We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone, but great for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leesburg, VA.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for everyone, but great for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want bright lights and a marble entry, go elsewhere; however, if you want a comfortable room, great service and a beautiful setting try this inn. Yes, the floors squeak a bit and no there isn't an elevator to the 2nd and 3rd floors, but a walk around the grounds and some quiet time on the dock more than makes up for such things.

The bottle of wine and the picnic lunch are nice additives.

The Sunday brunch is good as are the breakfasts, but be aware that the restaurant is not open for dinner. There are other restaurants within 3-4 miles.

Highly recommend for a one or two night stay. Easton and St Michaels are fun places to explore while there.

Room Tip: The bathrooms in some, not all, rooms are two or three steps below the bedroom; may be a problem if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GTHerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
So true your words and thank you for sharing our Inn with the Trip Advisor Community. The Manor House is nearly 200 years young with original flooring and all melodic entrapment's of a building which has gracefully welcomed guests across three centuries. We enjoy sharing the Inn as a piece of living history and as such, you will never find the cookie cutter hotel room layouts and amenities which is standard for the boring beige boxes chain hotels. Many would not care to climb the 3 flights of old growth walnut stairs but there are those who welcome the chance to visit and experience the unique Manor Home.

we are happy that it was a great place for you. First floor accommodations are also available, all with balconies! And our first floor common rooms have several fireplaces.

Sincerely,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    49
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
98
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited Historic Kent Manor Inn this week for two reasons - we bought a Travelzoo voucher and we were "reconning" the site of our son's future wedding. We were not disappointed. Everything about the place was lovely - from the first view as you drive up the long lane to the restoration and decoration inside. Sometimes in older restored properties, you also find considerable shabbiness but that was not the case here. Everything was polished and updated including our bathroom fixtures. Our room was large and well appointed. I think most of the rooms, at least on the second floor, open up onto balconies on the front and back of the house. There were several charming common areas including a living room, dining room/glassed in sun porch, and outside porches/balconies/patios. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious. It included scrambled eggs, toast and bagels, cereal, yogurt, a variety of pastries, and coffee and tea. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Because of the Travelzoo voucher, we received a bottle of wine and a terrific boxed lunch. If you are looking for a hermetically-sealed hotel room, this is not the place for you. The doors on the rooms, although sturdy, are wooden regular house doors so one can definitely hear people in the hall. The old, old wood floors creak and groan. I thought about using the white noise feature on my iPhone but I didn't need to. The beds were comfy and I slept the night through.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LizVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
What a generous review!!!

I'm glad you enjoyed our Inn's occasional creaks, groans and character. Yes, we occasionally run TravelZoo specials and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of this one.

Come back for one of our romantic dinners where Chef William prepares a very special and personalized five-course dinner. .. . And you will NOT find that as part of a special TZ offer! Sorry!

Best

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

It's entirely possible that our experience at the Kent Manor Inn was uncommon, but it was so consistently awful over the course of three days that I can't help but warn others away.

First, the good: the location is gorgeous. Sprawling grounds, beautiful salt marsh coastline, gorgeous view. We were there for a wedding, and it could not have been more perfect.

The room to which we were assigned (210), however, was horrendous. It's minuscule (at one point my husband had to crawl over the bed to get from his side to the bathroom because I was ironing a shirt). The bathroom was poorly appointed and looked like it might have been lifted from a Motel 6, and there's not even enough room for a trash can there, so it's jammed between the bathtub and the door, so you can't fully open the door. The air conditioning unit is ancient, and the windows are sealed shut, so the whole room has a swamp-like feel to it even when the hallway and the outside are dry and cool. And the door was stuck, so required a linebacker-style shoulder slam to open and close properly.

There is so little room in the room that the ironing board was stored under the bed--something that housekeeping knew, but the man at the front desk did not know. Frustrating when you want to iron a shirt in the afternoon and there's no housekeeping to be found. Twice, people in out party had maintenance issues and received a "sometimes that happens" response from staff. Both times, we repaired the problem ourselves.

Which brings me to the key issue I had with the KMI: It may bill itself as luxurious, but it is in no way luxury. There are no amenities: impossible to have a suit pressed or a shoe shined; no room service; no breakfast aside from a continental breakfast appointed with stale breakfast pastries no doubt delivered by Sysco 18 wheelers. Housekeeping knocked on our door one morning at 8:30am, and when we asked for them to come back, they simply forgot about us...until we asked for them at 4pm that afternoon.

Additionally, the front desk staff was the worst kind--faux helpful bordering on disrespectful.

I could deal if this were a low end hotel, but at $250 a night, I was pretty appalled. If you can avoid this place, I would. If you can't, stay far away from room 210.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The setting is beautiful, the rooms are lovely; we ate dinner and breakfast and both were delicious. I have read other reviews talking about a boxed lunch and wine in the room, we got neither. Considering we paid full price that is a little disappointing.

Through a series of unusual circumstances we decided to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary on Maryland's Eastern Shore. My husband and I both found this inn on the internet at the same time. Neither of us had heard of it, but it looked beautiful, the location was great and it offered a "Romantic Getaway" that seemed perfect for our purposes.

I made the reservations and included in the getaway was a customized 5-course dinner. We were contacted more than a week before our anniversary and asked what we liked and didn't like. From that our menu was created. We didn't know what it would be until we walked into the restaurant. Everything was delicious. We had a seafood appetizer, a green salad with apples and pecans and the most delicious salad dressing (would love to have that recipe), champagne sorbet as a palate cleanser, filet mignon and stuffed lobster tail entree and the most decadent chocolate dessert.

I am grateful that circumstances led us to this beautiful inn. It was a great place to spend our anniversary. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our Historic Inn offers a special romantic getaway package as a way to celebrate the special people in your lives. Yet, our restaurant is open for Saturday lunch and our popular Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet

You and your significant other enjoyed and appreciated the luxury of having our executive chef, William Lackey, as your personal chef catering solely to you. As such, this level of service and attention to detail goes well beyond one of our standard package (which varies and is sometimes a box lunch and wine)

We are indeed grateful you chose to celebrate life's special times with us and look forward to your return.

Sincerely

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We purchased the TravelZoo deal (1 night, breakfast, boxed lunch and wine package) and chose to use this to get away for our anniversary. All the other reviews are accurate - no elevator - old world charm. There was a wedding going on and the music was quite loud even though it was raining and we were on the 3rd floor, but the music stopped at 10 pm which was acceptable. Thad was very accomodating. The included breakfast was decent enough (some fruit, eggs, pastries and coffee/tea) and the wine was good. We also enjoyed a nice meal about 1.5 miles away at Rustico. Only complaints were that our room on the 3rd floor was VERY creaky - yes, even the shower creaked - and the A/C did not get all that cold. But if you're looking for a quiet out of the way place with old fashioned charm and character, you will enjoy it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here on Sep 12 to celebrate our anniversary. Got a great deal from Travelzoo - lower rate, bottle of wine, boxed lunch. Could not have been happier. Would have stayed here even without the special. Thad greeted us and made us feel welcome immediately. The grounds and rooms are superior. Just a great setting. The lemonade (herbal infused) and cookies hit the spot. The breakfast would have filled anybody. Thad gave us great tip for walking - Terrapin Nature Center - right on the Bay and next to the Bay Bridge. Wonderful site to enjoy the copious box lunch. I would recommend the Kent Manor Inn for any special occasion.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine. Just being here is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of a Trip Advisor deal for 2 nights at the Kent Manor. We had a lovely stay although not sure we would have stayed if not at a discounted rate. The Inn was charming and set on beautiful grounds. I would not recommend staying on the 3rd floor if you have issues with stairs as there is no elevator. The complimentary wine was a nice touch, the continental breakfast was very good and the sandwiches packed for our road trip home were plentiful and delicious. There isn't much to do in the immediate area so we stopped in Annapolis on the way and spent the next day in St. Michael's. Nice get away for 2 days. Thad at the Inn was very nice guy and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Try for the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you from all of the Tipo Advisor readers for sharing the details and your tips. Thank you for sharing your five-star rating of us, too! Sorry that this wonderful review somehow slipped between the cracks. Best, Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kent Narrows Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
9.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn

Property: Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Address: 500 Kent Manor Dr, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666-2562 (Formerly Kent Manor Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn is an estate on 220 acres of farmland. The Inn is well known as the venue of choice for WEDDINGS, SPECIAL EVENTS, BUSINESS MEETINGS, RETREATS and FAMILY REUNIONS. When availability permits we welcome travelers to stay with us for a night or more. The Inn has 24 individually decorated guest rooms; each with a private bath. Flexible event and meeting space is available for groups of most sizes. The waterfront lawn is a perfect setting for a wedding and group team building programs. The Preserve is a seasonal venue that can accommodate as many as 300 guests. Our Executive Chef creates wonderful menus that fit most budgets. Our catering staff is well-seasoned and ready to attend to your every food & beverage need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing