We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Carmel Cove Inn is a very clean well run bed and breakfast. The innkeepers are warm and welcoming. Every little detail is thought of to make your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Room #3 is small but comfortable. Be sure to get a room with a deck. Breakfast was out of this world! The common room is a great place to relax. Be warned that the lake is down a wood path, across a street, down another path and to the left. I am definitely recommending Carmel Cove Inn to friends who are staying in the Deep Creek Lake area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I were in the area for hiking and outdoors activities, and needed a place to decompress in the evenings. A bed and breakfast wasn't even on my list of places to look into, but my sister recommended it as she knows I like solitude in the evenings.

The Carmel Cove in is a converted monastery with nicely appointed rooms and grounds. While the rooms are small, the amenities, the courteous staff, and the grounds and location close to Deep Creek Lake made it a real winner. We found solitary hiking close to the Inn, and the innkeeper had plenty of good recommendations further away.

The last night we were there there was a bonfire and all the guests came out and talked late into the evening. Lots of fun with a bit of charm! Worth the $.

Room Tip: Room #7 has a nice big tub, the upstairs rooms with deck though might be the best for a view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwgroovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at the Carmel Cove Inn and loved it. Our room (#3 of the total of 10 rooms), though small, was very clean and cozy and we loved having our own balcony overlooking the woods. The innkeepers, Richard and Virginia, were very friendly and were always asking us if we needed anything.

Each night we had a bonfire which gave the guests an opportunity to get to know each other and share suggestions for activities and restaurants. The hot breakfasts each day were delicious and unique (from turkey strata to lemon ricotta pancakes to pineapple french toast). Though not directly on the lake, the inn had dock access and guests were able to partake of canoes and a paddle boat. (The trip back up from the dock though is not for the faint of heart). The only negative we found was that the TV only had six channels available. To make up for that though, there is a fairly extensive DVD library.

The inn is secluded so, like most of Deep Creek, you have to drive a few minutes to get anywhere. But if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Deep Creek, it's the perfect spot. We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbender66, Owner at Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

We checked the TV in your room, and found that the remote control needed to be reprogrammed to scan all available channels. It's now back to the full line-up. Really sorry you got stuck with it malfunctioning for your visit. Thank you for your kind words, and we're happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed in one of the Terrace Rooms, which was comfortable, if a bit small. The spacious common area, however, more than made up for the smaller room; it was a beautiful, quiet place to spend time in the evening (with an extensive DVD collection to browse through). Breakfast was incredible on both of the mornings of our trip, and the single-cup coffee maker (available for use all day) was a welcome addition to the eating area. The menu is decided in advance, however, and served restaurant-style, so there is little choice as to what or how much you will be eating. The surrounding grounds are nice (we saw a ruffed grouse in the woods, among other birds), and the innkeeper was quite helpful in directing us to the hiking trails nearby. We would recommend a visit to these nearby parks, as well as a dinner at Mountain State Brewing Company and a jar of rhubarb peach jam.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wct242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This b&b is slightly off the water (about 100 yards walking) but the service makes the stay. The inn keepers were amazing! The breakfast was inspired and wonderful. The inn tennis courts with equipment, kayaks, a paddle boat and is only a three minute drive to the state park with beaches. The inn keepers also make a fire with all the equipment to make smores or just a toasted marshmallow. The area is beautiful with rolling hills and good restaurants. I would recommend this place again to any of our friends looking for a get away from the city.

Room Tip: Option for the rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cross_Country09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife and I were just looking for a nice, relaxing weekend. We had never been to a bed and breakfast before and were looking forward to the new experience. After this weekend, we are definitely going to do more B&Bs, at least when we have a chance to get away.

Such as life, nothing is perfect. So for now, I'll start with the good. When we arrived, we were immediately greeted by Richard, one of the innkeepers, who then proceeded to give us a tour of the inn and explain all of the procedures. He then left us to our room and brought down our bags for us. The room was very clean and had a very outdoorsy smell from the wood-burning fireplace (we LOVED it!). Waiting for us was a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and a small bottle of wine!

Our premier room was a good size for just the two of us. It had a queen bed, fireplace, two nightstands and a dresser. There was a pit with extra wood as well if we wanted to keep a fire going. The bathroom was nice, albeit a bit small, but I am a pretty big guy. The shower was roomy enough and hot water worked well. Neither of us used the whirlpool bath that was there.

The inn itself was very clean! The common room seemed to always have everything in it's exact place. The refrigerator was always stocked with wine, beer, and soda. Also available was red wine and water anytime you wanted it. The DVD library was very modern (suprise!) there were also plenty of CDs if you wanted some music. The breakfast area has fresh flowers on every table and had plenty of natural light -- very nice in the morning.

The inn itself is in a very wooded area. There is a lot of wildlife around. Chipmunks everywhere you look! We saw deer on our walk from the dock back to the inn. It was actually within about 20 feet of us just sitting on the ground. We took pics and tried our best not to scare it. It ran off after a couple minutes.

The breakfast at the inn was great! I liked that it was not just typical breakfast food. One morning part of the breakfast was a tomato and kale fritata and another morning the main part was a lemon ricotta pancake. Excellent! When we went up for breakfast it seemed like within 2 minutes Richard had our plates on our tables or at least said "Good Morning" to let us know it was on it's way. Plenty of coffee, juice, tea, and cocoa as well. We chose not to have breakfast in our room, which is an option for some, so that we could meet some of the other guests and it wakes us up a bit.

For our stay, we felt like we were welcomed guests. We felt comfortable doing anything that we needed and using any of the facilities and amenities that were offered.

Now for what little bad there was (and it was not even bad to us). As I said before, the room is nestled in a wooded area. Every time we were in the room, there was always some little thing crawling (talking about the size of an ant or so) around on a window sill or door. It was not a big deal to us as our room was on the lower level and again, in a very, very wooded area. Also, being on the lower level, you can hear the people walking above you. Don't get me wrong, the inn was very quiet and at night, not many people walking around. But beginning at about 8 or so in the morning, you can start to hear the people walking around upstairs. If you are a very light sleeper and like to sleep in then it might be a bit bothersome. This didn't really bother us either as by the time we started hearing this, we were ready to get up!

While breakfast was awesome, the hors d'oeuvres were just okay. They tasted like they were just frozen appetizers that were microwaved. But, it was just an extra and not something that was expected.

That's pretty much it for the "bad". Overalll, this is one of the most relaxing getaways that we have had. The Carmel Cove Inn was very welcoming, quiet, and calming - anything we needed was provided to us. It was almost as if we were the only ones there, until we didn't want to be and then we could talk with other couples, or if we needed anything Richard just happened to be right there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JJ4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband came here for a long weekend for our Anniversary. Our Innkeeper greeted us with a tour of the facility. We were offered port wine and an assortment of chocolates along our tour. Upon arriving at our charming room, we discovered a bottle of champagne chilling at the tableside adorned with chocolate covered strawberries. In the evening, delicious hor d'oerves, wine and beer were
served. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. Whether you wanted to bicycle, canoe, play tennis or
just relax, everything is there! The
breakfast's were 5 star gourmet
breakfast's. I can't say enough good
things about this B and B. Would
definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
4.3 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
1.9 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
301 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
110 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
78 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Garrett Inn
The Garrett Inn
#1 of 5 in Oakland
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561-2522
Location: United States > Maryland > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Price Range: $174 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest bonfire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing