We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Smelly Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solomons
Reviewed July 25, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for three days as out dtr was at a swim meet nearby at St Marys City University The room had a very peculiar and unpleasant odor to it most of the time we were there. Come to find out they have a septic problem near or under this room and we were told it only smells when it is hot and humid. Well guess what July in Maryland is hot and humid. We were told to open our window yet we were on a first floor. The room should have never been rented regardless of only smelling it during the hot and humid days. They did comp us one night but I made this reservation months ago and shouldn't have had to stay in that room. Never mind my son who has muscular dystrophy was with me and had to endure the horrible odor and potentially unsanitary conditions.
I recommend staying away from Room 121 if you are forced to stay at this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RedSoxFanMadison_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 116 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2005

Immediately upon entering the hotel smells cigarette filled. Our room was on second floor (this is only a two story hotel with no elevators) this floor smelled of cigarettes too, although the room did not. Bed was comfortable, floor had not been vacuumed recently. Second night magnetic key wouldn't work, approached front desk, two young ladies there one on phone, the other listening, we stood there several minutes until one looked at my husband and said, "what?". Customer service not good! Their add states deluxe continental breakfast, NOT! There is barely room to move around in the breakfast area. Solomons Island is gorgeous and the location of this hotel is lovely, that's about all I'll say, would I recommend this hotel to anyone? NO!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chapmank39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Webster, NY
111
Reviewed June 19, 2005

Well the woman at the counter was really nice. Got in late friday and she had smiles and really was nice. Got the room and when we walked in we could instanty smell Cigarettes. Asked for a non smoking room and thats what they gave me. Well after that my parents and i figured what the heck its a room and we are leaving earl so we could deal with that. When they aere going to climb in bed the pulled back covers and noticed the covers had blood stains all over them and the side of the bed the same. After we saw that we started to lok for more things. Noticed bathroom was dirty still and walls had stains on them. Went down to front desk and women at counter apologized and offered us another room. Other room was king sizer bed with jacuzzi. 1 problem with tat is that there were 4 of us. So the lady at counter gave us discount on room almost half off the rate. She was very cool with everything. So to make a long story short, check out room imediattly and if there are any problems tell them at desk.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2005

After seeing very mixed reviews of the Solomons Holiday Inn Select at tripadvisor.com and other travel review web sites, I chose the Comfort Inn Beacon Marina for my President's Day weekend getaway (2/18/05-2/21/05). The hotel staff is very efficient and friendly - top notch. The hotel's restauant, located next door to it, is the Captain's Table. The Captain's Table is excellent, the food is very good, and the prices very reasonable - I highly recommend this restaraunt. The Comfort Inn's room decor is very basic and plain, but the recliner and bed were comfortable. However, the walls and ceiling (I was on the first floor) are very thin, every door closing, every footstep (especially running children) can be heard; not the best for a relatively light sleeper like myself. The hotel's location is very convenient to everything in Solomons, you can leave your car at the hotel and walk everywhere.

Other great Solomons restaraunts besides the Captain's Table are: The Naughty Gull, Stoney's, Solomons Pier, and Catamarans. But do not go to the CD Cafe. You'll wait a long, long time for your food. I ordered an egg/sausage wrap with a southwestern salad, and it was 35 mintues before my food arrived, and the wait staff acted like they could care less, that it was no big deal. Do not waste your money at the CD Cafe, take your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank VATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
3.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington Park - Pax River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
3.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lexington Park Patuxent River Naval Air Station
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lexington Park-California
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Beacon Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Beacon Marina

Address: 255 Lore Rd., Solomons, MD 20688 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beacon Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solomons
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Beacon Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Beacon Marina, a Solomons hotel with deep water marina near Solomons Island. Whether traveling by car or boat, the Quality Inn(R) Beacon Marina is the perfect getaway. This waterfront Solomons, MD hotel is within walking distance of the Calvert Marine Museum, majestic Solomons Island, the famous- Tiki Bar Solomons, the Patuxent River and the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, a marine research facility. St. Mary's College of Maryland, historic Leonardtown, Piney Point Lighthouse and Point Lookout State Park are also nearby. At nearby Calvert Cliffs State Park, visitors will enjoy swimming, fishing, nature trails, picnic areas and interpretive programs. The hotel is close to Solomons Island's exciting nightlife and within walking distance of several restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops as well as a 15 minute drive to Pax River NAS or 60 minute drive to Washington DC or Annapolis. The Quality Inn Beacon Marina is host to several Fishing and Sailing Charter boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Beacon Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beacon Marina Hotel Solomons
Comfort Inn Solomons
Solomons Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing