We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CREAM OF CRAB”
Review of Manor Inn Restaurant - CLOSED

Manor Inn Restaurant
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn on 220-acres provides you with Saturday lunches and our Champagne Sunday Brunch Buffet each week. Enjoy regional cuisine from Maryland's Eastern Shore and the Chesapeake Bay in dining rooms with fireplaces, our four seasons porch and our outside dining, too, weather permitting. Only 15 minutes from Annapolis!
Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you are in the area, i would recommend stopping by during their limited open hours and grab a BOWL not cup of their soup. Its the most creamy i have ever had. i would go back just for the soup

1  Thank FFXTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We do take pride on our cream of crab soup and everything else we prepare. Thank you for acknowledging chef's award winning soup! Our restaurant is open Saturdays for lunch from 11a until 3p or later. And again for our Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet with seatings from 10a - 2pm. Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Manor Inn Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Every couple of months we make it a point to come here for Sunday brunch. It is phenomenal! The various options are tasty - love those blintzes! - and you can get a fresh omelet made with your choice of ingredients. The "hot" food is located in one room of the manor house, the "cold" appetizers are in another and include different cheeses, seafood (think spiced shrimp). The finger pastries for dessert are a nice way to end the meal. As this is an inn, you can reserve a room to stay and sometimes we come across wedding parties staying here. The inn is located a short walk away from the river. We also came here one year for Thanksgiving and it was a lovely time! They have a pavilion on the grounds and that's where the meal was. It was a buffet with a wonderful selection of soups, meats, vegetables, and dessert. This isn't your typical cheap so-so establishment by any means and a stay or a meal will set you back. But you don't do this every day so, it's good to indulge. Also, you need to make reservations for the Sunday brunch and a table on the veranda overlooking the grounds out back is nice. In the warmer months you can sit out back and enjoy the sunshine with your Mimosa and brunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzyFiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your flowery and effusive comments about your experience at Historic Kent Manor Inn. Our Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet menu changes each week and we hope to do some redecorating this winter, too, to add further richness to our public space and guest rooms. Stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The food and service were both far beyond expectations, and the menu would put this place in the top echelon of Baltimore or DC restaurants. The setting in an old, very well restored mansion-turned-hotel adds to the ambiance of old style class. Our party had filet mignon and crab cakes, along with salads, soups and dessert. Everything was excellent. Go, you won't be disappointed.

1  Thank Danny562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your Historic Kent Manor Inn experience on TripAdvisor. We aim to please! We are currently serving Saturday Bistro lunches and our Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet. We also take reservations for romantic getaways where our chef will provide highly personalized menu selections. For every season there is a reason to visit Historic Kent Manor Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited Kent Manor for a business trip. The staff were wonderful and friendly. They treated us like family. We felt welcome and at home. The service was great.

1  Thank ldwhite05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Looks like you visited us in May, reviewed us in December, and I am just getting around to acknowledging this in March! Not sure how I could have missed such a delightful and detailed review. Thank you for sharing with the entire TripAdvisor family. We are striving to make every guests' experience a delightful and memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our 50th Anniversary dinner was wonderful. We could not have asked for anything more special than celebrating with our family and friends.

Your many suggestions, meeting with us on a few occasions, and patience are to be commended. Alethea and Kathy – our servers – WOW! – they made sure everything flowed smoothly. Nice job!!!

Now to the dinner. The cream of crab soup was outstanding – everyone was almost licking the bowl for the last drop. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and the crab cakes had lots of crab meat – compliments to the chef. Our “special” no dairy gal – was pleased with the Maryland crab soup and stuffed chicken. We were delighted that you could accommodate her request. The children's choices were many, naturally most of them had the chicken strips and crispy waffle fries along with a fruit cup.

Kudos to the pastry chef who prepared those outstanding cupcakes – made to “perfection.” My favorite was the strawberry shortcake, but the chocolate and vanilla were also a hit. As you can guess, every last crumb was eaten, along with the mini sugar cookies. YUM!!!

Again, you made our 50th anniversary a very special and memorable event. Thank you very much.

We would recommend the Kent Manor Inn for any special occasion – Outstanding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Manor Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

I am again, embarrassed, to find I've missed a prompt response to a simply wonderful and heartfelt review about our staff and our food for this very special celebration. Regarding the cream of crab soup, thank you for almost licking the bowl to the last drop as this made our dishwasher's job much easier! Best regards, Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Stevensville, Kent Island
Stevensville, Kent Island
 
Stevensville, Kent Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing