We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like family”
Review of Chateau le Tour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau le Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 Faux B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived after a long trek of 8 hours under a heavy sun. There was a party that night. On the phone, Ineke and Edward told me they wouldn't be able to provide us with dinner but that they would drive us to a restaurant 3km away. Since we had walked all day long, we were not considering going out on foot that night. That was a very kind proposition.
Upon arrival, they proposed us to join them anyway for a family like dinner. The meat quality (lamb and duck) was excellent. I recommend this place and its hosts.
The only tiny problem was the hot water we had to wait a long time to com out of the shower.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just back in Scotland having spent 4 nights at Chateau Le Tour. We couldn't have asked for more. The chateau is situated in 25 hectares of beautiful countryside with lots of space to stroll or sit and relax. Ed and Ineke are wonderful hosts, relaxed and welcoming and nothing seems too much trouble to them. The rooms are spacious, very clean and nicely furnished and the bed was huge and amongst the most comfortable we've ever slept in. Breakfast was something to look forward to each morning with freshly laid eggs, ham, cheese, great bread, croissants and delicious home made fig jam (my favourite) all available to choose from. Evening meals can be had if requested and they too are relaxed occasions with lovely food and wine and good company. We're already discussing when we might go back. I think it would be hard to find better hospitality. Thanks again Ed and Ineke for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Chateau le Tour for one night at the end of September and it was so much more than we expected. The surroundings are stunning, the chateau is beautiful and Ineke and Ed are fantastic hosts as well as great cooks! Our stay there was flawless and the only regret we had was that we couldnt stay longer but hope to come back another time.Thank you for making our holiday memorable:)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank oksipoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful welcome and lovely room. Swimming pool is beautiful and has marvellous views. Hosts are great and so relaxed, nothing is a problem to them. I am not usually a social type but really enjoyed the evening meals which were made great fun by Ed and Ineke and the quality of the food and wine was great.
Other guests were very similar and wanted a quiet relaxed time. I could easily have spent another week there and wouldn't have had to leave the grounds.
If passing, make the effort to stop for a couple of days, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I spent two weeks at this beautiful chateau. It is done up in eclectic antiques and lovely and clean but totally relaxed. Ed and Ineke and their two boys make one feel welcome while letting one get on with one's own stuff. They are perfect hosts and exceptional cooks - I had at the chateau some meals I will never forget. The property has a glorious terrace and view overlooking a valley with a small lake and ancient trees and horses. It was March so not always sunny, but we found many an occasion to eat breakfast on the terrace by the infinity pool with the wonderful view. The chateau is within a few minutes walk of Faux village, but that has only a small boulangerie and shop, and we didn't have any transport. Ed and Ineke went out of their way to show us the local countryside and villages, though ideally one needs a bicycle or a car in this area. Relaxed and authentic - the opposite of corporate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NN_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ed and Ineke are great hosts. Food is fantastic - had some wonderful evenings with them.
Chateau set in lovely grounds, cannot praise them enough, will definately be returning.

Jan and Barrie Beever, Ashbourne, UK

Room Tip: Only saw one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: elles sont toutes magnifiques et très calmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau le Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau le Tour

Address: 22 D | Lieu-dit Le Tour, 24560 Faux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Faux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Faux
Price Range: $110 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château le Tour is a 19th century Manoir on a private property of 25 hectares and situated at only 12 minutes from Bergerac airport and 20 minutes by car from Bergerac centre. (Free airport-transfer offered!)The château offers B&B in a classic but relaxing setting; informal dress-code and a unwinding atmosphere are guaranteed by your hosts of this family-run Château. Being situated in the Dordogne Château le Tour is the ideal place to discover this unique part of France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau le Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing