We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst General Manager in the Choice Hotel chain!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Beacon Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solomons
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The worst General Manager in the Choice Hotel chain!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I've been coming to this hotel since October for business reasons, and in Lusby, MD it's the closest hotel to where I'm working. Every time the General Manager of this hotel ( 255 Lore Rd., Solomons, MD )checks me in, I get a down graded room, I don't get recognized as a "Choice Privileges Elite Platinum" member, even though I hand him my Choice Privileges card, it doesn't register in his brain! If you check into this hotel, and you see the General Manager, run, cancel your reservations and go to the Lexington Park MD Comfort Inn, and there, you'll be treated like a Choice Privileges Elite member, get upgraded, and enjoy a restful night. The General Manager could learn a few things from his staff at that hotel, his staff recognizes Choice Privileges members, and treats their guest like they should be treated. Just to add to the above, I used the Choice Hotels web site to book my room ( a king bed), the web site said at the time of booking, there were king beds available; when I checked in, not only was I not told that I was down graded, but was told the web site was wrong... I was lied to.... Sad, sad, sad.... Enough said!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, Manager at Quality Inn Beacon Marina, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Carlos,

My name is Renee Ryan and I am the newly appointed General Manager at the Comfort Inn Beacon Marina. I am responding to a review posted November 13, 2013 regarding your stay for business last Ocotber. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay as well as the failure of previous management to recognize your status as a loyal Choice Hotel Guest. If given the opportunity, I would like to restore your confidence at our location and offer a favorable stay. Thank You for your relationship with Choice Brand Hotels and I hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    26
    21
    14
See reviews for
24
24
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This Inn is a good value. Clean, updated and very nice people. Great location and right on the water. They also allow dogs. Don't miss the Captains table next door for good food. Best rock fish I ever tasted.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The room, especially the bathroom was terrible and dirty. They tried to cover the mold and mildew with paint, but they didn't do a good job. I noticed that another reviewer had slugs and we had crickets, but that happens. The dirt that I saw while looking for the crickets was too much. There was also a large dog going up and down the hall way, I don't really care for strange dogs being let loose. There was a soccer group so the breakfast selection was sparse as the staff could not keep up...and I actually felt sorry for the staff. We usually stay once a year while visiting relatives, when we stayed last year we noticed an improvement, but the backward slide was so dramatic this year, it was our last time...unless they have a huge renovation. Rather than have someone reply, why don't you have someone from corporate check out this hotel.

Room Tip: We will be staying at the Garden Inn from now on, we prefer the location of the Comfort Inn, but can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel first week in August 2013. Check in was lengthy and rooms were not properly assigned. We had requested three King Beds and had paid in advance. Rooms were supposed to have been non smoking, however, we had to change after discovering one of the three had a smoking odor. The bathroom was not clean. In the middle of the night, we found a slug climbing up the wall. Upon going to the front desk, we were told by the clerk she was sorry, but the area occasionally had insects due to moisture. A checkbook that was in the room turned up missing. The desk clerks were very friendly and seemed to be trying to do a good job under the circumstances. Getting up for breakfast was a horror as a very large dog was lying in the dining area. The dog was with it's owner, but was not a service dog.

Room Tip: It appears some activity was going on that weekend as most hotels were booked and all of them were h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtflippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ok stayed here for two nights to see the fourth of july fireworks at the Solomons Riverwalk, which was awesome. The hotel was ok. The room was clean and smelled fine. The AC worked great. The location is fabulous. There is a nice place to eat next to the hotel(separate review). And there was only about a 15 minute walk to the Riverwalk in the evening. It is right next to the Calvert Marine Museum. Here is the bad, beds were way to soft, we were in a room right next to the breakfast areas and saying the walls are paper thin would be insulting to paper. There were people making all kinds of noise in the hallway all night and dogs barking at random times. The breakfast was not resupplied when we came down on the first day, no biscuits and no milk. The staff was friendly but seemed disorganized. All in all I would stay here again just due to the location, but don't plan on a lot of rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnelson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

One night stay with pet. Located in fishing marina. Staff was friendly, room was good for one night, quiet, beds comfortable. Free continental breakfast was nice - usual stuff plus bisquits and gravy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Place smell musty. the waterfront scenery was of fishermen cutting off fish heads. Think we were the only guest. Staff were smoking inside the building. Oh, and the breakfast that was free and complimentary was an apple that sat in the middle of the table in an area that look like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks...beware!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qualitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmorlack, General Manager at Quality Inn Beacon Marina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites California, MD - NAVAIR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lexington Park-California
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington Park - Patuxent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Beacon Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Beacon Marina

Property: Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Address: 255 Lore Rd., Solomons, MD 20688 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beacon Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solomons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Beacon Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Beacon Marina, a Solomons hotel with deep water marina near Solomons Island. Whether traveling by car or boat, the Quality Inn(R) Beacon Marina is the perfect getaway. This waterfront Solomons, MD hotel is within walking distance of the Calvert Marine Museum, majestic Solomons Island, the famous- Tiki Bar Solomons, the Patuxent River and the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, a marine research facility. St. Mary's College of Maryland, historic Leonardtown, Piney Point Lighthouse and Point Lookout State Park are also nearby. At nearby Calvert Cliffs State Park, visitors will enjoy swimming, fishing, nature trails, picnic areas and interpretive programs. The hotel is close to Solomons Island's exciting nightlife and within walking distance of several restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops as well as a 15 minute drive to Pax River NAS or 60 minute drive to Washington DC or Annapolis. The Quality Inn Beacon Marina is host to several Fishing and Sailing Charter boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Beacon Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beacon Marina Hotel Solomons
Comfort Inn Solomons
Solomons Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing