We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Get-Away from Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This historic inn is everything it claims to be -- with elegant furnishing, grounds that are beautifully cared for, spacious and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, a nice swimming pool and in particular, an unusually gracious and helpful staff. The inn is an excellent base for exploring Maryland's Eastern Shore (including Easton and St. Michael's), but also a wonderful place to just hunker down and read, jog and relax.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor -- a bit of a hike if you are not physically fit, but worth the climb. Ou...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetpea2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

You have discovered what many have yet to uncover. Just an hour's drive from Washington lies Queen Anne's County which is home to pastoral farms and tranquil rivers. Our Inn borders Thompson Creek on 220 acres and is indeed a relaxing, gracious place to stay. As you stated, St. Michaels, Oxford, Chestertown and Easton are a short drive away.

The perfect location to explore the Upper Shore. Bring a good book, sunscreen and an appetite for nature, we will provide everything else including complimentary bicycles, kayaks and a variety of area guidemaps and personal suggestions. Thank you again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a find! Kent Manor Inn is a gem. The setting is serene, the accommodations are elegant and the staff offer hospitality at its finest. I have never before written a review in the midst of my stay yet I just cannot wait to tell the world of this inn. We were lured here by a Travelzoo voucher but we plan to visit this retreat many more times in the future. Within the confines of the property we were able to kayak the lovely Thompson Creek, bike the country roads, take a dip in the pool, sip a glass of wine on the dock and read a book on our private porch. A bit over an hours drive from metro DC, the surrounding Kent Island has been fun to explore with it's waterside restaurants and beaches, quaint old Stevensville and a wildlife refuge. I say come, enjoy a night or more, you will be appreciative of your choice.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer a great view and tall ceiling.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretV403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

I'm so very glad you enjoyed yourselves as you had. . . and that we inspired you to write your TripAdvisor review during your visit. Looks like our wireless connections must have been just fine!

Thank you for taking the time to write and to share. And we hope to see you again and again. . .

Best regards,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I searched for a nice place close to our home to stay for a few days. On line my wife found the Kent Manor Inn. Having traveled many years over the Bay Bridge, we had no idea that this Inn existed. We made our reservation and we were pleased beyond our expectations. From the moment of arrival, everything was wonderful. Checking into our room, we found it to be beautiful: the furnishings, the amenities, and the quiet. During our two day stay we found the staff to be friendly and very accommodating. The continental breakfast was unlike those that we have had at other venues. The food was excellent and the coffee especially good. All of the staff made sure that everything was great. We found all of the other guests to be friendly and as happy with the Inn as were we. We will definitely stay at the Kent Manor Inn again.

Room Tip: Staying at the Kent Manor Inn feels as though you are in a world apart from the noise and irritation...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronjones11640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

They say you can judge an Inn by it's coffee, bread and mattress. Your kind words suggest we passed the basics and as you stated there was even more to discover and appreciate.

Your comments about the quiet, amenities, furnishings, food and accommodating service are equally appreciated. However, the best measure of an Inn is the guests' experience and for this we are grateful you have shared your experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our company's semi annual meetings have always been in a city environment. When polled on what we would like to see changed or improved for our our 2013 meetings, we asked for a change of scenary; how about some real life scenary like the country.

Our request was noted and our recent meeting held at Kent Manor Inn. While it is located within a 50 minute drive of Washington DC, they hotel is located on over 200 acres right on a branch of the Chesapeake Bay.

Our group can be considered high maintainence as we want flawless service, comfort and great food. All of our requirements were not only met, but they surpassed our expectatations.

I highly recommend; if within your company's budget, to book the entire estate. This requires all 24 guest rooms and meeting space. What an unforgettable experience to have an entire estate all to your self.

Our meeting was probably the most productive I have encountered in my eight years with the firm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SalesProUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank You!
Be it a meeting with all of our 24 rooms or just four rooms, we feel this is THE perfect location for meetings. It sounds like you agree!

Our 1820 Manor House sits, secluded, on the shores of Thompson Creek surrounded by 220 acres of fields and fauna. Groups can immerse themselves in the business at-hand without distractions. And Executive Chef Lackey ensures that any "surprises" are reserved for the dinner hour where guests are treated to exceptional cuisine and friendly service.

We are glad you discovered how productive and relaxing a meeting can be at Historic Kent Manor Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were there on June 8 for a wedding. I couldn't have been more pleased with the Inn. Staff was attentive, the spring sprucing up looks to be complete, and special thanks to the wait staff and kitchen for producing an appetizer for me while they were hustling the wedding prep. And a Band-Aid too for my wife who was preparing flowers.
And regarding an earlier comment, that is a water view worthy of an Inn on the Eastern Shore. The wedding staff couldn't have been nicer, or more professional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank decorteAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

There are few places where one can stop and enjoy the virtues of a promise.......A wedding at Kent Manor is one such place to enjoy family and make those promises that last a life time. Be it Band-Aids or a banquet for 300, we enjoy having guests enjoy themselves. Thank you for joining us and for sharing your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our organization did a staff retreat for 7 people at this property and it was perfect. The Kent Manor Inn is absolutely gorgeous and is the perfect size for a small group meeting. The food is very good and the service is excellent. The staff is beyond courteous, helfpul and friendly. There are many fun things to do on property such as kayaking, biking and outdoor ping pong which made for great fun during free time. As an event planner, I would recommend Kent Manor Inn to for all small group meetings and definitely for weddings.

Room Tip: It is an old house so you can hear a lot. I would recommend a room on the top floor if possible - e...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. I have to agree . . . we are a GREAT destination for all types of meetings, retreats, strategic planning sessions and the like. Several members of Congress as well as a govenor have recently joined us for staff planning meetings.

Se are always pleased when others come to experience our docks, kayaks, biking, horseshoes, ping pong and soon-to-arrive bocci, fire pits and volleyball. As you say, it is the perfect location for a retreat, wedding or a secluded getaway. The staff appreciate our guests and Chef Lackey and his team excel at providing culinary delights.

Thank you for the tip for light sleepers.....our third floor offers a bit of quiet from possibly having footfalls from above. yet, our first and second floor rooms have taller ceilings and most have balconies. Yet their are balconies for all of our guests to use, one favorite being on the second floor overlooking Thompson Creek and a large part of our 220-acres.

Thank you, again.

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent one spring weeknight at the Kent Manor Inn on the recomendation of the business we were visiting nearby. We requested the least expensive room. For a B &B of this vintage I expected a tiny room tucked up under the eaves. Our room was on the third floor, note there is no elevator, but was spacious enough for two comfortable chairs and a king bed. The bathroom was modern and beautiful with a wonderful shower. It was tucked down a few steps from the bedroom, but the stairs were well lit and very safe.

Breakfast was much more than the advertised "continental" with waffles and bacon as well as pastries, fresh fruit and cereals.

For light sleepers I do recommend the third floor because the old wooden floors DO creak.

We will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can do the climb, stay on the third floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrewsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Happily stay again indeed! Thank you! Our third floor offers wonderful views of the property, well worth the climb and those melodic floorboards have been around for nearly two centuries. Built 30 years before electric elevators, The Manor House has survived just fine without them and does seem to keep the Inn's staff physically fit in spite of our Chef's lavish breakfasts. Executive Chef William Lackey realizes one can work up an appetite on the grand staircase and as such takes great care in providing for the morning meal.

I hope your travels bring you back to visit again; perhaps stay on the second floor with a balcony overlooking Thompson Creek? We might then convince you that our "almost perfect" location is indeed just the perfect place to relax and refresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
13.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
9.4 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
4.0 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn

Address: 500 Kent Manor Dr, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666-2562 (Formerly Kent Manor Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range: $171 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn is an estate on 220 acres of farmland. The Inn is well known as the venue of choice for WEDDINGS, SPECIAL EVENTS, BUSINESS MEETINGS, RETREATS and FAMILY REUNIONS. When availability permits we welcome travelers to stay with us for a night or more. The Inn has 24 individually decorated guest rooms; each with a private bath. Flexible event and meeting space is available for groups of most sizes. The waterfront lawn is a perfect setting for a wedding and group team building programs. The Preserve is a seasonal venue that can accommodate as many as 300 guests. Our Executive Chef creates wonderful menus that fit most budgets. Our catering staff is well-seasoned and ready to attend to your every food & beverage need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing