We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Inn but the maintenance taking place was inconvenient and possibly unsafe.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We checked in on 4/25/2013 for a family wedding and found the building and surrounding property to be beautiful and well taken care of. We checked in about a half an hour early and were given our keys and directions to our room.
Here is where several problems arose. No one bothered to mention that our room was at the end of a hallway that was being painted. There was a crumpled tarp on the floor as well as several paint cans and trays. The gentleman doing the work were very nice and moved everything as soon as they saw this but this became kind of cumbersome by the third trip. What made matters worse was that when we came back the third time the hand rail had been removed from the steps and when I reached for it I almost fell down the three steps. By the time we were dressed for the wedding the painting had ceased but there no "wet paint" signs posted so I just hope anyone who came after us didn't wind up with yellow paint on them.

The room was nice with comfortable beds and a well stocked coffee maker though when I went to sit on the porch to have my coffee I found the porch chairs to be filthy and there was an industrial vacuum and power drill sitting on the porch. I was going to mention these things when we checked out but the gentleman simply took my keys and walked away without even asking how our stay was.

With all that being said, the Inn was beautiful, the wedding was handled very well and the continental breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: Room 209 was spacious for a building this old. We had two queen size beds and there were also two c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

I was dismayed to hear about your recent trip to the Inn. We have been working hard to maintain and improve our nearly 20- year old building and never wished this to be either inconvenient or unsafe. Unfortunately, our winter projects spilled into early spring. And for this we apologize!

We will be in touch with you shortly to make amends.

We are usually successful in keeping any property maintenance in the background so as not
to intrude upon the guest experience. For this I am sorry we disappointed you.

On the brighter side, thank you for your comments on our execution of the wedding and the comfort of our beds. We are constantly soliciting feedback on how to make the stays more enjoyable. And thank you for taking your time to write and share all of your experiences with us.

Most sincerely,

Alan Michaels


--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was decided to conduct our 2013 staff meeting at the Inn. This really was not a difficult decision to make since our 2012 stay was flawless.
We were greeted by a new Inn Manager, but all of the other staff was the same. I guess working at the Inn is as good as staying here; the turnover is almost nil.
Thank you to all for making our stay not only pleasant, but highly successful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoxieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for enjoying the inn as you have for both of your meetings. I'm very glad we were able to rise to the occasion and meet (and hopefully exceed) your expectations. Thad Hoy is our latest addition to our Historic Kent Manor Inn family. We hope he stays as long as many of our ten+ year associates! We hope to see you, again, in 2014 . . .or sooner! Best regards, Alan Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Kent Manor Inn is a special place that gets it all right; the historical inn, location, accommodations, and excellent food. We recently had a birthday party and dinner in a private room at the Kent Manor Inn. Looking back on the event and the overnight stay, we all agree it was a very special night we will long remember thanks to the occasion, the Inn, staff, and the outstanding food. Working with a local florist, the staff of the Kent Manor Inn ensured that the party room was ready and beautifully decorated. The chief created a special cake for the occasion that was a big hit. We overnighted at the Inn, staying to enjoy the Easter buffet the next morning. Both the dinner buffet provided for our birthday party, and the special Easter buffet, were very memorable events. Their food is high quality, well prepared, and absolutely delicious.
Kent Manor is a historical inn well over 150 years old and not “purpose built” considering the wants that some of today’s modern guests have in mind and accordingly, might not appeal to everyone’s tastes. Some in our group were a bit hesitant to stay over, however, the night’s stay over proved to be a big hit and everyone enjoyed the Inn and appreciated it as something very special.
The staff deserves mentioning also. Stephanie and Chris worked very hard to make sure all was ready and the Inn would be able to accommodate everyone our party including those with special needs (food allergies and wheelchair access). Watching the staff go about their work, you can see the care they put into their work and their love for the historical inn.
Overall, it is a unique property with a lot of interesting points; the quiet setting by the water, the beautiful rooms, and the awesome food make it well worth a visit. If you do go, don’t miss a trip up the stairs to the cupola and a view of the water, woods, and fields surrounding the Inn. When we did, a Blue Heron skimmed the roof so close we could have almost reached out and touched him as he flew by!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the water. There are also 3 rooms on the ground floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrclem18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for the kind words you shared about our Inn. You were "spot on" when you stated the Inn was not "purpose built" to factor all "the wants that some of today's modern guests have in mind". We could not have stated this any better.

White we are able to offer is 24 unique experiences, each room different than the other with views of gardens and Thompson Creek. We like to say you can stay with us 24 times and enjoy 24 unique guest room vacations. Each room offering a little more insight into the history of the Inn/House. And it is a "House-like" experience we strive for as we wish our guests to feel like they are visiting an old friend. Our Manor House sits on 224 pastoral acres just minutes from the Bay Bridge yet isolated and quiet tucked under the shade of trees that line our 1/2-mile driveway and Thompson Creek.

The Manor House is indeed unique. Many of the floor boards are original and do indeed "squeak and creek at times". The walls are thick but not sound proof. Built of wood, the Inn can and does evoke it's own "song" if you will as the winds pick up from the Chesapeake and wind their way to us. The ceilings are high is some rooms, pitched and low in others, following the natural curves of the building. Most rooms have four-poster beds.

As you so well stated, the Inn was not "purpose built" and may not be for everyone....we are very glad you felt it was right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We purchased two Travel Zoo certificates and stayed Wednesday and Thursday nights. At the registration desk, Thad was very helpful checking us in and telling us about things to do in the area, places to eat and about the Inn. We stopped in at 12:30 on the off-chance that our room might be ready for the 3 o'clock check-in, and it was, which was especially nice. He showed us to our first floor room. However, we had requested a second floor room. There was painting and construction on the second floor, but he showed us a few rooms on the second floor as well as another room on the first floor. So we had our pick of rooms and chose Room 206 which had a water view on the side from the large shared balcony as well as a garden view and a fireplace. We did have some construction noise from 7 a.m. - 7 p.m., but knew we could change rooms if it bothered us too much. We liked the view so much that we stayed where we were, but this morning the workers started at 6:40 a.m. and woke us up. Ugh! The construction/painting is supposed to be done in a week or so. It's nice that they are keeping the inn in good shape.
Breakfast is 7-10 a.m. and we chose coffee, fruit, croissants and eggs. At 9:30 a.m. the scrambled eggs were very overcooked, so I'd recommending eating sooner.
They have complimentary kayaks and bicycles. Since it was a beautiful day, we went kayaking for a couple of hours. You can kayak pretty far if you want. They give you life vests and paddles and bottled water, and you sign a waiver. After kayaking we sat on the dock on their deck chairs and enjoyed the beautiful weather. The grounds are well manicured, weeded and mulched. Flowers and trees were blooming. It's a beautiful place with over 200 acres. It's a lovely setting for a wedding.
Last night when we came back from dinner, we were chilled, so we lit the fireplace log they provide and had a nice quiet fire in the fireplace. We loved it here, and the staff was very nice, especially Thad. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The second floor with a balcony and water view are especially nice. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lylac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Well, thank you for being so "chill" about the construction! We are so very miffed at the contractor for starting this early! Thank you for taking the time to share these detailed aspects of your stay with us. And, trust me, I've spoken with the kitchen and fresh hot eggs are available until 10a! If the breakfast is not as you like it for any reason, our kitchen will see that most requests are graciously granted.

We have some great, new amenities such as outdoor table tennis, bocce and a semi-professional volleyball net being set-up this month. And, of course, are the complimentary bicycles and water craft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I called in the morning two days before our arrival to confirm our reservation, both times I got their voice mail. I never got a call back from management. Good thing I found the email confirmation they sent months before. I understand this is not a hotel and the phones are not manned 24/7. However, my call should've been returned.

We requested a second floor room as noted by other tripadvisor members but was disappointed to learn that the inn will be going through a renovation the following day so all the rooms on the second floor were unavailable. We were unaware of this fact and was not informed by staff when we made the reservation. However, Thad offered us two other rooms on the 3rd and 1st floors but warned us of construction noise the following morning. He also offered to re-book us at some future date to compensate for the inconvenience. However we already made plans for this trip and could not change them, so we declined his offer.

Our first assigned room had three steps down that led to the full bath which was reason enough for us to request another room. It also had small windows closer to the ceiling, so I couldn't even look out from it. We settled on 301, a corner room facing the parking lot with a king bed, and whose ceiling sloped down. It was also closest to the side exit, so every time someone used that door, we could hear it slam. Note that this is a 200 year old structure, so every little noise will be heard through the walls.

The grounds are beautiful and worthy of some picture-taking. There is an outdoor deck with several tables and chairs, a gazebo and a private dock with chairs. Behind the inn is a circular structure that is the restaurant that is only opened on Saturdays and Sundays for guests and the public. We only stayed one night so we were not able to sample their famous brunch. We also climbed up to the cupola which gives you a panoramic view of the estate. Spend some time on the 2nd floor balcony in case you are not lucky enough to get any rooms on that floor that faces the back.

There is free WiFi, cookies and coffee and hot water in the parlor. However, tea bags were not readily available until I asked for some from the staff. Our room also did not have tea bags, only coffee. Driving to the inn at night is very dark since there are no street lights from the main road. We also had a leak in our tub and toilet so we had to close the bathroom door at night. Our TV in the armoire could not be angled enough to enjoy watching it without being at an angle. There is no closet in this room, just 6 hooks to hang your clothes. There was an assortment of food for breakfast set out in the room adjoining the parlor. Nothing spectacular. We chose to eat it at the glass-covered patio which was a delight.

All in all, I could've given this B&B high marks except for those little things that management could have done to make this stay an unforgettable one -- one that would make us want to return in the future. A final note--we overheard staff informing another guest that management had requested the construction begin after checkout time for our convenience. We appreciate that.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms, facing the back, open out to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

I am dismayed to hear that no one returned your calls to our Inn as we pride ourselves on serving our guests and it is a source of pride and pleasure to see people experiencing this historic piece of Maryland. We are triple-checking what may have happened to your messages.

Thank you for your understanding regarding our repairs and lack of access to our second floor during your visit. We try to offer the best available room to all of our guests and happy to know you had the option of choosing between a couple of rooms. With nearly 200 years of history behind her the building does need care from time to time. The door which slammed loudly is a perfect example and one we have already corrected. Thank you for sharing. The idea of tea service in the rooms is a great one and we have just begun to roll out our upgraded in-room hot beverage service which includes a variety of hot teas!

Thank you for all of your comments! We hear them all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are beautifully landscaped. I have stayed in many waterview rooms. This isn't truly waterview. Its more like a waterview from the side. I was rather disappointed about that. The decor is reminiscent of the period it was built and looks, as if it had been immaculately maintained. BUT with age comes problems. My biggest issue was stinky water. I mean maybe plumbing for a property this old is a challenge but the bathrooms just had this gassy eggy smell to them. And I did not like the idea of having to shower in it; though I did brush my teeth with the complimentary sarotoga bottled water. Luckily I am not a light sleeper because u could hear EVERYTHING happening all over the Inn late at night from couples having relations to loud music. The food was surprisingly tasty but $28 for a premium double shot was beyond outrageous to me. The staff was courteous and extremely helpful. It wasn't a horrible experience, just not what I expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySunnShyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Perception is reality and we will not dispute your experience with us. The older building has some challenges. So does being on well water. We take our water from an aquifer which is 320 feet below the surface and, sometimes, although not often, it has had this odor. Good choice to use our complimentary Saratoga water as you had!

I see you are a local reviewer/traveler, and a new contributor to TripAdvsor. I'll be reaching out to this reviewer to make amends as best we can. She deserves it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our second trip to Kent manor Inn for our anniversary, last year we were here for our 20th.
This was a unbelievable stay, the inn was perfect, our room was unbelievable and we were only staying one night and we had such a good time, we were able to stay for a second night. The staff was the best and we were treated very well, i just want to mention how awesome the Sunday brunch was, we had the best server in the world, her name was Alethea, she new it was our anniversary and made us feel like we were home. the food was amazing and we were able to actually talk to the chefs about how some of the food was prepared
Finally, i just want to say how professional the staff was and we are already making plans to come back for the summer. Thank to all of you at the Inn.......Anthony & Pam.....:)

Room Tip: All the rooms are GREAT!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you Anthony and Pam. We're glad your 20th anniversary redux was fun, enjoyable and a very pleasant experience. We truly aim for complete satisfaction as every guest is very important to us. I'm glad that feeling came through. The more our guests interact with our fun staff, the better time they have. And this allows us to directly address any concerns they may have. Already planning to return this summer? I think you'll be finding more activities as the weather improves. We are banishing any remnants of winter this week and demand that spring commences! We will not have it any other way! Heck, there is probably an app for that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
9.4 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
22.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
607 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn

Address: 500 Kent Manor Dr, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666-2562 (Formerly Kent Manor Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range: $113 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn is an estate on 220 acres of farmland. The Inn is well known as the venue of choice for WEDDINGS, SPECIAL EVENTS, BUSINESS MEETINGS, RETREATS and FAMILY REUNIONS. When availability permits we welcome travelers to stay with us for a night or more. The Inn has 24 individually decorated guest rooms; each with a private bath. Flexible event and meeting space is available for groups of most sizes. The waterfront lawn is a perfect setting for a wedding and group team building programs. The Preserve is a seasonal venue that can accommodate as many as 300 guests. Our Executive Chef creates wonderful menus that fit most budgets. Our catering staff is well-seasoned and ready to attend to your every food & beverage need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing