we had we more than cozy..they were tiny.
We arrived after a significant snowfall and were looking forward to doing some skiing. We arrived at the Inn around 2pm and were greeted by the housekeeper...she let us put our bags in one room as the other wasn't ready yet..That was fine, but then she told us the rooms we reserved were moved because the Innkeeper wanted to watch some football that weekend and he can get "loud". Again, fine. The next morning again we were greeted by the housekeeper and told that breakfast would be served soon and we would have a choice. No choice, we were served whatever they made that day, an hour later. Still no Keith or Heather. We left to do so more skiing and returned in the afternoon...finally meeting Heather. The next day, it was snowing pretty hard with a prediction of several more inches. We don't have four wheel drive so we asked if they were going to get a plow through there.... it never showed up. My husband went out and shoveled enough of the drive to get our car out...with Keith finally getting up to help...by sprinkling salt. Heather and Keith were nice enough, but I felt like we were intruding on their home ...like a visiting cousin. We decided to leave a day early because of the snow. They called the owners and agreed we shouldn't be charged for that night. We were a little taken back to see the final bill. I feel as though it was way too pricey for the accommodations, food and atmosphere. I would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freckles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    22
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
177
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed there this past Saturday. This was the 6th time we have stayed at Carmel Cove. We have always loved and recommended Carmel cove, not only because of how beautiful it is, but attention to the small details you have shown us over the years.
This past stay was very disappointing. As we arrived there we were looking forward to relaxing in the great room, but there was a meeting being held and we waited over a hour to use the room. We were served the leftover snacks from the meeting. I would have expected more than that, as we have had in the past.
There was also a bowl of water filled with potpourri in the fire place which had been there long enough to smell moldy
We went out and when we returned I was so looking forward to the sherry and chocolate you always have, but instead, the cheese crackers, with the dirty glasses we used earlier were still sitting there.
As we woke we went back in the great room, only to see the same cheese from the night before still there.
Breakfast was fine, but also not as we have enjoyed in the past.
I know that this is early in the season, and both Heather and Keith are very kind, the small details are why we love Carmel Cove, I am not sure I will return if this is what we can expect in the future.
I hope this helps for future guests

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmarcinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbender66, Owner at Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
This was completely our fault and the entire stay has been refunded. The meeting was supposed to be over before our check-in time, and we were mortified that it went an hour over. We have, of course, contacted the guests personally with our sincere apologies, and just wanted to let everyone know that this will never happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Springs, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

When we decided on an "inland" wedding anniversary instead of the usual beach, we found Carmel Cove on the internet. I had traveled to Deep Creek years ago for a horseback riding trip & it was absolutely beautiful.

When reading about Carmel Cove, what intrigued us most was the fact that it used to be a monastery. We figured the tranquility & spirit of the location would quiet our minds & help us slow down from the crazy pace we'd been on for the last several months. Carmel Cove delivered that and more! It was like being at home with friends -- especially our new friends, innkeepers, Heather & Keith who welcomed us with an awesome romance package of rose petals on the bed, chocolate covered strawberries, champagne & a beautiful spa gift basket! Now THAT'S a wonderful start to an anniversary weekend!

Besides being with the best husband in the world I also, LOVED, LOVED, LOVED...the cozy fire circle in the back yard....it warmed up a crisp evening that was full of conversation with other cool guests, hot cider, s'mores, and a clear night full of stars :)

And to be able to fall asleep in front of the fireplace in our room ( #7) was fantastic!!!

There were so many memorable moments from our weekend -- from the delicious breakfasts at Camel Cove Inn, kayaking on Deep Creek Lake, to hiking the trails of Swallow Falls on a warm, crystal clear, fall day.

We'll DEFINITELY be back & hopefully be able to stay longer next time.

*One request : more water pressure in the shower please.

-Jeannie & Thomas Johnson

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgetthatvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Carmel Cove Inn. The managers, Keith and Heather are very nice and want to be sure you enjoy your stay.
The inn is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The great room is large and has a pool table, game table, fire place, and 48 inch screen TV with many choices of DVDs. It contains several couches and chairs with plenty of room for people to sit and enjoy. It was a rainy weekend, so we decided to stay in Saturday evening and watch a movie. Heather brought out cheese, fruit and crackers, and so 'mores. There is also a refrigerator with complimentary wine, beer and soft drinks.
The breakfast room is bright and decorated nicely with a beautiful fire place. Breakfast is good and you are served large portions. There was always plenty of fresh fruit and coffee or tea.
When we made our reservations, many of the rooms were already booked. Our room was #3 and it was very small, with a queen size bed. The bathroom contained the toilet and shower. The sink was in the bed room. There was a small flat screen TV which sat on a chest of drawers. We had a private deck that faced the woods. Unfortunately, due to the rain, we weren't able to use it. The linens were the quality found in a Days Inn.
We thought that the room was a little pricey $185.00 per night for the size and quality of the linens.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbender66, Owner at Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, responded to this review, September 30, 2009
Hi Everyone-
Just wanted to note that all of our sheets are brand new 300 count linens from Pottery Barn. We had been using the 400 count, but had some comments from guests that they were too stiff. We'll revisit this in the coming weeks to see what most guests prefer. Your feedback is a gift to us and makes us see things fresh through our guests eyes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, NJ
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Quaint and peaceful. Wonderful food and comfy beds. Unlimited wine and beverages. Snacks always available. Great selection of DVD's and warmly decorated livingroom. Guests are made to feel at home. Lake is a bit of a walk, but it's beautiful! Inn Keepers are friendly and accommodating. Nice getway!! We will be back!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We've stayed at many places, but this was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. Carmel Cove Inn was a wonderful experience. Very quite and restful, from sitting on the deck sipping wine and watching the deer and the many hummingbirds or playing a game or two of pool....it was all good.

If you're looking for a quite and restful place to go...Carmel Cove Inn is that place!

Dennis & Loretta Mather

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D. C.
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2009

My partner and I headed to Deep Creek Lake for a weekend getaway, and were very happy we stayed at Carmel Cove. Even without great weather, there was so much to keep us busy included in the (low) price - tennis, bikes, movies, snacks, and wine. The innkeepers were very helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. I hope to go back soon and experience even more outdoor activities once the weather gets warmer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
4.3 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
15.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
15.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
109 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Garrett Inn
The Garrett Inn
#1 of 5 in Oakland
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Property: Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561-2522
Location: United States > Maryland > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest bonfire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing