We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“best weekend this summer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best weekend this summer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I went away for a weekend here and it was wonderful! We really enjoyed the woods and being away from tourist traps. The bonfire was great both nights and we made lots of s'mores and enjoyed the free beer. We had a lot of fun at the lake. My boyfriend really enjoyed the fishing stuff even though he didn't catch anything. Our favorite part was the private deck where breakfast was delivered every morning and we got to choose what time we wanted them to bring it! The whole weekend was awesome. One warning: Our two night stay should have cost $370 ($185 a night) and ended up costing $414 because there is a 12% tax for the rooms. I've never been to a bed and breakfast before so I don't know if that's normal but I was caught off guard. However, we do plan to return in the fall or winter and spoil ourselves again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 through 6 are upsatirs and the rest are downstairs. And rooms 5 and 6 were right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangerine96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    21
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
167
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I just concluded a weekend visit here July 27-29, 2012. The innkeeper, Mark, was very gracious and helpful He was the cook for the morning breakfast, which was excellent, as well as providing snacks in the evening, good recommendations for local restaurants and hikes to take. The hotel was spotless. The location was not far from many of the lake activities at Deep Creek. The only TV was in the large common room. There were DVRs in each bedroom and a decent library of selections if one wished to watch recent releases. The wifi connection was excellent. In fact, it was nice not worrying about noise from an adjacent room's tv. Mark also made a nice bonfire in the evenings after dinner time. My wife and I would consider returning in the near future.

Room Tip: My room was one of the better rooms, but it was directly under the breakfast room. This worried me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markcinnamonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbender66, Owner at Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
For our TV lovers, the cable glitch has been remedied and all guest room flat screens have over 100 Direct TV channels with HBO, in addition to our extensive DVD library. Thank you for your kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were looking for a room for one night, late notice, and Carmel Cove had room available. The reviews here looked good so we made the reservation. Wonderful place! We can't wait to find time to come back when we have a few days to relax. It was my husband's birthday and the innkeeper had a bottle of champagne chilling in our room. Small rooms (it was a monastery after all) but cozy and clean. Hors d'oevres on the deck around 5:30, bonfire in the yard at dusk (with smores ingredients on a silver platter -- really!) Wonderful breakfast, nice airy breakfast room. What a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There are four rooms with decks -- get one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been to Deep Creek and stayed in another B & B many times. We decided to try something different in a quieter area and we FOUND it!!

We arrived early and were able to check-in. Mark, the new innkeeper, took us on a detailed tour of the inn and it's outdoor features. When we got to our room there was a bottle of bubbly and some chocolates for my birthday. I might add that was the first time I ever had champagne for my birthday!

The three breakfasts we enjoyed there were fantastic. All of the employees were so friendly and did so much to make you feel welcome. We loved the terrace room. That gave you an additional space to enjoy the outdoors. We did take part in the campfire the first night we were there -complete with all of the fixings for s'mores!

The Great Room left you to wonder about the monks who previously were habitants there. The wine, beer, and sodas were a great treat. We took advantage of the DVD library that was well stocked. I really enjoyed the Sony iHome docking station to enjoy my favorite music.

We want to definitely return to Carmel Cove Inn!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rtchur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing and "outdoorsy" location to celebrate the week surrounding our 18th wedding anniversary...and we found it! The innkeeper, Mark, indeed, was part of the reason that the vacation was so memorable with his quiet attention to detail, knowledge of the area, and sense of humor. (It seemed to us that he had been at the Inn forever, yet he had only been there for 3 weeks!) The hours of hiking or other outdoor activities were bookended by a leisurely breakfast (that met our dietary restrictions!) on one end and hors d'oeurves and a glass of wine in the Common Room on the other, and if the spirit moved us, sitting around a magnificent outside campfire to round out the day. The Inn's guestrooms are beautifully appointed and the Inn's other staff quietly assured that all was ready upon our return there each day. The Inn's history as a former summer retreat for Carmelite priests was subtly woven into the details of the decor without being overwhelming but we couldn't help wonder if by some alchemy it contributed to the peaceful atmosphere. We look forward to a future stay when Innkeeper Mark and the staff will once again provide for us a haven of peaceful relaxation.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room in the Inn. Of note, if you go in the cooler/colder mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our very first stay at a bed and breakfast...for our 15th wedding anniversary. The innkeeper had a small bottle of bubbly and some chocolates waiting in our room for us - very classy. The experience was totally relaxing. We enjoyed the "children over 12 only" policy as we were sneaking away from our own child to enjoy adult time together. Food was great and the innkeeper was very helpful and pleasant. We will visit again. (ladies....no ESPN or cable service in the bedrooms (DVD player only)...now that is helpful!)

Room Tip: Choose lower floor for privacy...and cooler temperatures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alien3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend and could not have had a better experience. Richard and Virginia are excellent, attentive hosts and not at all intrusive. They gave great local directions when needed and were on point with their recommendation for local restaurants (Dutch's at Silver Tree lives up to the hype). The 3 breakfasts we had were absolutely out of this world and we always looked forward to the 5pm snacks in the common room. Our room was beautiful and well kept. The amount of activities the Inn offers is amazing - paddle boat, canoes, fishing, tennis, and a surprisingly impressive DVD collection. Our room had a DVD player and iPod radio/alarm clock. My fiancé actually proposed to me here on our second day and I cant imagine a better place to have this memory. Richard and Virginia heard we were engaged and put complimentary champagne and chocolates in our room. We would stay here over and over again! The other guests were also very nice and mostly everyone kept to themselves and went about on their own activities - which was nice, no pressure for forced socialization. Definitely worth every penny! Locally there is plenty to do - hiking at Swallow Falls, have lunch at Englanders in town, mini golf, great food at Mountain State Brewing Company. Again, the Inn keepers are well versed about what to in the area and have plenty of brochures for the taking.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JessiAndDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
4.1 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
15.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
1.9 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Property: Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561-2522
Location: United States > Maryland > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, kayak, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest bonfire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing