We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprize on Kent Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful surprize on Kent Island”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We hadn't been to the Kent Manor Inn before and booked it on a whim for an overnight stay based on the web page. The room was very nice, cozy and clean. The bathroom had nice towels, soaps and shampoo. The shower water was hot and plentiful. The decor was elegant and the bed was comfortable. We spent some time sitting in the main lobby room in front of the gas log fire place. The antiques and art were stunning. The decorating was a professional work of art right down to the painting detail of the room. We didn't want to leave. The back enclosed porch was where we ate our wonderful continental breakfast. The french bread was very good as was the coffee. I am a breakfast lover and I was full. I can't wait to return so that we can sit on the pier and watch the activity on the adjacent river. This Inn is truly a first class establishment and other negative comments in previous reviews are unfounded. Hanover, PA is a lousy town to visit with nothing to offer a tourist (I live near by). Go to Gettysburg if you want to stay in PA. The Eastern Shore of MD has much to offer and the grounds of the Kent Manor Inn are peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community, Eric. I am so very happy we continue to meet or exceed our guests expectations. And, thank you for taking the time to post your very positive experience. TripAdvisor has become a very important travelers' tool in determining where to stay.

Thank you, again.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    49
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
30
102
4
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a weekend at the Kent manor. We purchased a group deal for a two night stay and we wanted a quick weekend away and thought this would be ideal. We both travel extensively and usually love and prefer historic bed and breakfasts, but wouldn't recommend this one. It feels too much like a hotel, a little impersonal. The rooms are clean and spacious but the walls are extremely thin and you can hear conversations through them. I was afraid to talk to loud or even turn the tv on at a reasonable level. One thing that I usually like about bed and breakfasts is other rooms to hang out in to read or play a game but there isn't really anywhere to do that. The most disappointing aspect was the breakfast. It's served buffet style but is mostly previously frozen pastries, breads, and some fruit and dried cereal. I expect a little more from a place like this and especially one who has an executive chef on staff. I have had much better breakfasts at chain hotels. The hot chocolate they put out at night is actually quite nice but the cookies are run of the mill side notes. We didn't stay for the brunch because of the price and the quality of the food we had already had we felt like it just may not be worth it. Overall, we didn't feel it was worth the money. Go stay at the sheppard mansion in Hanover, pa if you want a historic place to stay with a renowned chef! The price is cheaper and amenities better!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NOVAfoodie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Historic Kent Manor Inn experience with the travel community. I am very, very sorry we disappointed you as we had. We have taken your comments to heart and we are implementing immediate changes to our breakfast presentation to bring us up to a standard for which we will be proud. I agree with you that, sometimes, our breakfast has not been up to par. This will not be the case in the future. Regarding other comments, we do have a very comfortable parlor with sofas, tables and chairs for games and the like. Insofar as noise, well, our building was built in 1820 and we upgrade the sound deadening whenever we can. It remains an ongoing process.

To the TripAdvisor community: I have been in touch with this reviewer, individually, and have extended our Historic Kent Manor Inn hospitality to compensate for her disappointment. I assure everyone that any inconsistencies have been corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A group of 28 of us from a church spent a wonderful weekend at Kent Manor. It exceed our expectations. The accommodations were beautiful and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and most helpful. The food was absolutely sumptuous. There was no way we could have been prepared for Sunday's brunch! I was stupendous. (this is also open to the public as a brunch only,) We wandered around exclaiming about the food for 5 minutes before we put anything on our plate. We will go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Went to the Kent Manor Inn for their Sunday Brunch to celebrate a birthday and had a wonderful time. Staff is attentive and very pleasant. Food is good with a variety for most palates - including vegetarians. Fresh Omelette and carving station. Complimentary mimosa or bloody mary. Beautiful setting in a historic house. A little ways to travel from the Balto/DC area, but worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tresh20723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

As a group of friends and family we booked New Years Eve at the Kent Manor Inn for a party of 12. Even though there was a large wedding NYE night the folks at the Inn were gracious and very attentive to everyone. The continental breakfast each morning was beautifully done and more than enough. Stephanie recommended a wonderful restaurant, Rustico, in Stevenville for Friday night which was fun. We walked around Stevensville and Chestertown on Saturday, NYE, and came back to the Inn in time to see the wedding party and take a nap. Our dinner reservation was for 9:00 p.m. at the Inn. The food was amazing and the wait staff was great. We brought in the New Year in style and got up the next morning and enjoyed the Inn's Sunday Brunch which was another hit. We had enough people in our party that we could see just about all the different rooms. The rooms were beautiful some had porches, some had fireplaces or views of the river. Everyone was happy with their accomodations. We were lucky with the weather too, it was so warm one couple fell asleep on the porch in the sun. I would highly recommend this Inn. It is so close to Annapolis, Baltimore and D.C., but you feel like you are in the country on the river.

Room Tip: There are no elevators since it is an historic inn. If you book on the second floor most rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We booked the Thanksgiving weekend in this inn about one hour from downtown Maryland, the inn is situated in the beautiful Kent island wonderful location, sea, breeze you cannot ask for more.
The inn was built in late 1800 was originally a farm then turned to inn beautifully maintained, our room was a bit small but I guess that is the normal size clean & neat, bathroom was spotless which is something you do not see very often, breakfast was average, but the inn is sitting on the lake amazing views. You can use the bicycles on the property for free and go to the Chesapeake Bay. The Inn manager Ann was wonderful and the staff too, they made our stay comfortable & If you want to enjoy the city noise you can head to Annapolis.
I would recommend this place to any traveler would like to switch off the technology and enjoy some quietness.
http://www.kentmanor.com/

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Everyone is super friendly. The caretaker's husband took our picture in front of his oddly wonderful, densely decorated yard full of Xmas displays and lights. I don't know what it would be like in the summer when everyone is here (did not see AC in our room). We were here in December and had the place to ourselves -- breakfast delivered to our room. Quiet, restful, beautifully decorated -- if you like that, it is lovely. A man in Annapolis asked us, "Kent Island? What are you doing over there?" We might no have come here, either, if we had not taken a Groupon offer, which made the Inn affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splanknon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
13.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
4.0 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
22.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn

Property: Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Address: 500 Kent Manor Dr, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666-2562 (Formerly Kent Manor Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn is an estate on 220 acres of farmland. The Inn is well known as the venue of choice for WEDDINGS, SPECIAL EVENTS, BUSINESS MEETINGS, RETREATS and FAMILY REUNIONS. When availability permits we welcome travelers to stay with us for a night or more. The Inn has 24 individually decorated guest rooms; each with a private bath. Flexible event and meeting space is available for groups of most sizes. The waterfront lawn is a perfect setting for a wedding and group team building programs. The Preserve is a seasonal venue that can accommodate as many as 300 guests. Our Executive Chef creates wonderful menus that fit most budgets. Our catering staff is well-seasoned and ready to attend to your every food & beverage need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing