We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Solomons
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We requested and paid in advance for a waterview room. The first room we were given essentially had no water view - but worse - the bathroom had not been cleaned properly. I won't go into details about what was running down the back of the toliet seat, but it was not pretty. The second room had a better view and a clean bathroom. It also came with a balcony, but it's not a place you would want to sit, it was dirty and the paint was peeling from the ceiling above. We also felt the overall cleanliness of the property was not up to standard - in particular the elevators. And while we love trees - so much of what could have been nice water views were obscured by trees. A careful pruning would really open up the views.

Room Tip: If you are paying for a water view, make sure you receive a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our property. I certainly apologize that your stay experience did not meet your expectations. Your input as it relates to our suite balconies have made us review our daily cleaning practices and the details behind them. We will certainly take a look at our current room views and will where we are able cut back any branches. I assure we can and do do a better job on a consistent basis. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future and would appreciate the chance to communicate with you in more detail. My email address is jdshepherd@hisolomons.com. Again I apologize and thank you for your input. Jeff Shepherd, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 360 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our room smelled so bad of smoke, I contacted the frnt desk. They offered to spray some deodorizer, which they never did, and would not transfer to another room, as they were full.
Our friends room did not have any water, they could not take a shower, and they were given
a $40. credit, hope Holliday Inn doesnt go broke over that one! The entire hotel is dirty
musty and and damp. The service is not even mediocre. The evening of a big event-obviously they knew, because they were booked, and they had one bartender, and it was his first night on the job! Drinks were so weak we had to order a shot on the side,just to add to them. The bar was packed w people, and they closed down at 10:00 on a Friday night.People then moved the party outside where there were no trash cans, so in the morning we were greated w and entire courtyard of empty beer bottles, and cigarettes. Just gross. They figure there is no competition so why bother!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property. I certainly apologize for your experience with us. While our hotel is completely non smoking we do get an occasional guest that does choose to break the policy. Our housekeeping team is quick to report and correct any time this might happen and apologize that we seem to have missed the smell in your room. We did not have any other reported loss of water in any of our other guest rooms it seems it was limited to your guest guest room room only and when our maintenance team checked the room the next day they could not duplicate the problem. We will continue to check that guest room in hopes of identifying the problem. We did have a bar tender training that along with one of our more experienced bartenders, our standard pour for single shot mixed drinks is 1.5 oz and will certainly review this with all of our bartenders. The only bar outlet that we close at 10pm is our outdoor Afterdeck bar, the reason being a local noise ordinance and respect for our guests with rooms in that area. The standard closing time for Isaac's Pub on a Saturday in season is after midnight. It seems that after closing and cleaning our outside Afterdeck area on the night in question a group staying with us did utilize that area with personal food and beverage items, and yes did leave a mess. Once our staff was alerted in the early am it. Was immediately cleaned. Again I apologize and would certainly appreciate the opportunity to speak to you further. I can be reached at my email address jdshepherd@hisolomons.com. Jeff Shepherd, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good news first: I had an amazing weekend mini-vacation which I wholly attribute to splurging a little bit on the king suite with a waterfront view. I walked into the room and was blown away by the beautiful views and balcony!
Now for the bad: The service wasn't exactly horrible but... let's just say hotel staff could use a little refresher on basic customer service 101 - especially the restaurant. I sent back my sandwich as it looked like a dead fish. They sent us room service with NO condiments. We had to ask repeatedly for the special package that we booked and paid for. And, they brought us champagne with no ice bucket! Like, who does that???
So in general, we had a great time in spite of the lousy service.

Room Tip: If you have the extra money, splurge on the king suite. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I assure you we can do a much better job on the service end of your stay. Having said that I have sent you a follow up email in hopes of having you return again. We will use your comments as a training opportunity so that our guests in the future do not experience similar service issues. Again thank you, Jeff Shepherd, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all for the family on vacation. A nice marina for the boater, pool for the kids, and tiki style bar for the parents. Room service was great and they were very sweet when my son got the stomach bug and we needed fresh sheets at 2 a.m. Solomon's Island is a five minute drive!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smhs11609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for communicating by posting your review, the GREAT VIBE you and your family experienced while staying with us. Our entire team appreciates your comments and looks forward to your next stay with us. Jeff Shepherd, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The entire experience, from booking to checkout, was very pleasant. The sales department was always responsive to our inquires and always courteous. The family had no complaints about rooms or anything connected to the hotel. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel is clean and there is ample free parking for all. The hotel swimming pool is large and very clean with poolside tables and chairs and restaurant service. This was a great location/hotel for our reunion. Highly recommend for family reunion or any occasion. I hope to get back there soon for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I would first like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina for your family reunion. We appreciate that you have taken the time to communicate your very pleasant experience. Our entire team will be pleased to know that their efforts and dedication were recognized during your time with us. We look forward to your next stay with us, Jeff Shepherd, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this holiday inn. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, my room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Also, they have free breakfast and give you two free drinks during happy hour! The pool area was large and well kept. I'd be glad to stay here again if I'm in the area!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. Our entire team appreciates the time you have taken and the positive feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us, Jeff Shepherd, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel is older but well taken care of. Rooms are spacious and nice enough to be comfortable for an exstended stay. Staff is friendly, hotel campus is very pleasing to the eye, the pool is a very nice size. Entire facility was extremely clean. Reasonably priced. This hotel is somewhere will go back to again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Our entire team appreciates your comments. We are committed to our guests needs and comfort and by your comments our team has more then succeeded during your stay. We take pride in our property and thank you for noticing. We look forward to your next stay with us. Jeffrey D. Shepherd, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
24.8 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#2 of 9 in Lexington Park
427 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington Park - Patuxent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina

Address: 155 Holiday Dr, Solomons, MD 20688-3150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Solomons
Price Range: $97 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find comfort & modern luxury at one of the most suitable locations in Solomons. Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina. Positioned on Back Creek of the Patuxent River with its Naval Air Station, Wildlife Reserve & adjacent to Chesapeake Bay. A scenic one-hour drive from Washington, D.C. & Annapolis. Just 10 minutes from St. Mary's Airport, while Baltimore Washington International & Reagan National are both within a 90-minute drive. Walking distance to Calvert Marine Museum, Annmarie Gardens, & Spectacular Solomons Island Boardwalk. Just a short drive to State Parks, Historical Sites, & Lighthouse adventures.The Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina is ideal for business & leisure travelers, featuring newly renovated spacious & decorative guest rooms & suites. You'll have room to work, relax & make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels & luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night & every day starts right. Dip in our outdoor Jr. Olympic size pool (seasonal), sip at the Outdoor Marina Side Bar with access to Solomons Harbor Marina. Enjoy tennis & a fully equipped renovated fitness center. Meeting & Banquet facilities offer over 20,000 square feet of flexible function space that enhances business & social functions from small meetings or intimate dinners to weddings. When it's time to dine, enjoy an adventure at Isaac's Restaurant & Pub. The best is waiting for you at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center And Marina Hotel Solomons
Solomons Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing