We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously. Don't bother eating anywhere else!”

Stevensville Crab Shack
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seriously. Don't bother eating anywhere else!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by after finding another seafood restaurant closed. What a lucky stop! Wonderful, refreshing home made items at completely reasonable prices and friendly service. Crab cakes were freshly made and delicious. All sides are also freshly made and didn't disappoint. We especially loved the fresh cut french fries. So much so we ordered another plate to go! Do yourself a favor and pull off the highway for this nonpretentous gem! Your tummy will thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    35
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manistee, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for take-out”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great place for a take-out seafood meal, or if you'd like to sit outside, they have picnic tables. This is fresh Maryland seafood, in fact while I was eating my crab cake sandwich, a gentlemen was delivering fresh clams from his daily catch. Very friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“For Maryland Food This is as good as it gets”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

For tourists this is a place to eat real Maryland seafood food in an authentic traditional crab shack environment.This is a simple unique style of cooking that you will not find any where else in the world.
In this modern corporate world its not often you get a chance to have properly prepared indigenous food.You will get it here in spades!!!Pick up trucks deliver bushel baskets of freshly caught Chesapeake crabs that have just been fished out of the bay that you can see from Stevensville Crab Shack.
Bay crabs are some of the finest crabs in the world and eating them here doesn't get any better.With sea food the fresher, the better.
The meat in these crabs are tender and sweet.The style for cooking sea food unique to Maryland is to use Old Bay Spice or a generic type of seasonings.The spices bring out the flavor in the crabs and the steamed shrimp.. Stevensville Crab Shack also make the traditional Maryland style salads to accompany Chesapeake Bay sea food wonderful home made potato salad and finely grated coleslaw.These simply and freshly prepared foods are Maryland's finest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real shack real crabs”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a complete luck that we ended up getting our food there. We launched our boat in a nearby park and ordered food. Dozen Maryland blue crabs, crab cakes, fried fish, crab soup. Crabs were fantastic, fresh, spicy, crab cakes actually had crab in them and even the fried fish was great. Small busy place, dedicated owners. We are going there tomorrow again, have to feed our crab craving

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Originally we were going to stop at Hemmingways but after reading bad reviews we turned around and found this little gem. The crab cakes were full of crab, the scallops were fried to perfection, the little necks were sweet and delicious. All the sides are homemade we had the macaroni salad and potato salad. We also bought a 6 pack that they let us store in the frig so we could get cold beers while we ate! I will be back on my next trip over the bay bridge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stevensville Crab Shack also viewed

 
Stevensville, Kent Island
 

Been to Stevensville Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing