We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed an anniversary weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kent Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kent Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed an anniversary weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We purchased the TravelZoo deal (1 night, breakfast, boxed lunch and wine package) and chose to use this to get away for our anniversary. All the other reviews are accurate - no elevator - old world charm. There was a wedding going on and the music was quite loud even though it was raining and we were on the 3rd floor, but the music stopped at 10 pm which was acceptable. Thad was very accomodating. The included breakfast was decent enough (some fruit, eggs, pastries and coffee/tea) and the wine was good. We also enjoyed a nice meal about 1.5 miles away at Rustico. Only complaints were that our room on the 3rd floor was VERY creaky - yes, even the shower creaked - and the A/C did not get all that cold. But if you're looking for a quiet out of the way place with old fashioned charm and character, you will enjoy it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bc_busymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    46
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
26
93
4
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here on Sep 12 to celebrate our anniversary. Got a great deal from Travelzoo - lower rate, bottle of wine, boxed lunch. Could not have been happier. Would have stayed here even without the special. Thad greeted us and made us feel welcome immediately. The grounds and rooms are superior. Just a great setting. The lemonade (herbal infused) and cookies hit the spot. The breakfast would have filled anybody. Thad gave us great tip for walking - Terrapin Nature Center - right on the Bay and next to the Bay Bridge. Wonderful site to enjoy the copious box lunch. I would recommend the Kent Manor Inn for any special occasion.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine. Just being here is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of a Trip Advisor deal for 2 nights at the Kent Manor. We had a lovely stay although not sure we would have stayed if not at a discounted rate. The Inn was charming and set on beautiful grounds. I would not recommend staying on the 3rd floor if you have issues with stairs as there is no elevator. The complimentary wine was a nice touch, the continental breakfast was very good and the sandwiches packed for our road trip home were plentiful and delicious. There isn't much to do in the immediate area so we stopped in Annapolis on the way and spent the next day in St. Michael's. Nice get away for 2 days. Thad at the Inn was very nice guy and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Try for the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you from all of the Tipo Advisor readers for sharing the details and your tips. Thank you for sharing your five-star rating of us, too! Sorry that this wonderful review somehow slipped between the cracks. Best, Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you need "new" this and "new" that and unsqueaky floors and a hermetic experience (for those worried about the wedding parties), then this charming 1860 inn and the old world hospitality is probably not for you; you'd be better at the 4 Seasons. Yet, if you want completely indulgent service and graciousness and a "package" that has been thoroughly thought through and generous (at least for the package we bought), then you'll be a happy guest at Kent Manor Inn. Enjoy a quiet time on the dock; take the gratis bikes out to a great trail; take the gratis kayak out for a paddle; enjoy a variety of high carb items for breakfast (that you can balance with the peanut butter or Greek yogurt; enjoy the gratis cookies (but we recommend you grab a couple before they're all gone for the evening; and (for our package) enjoy the gratis wine that was unexpectedly quite good and extremely generously sized sandwiches and goodies in the yummy boxed lunch on your way out. The staff can't do enough to make your stay as lovely as possible. We'd be quite happy to return. We'd have given it 5 stars had the AC done a better job of dehumidifying things and the champagne brunch been a notch more toward finer cuisine that we are spoiled with in Baltimore and DC. Would we pay the normal price (without the Travelzoo deal) for what we have described as a really delightful getaway? Probably not because kid one starts college in a week and we are not prone to indulge ourselves on high dollar-short duration outings (ie we're cheap). But we feel completely comfortable about the value we received from our semi-anniversary couples outing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BmoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are so very glad you were able to take advantage of a stay at Historic Kent Manor Inn while saving those important tuition dollars! My number one is settled in at college and number two is in the midst of the application process!!

Our cookies? Yes, very popular and sometimes (but not always) hard to keep the cookie platter full!

Sincerely,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On a whim, my husband and I made last minute reservations to visit the Kent Manor Inn on a summer Friday night. We were pleasantly surprised when the Inn placed us in a nice room on the second floor a bit away from the wedding party that was occupying the Inn for the night. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, provided a tour, given tips for local restaurants and attractions, and presented with a surprise bottle of wine in our room in honor of my "early birthday." We enjoyed watching the wedding from our balcony and even chatted with a couple who was there celebrating their one year anniversary (the Inn re-creates the wedding dinner for those who have their wedding there). Our room was comfortable, clean and appointed. The Inn itself has tremendous character with its old floors, moulding and décor. The furnishings were a mix of reproductions and vintage pieces...which were nice. Bathroom was clean...albeit tiny...but no problem. Complimentary Rusk toiletries and evens snacks for purchase. We got a game of horseshoes in...but had to leave before taking advantage of kayaks and volleyball. The continental breakfast offered much more than a typical continental....eggs, bacon, pastries, muffins, cereal, etc. It was nice sitting out on the patio and looking at the creek as we enjoyed breakfast. Thad was extremely welcoming and attentive to our needs. We would definitely go back to the Kent Manor Inn...would be lovely in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8iep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
From the Kent Manor Inn Better--Late-Than-Never Department:
For whatever reason I missed your thoughtful, sincere reveiw, I fall on my sword before you, oh maiden. Now our talented housekeepers REALLY have some work to do! Thank you, again, and I hope you can find time to enjoy us for future birthdays as well as "just because". Sincerely, Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Kent Manor offers a modern step into the past. Every room is decorated differently and elegantly with a private bath. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, right on the water, and there are many options for fun. Use of boats, volley ball and bikes are all free; as well as the pool. There are many wonderful restaurants close by. There is a free breakfast buffet and when leaving you are given a boxed lunch! The inn is decorated in colonial style and is very charming. A perfect weekend get-a-way, or romantic anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer a fireplace and some a private porch. If steps are a problem, ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juy720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
If your review was also a resume for a copy writer, you're hired! Thank you for pointing out, from a guest's perspective, our amenities and your experience with Historic Kent Manor Inn. We hope to see you again, soon!

Best,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old inn painstaking restored and maintained. Pleasant corner room with balcony. The drive to the entrance provided an enchanting view of the manor and allowed have us a hint of what it may have been like to drive up in a carriage a hundred years ago. The pool was clean and I had it all to. Yield for swimming laps. The dock on the James River was the perfect place for solitude and quiet reflection. Just a bit disappointed that the restaurant was closed during our weekday visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. And yes, it has been an enchanting place for nearly 200 years. Horse-drawn carriages and weary travelers alike have found comfort and rest at our Inn for centuries. Coupled with caring service and tranquil views of Thompson Creek, we feel the Inn is one of the hidden gems on Maryland's Eastern Shore.

As we are such a popular venue for weddings and corporate retreats, our restaurant is open every Saturday for lunch and for our Sunday Champagne Brunch.Buffet. Thank you, again, for sharing on TripAdvisor. . and by extension. . with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kent Narrows Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
13.0 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 5 in Grasonville
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Manor Inn

Property: Kent Manor Inn
Address: 500 Kent Manor Dr, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666-2562
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront hotel for weddings, meetings, retreats, rehearsal dinners and Sunday Brunch Buffets on our 220-acre plantation has been our specialty for decades! We are open Saturdays for lunch and Executive Chef Lackey will prepare romantic dinners as part of our Romantic (and very memorable) Getaway Weekend Packages. Your evening's menu is custom designed with your taste and preferences in mind. Our guests have access to complimentary bicycles, kayaks and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing